We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise (For real)!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort

Best prices from these 3 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
austin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise (For real)!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We came here for our honeymoon June 2012 and this place blew our expectations. The staff from the moment of arrival was superb! We purchased the carribean deluxe room and they were at the front of the resort but we did not mind the walk or the room it was still beautiful. Bartender Ronnie was amazing, friendly and helpful. Webster one of the playmakers always checked on us and was phenominal! We did the tour of the town with the snorkeling and it was gorgeous. We also did the ziplines through the jungle and although I am scared of heights and cried in the begining I loved it by the end. St. Lucia is GORGEOUS and PARADISE! All of the locals are friendly and wonderful. I would go here every month if I could. The food at the resort was always amazing and the menus changed at Barefoot by the sea depending on what fresh catches they had (my favorite restaurant for Dinner and Lunch). The only downside was the drive from the airport very long and windy and made me feel ill (had to take a mecclizine) but worth it when you arrived. I have been to Sandals Negril and this place blew them away ten fold. Thank you Sandals St. Lucian Grande you are amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,451
    1,049
    344
    175
    130
See reviews for
67
3,215
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (997)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Arrival - We had a CLUB level room and was taken to the CLUB level to check in, which was flawless.

Food was FANTASTIC!!! Josephine's Crepes and Pizza place workers went above and beyond!!!!!!

Activities were GREAT!!! Go find Martin and book the JJ's TOUR, it was AMAZING!!!

Ignore the bad reviews and just book this place and go and ENJOY!!!

My wife and I took advantage of the deals they are offering and booked Sandals Antigua for our 1 year anniversary before we left.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a SEA view, instead of the OCEAN view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I just returned from a week long stay at the Grande. It is a beautiful resort! We had excellent service and enjoyed every minute. The beach is nice and clean. Their pool is definitely where the action is during the day and there were plenty of activities going on each night. There are lots of honeymooners and people in their 20s-30s. Probably the youngest crowd we have seen at a Sandals as a whole. We are in our 20s so we didn't mind. Would definitely recommend this resort!

P.s. only real downside is that if you fly into UVF, expect a 1.5 hour drive to the resort. You can also take a helicopter but that was $$$$.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend atleast a Club Level Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Everything at the Sandals Grande was absolutely wonderful! The food was phenomenal, the people are so friendly and really make you feel comfortable - like it's your home! My husband and I were in Saint Lucia for two weeks and it was at least two weeks too short! I'd go back in a second and cannot wait til we are able to go again!

Room Tip: We had a swim-up lagoon room - which was nice; it was an escape / a 'quiet pool' per se when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We just returned from our honeymoon in St Lucia and it was a wonderful and relaxing vacation! When we first landed, we were escorted to a waiting area with drinks and then taken by a van for an hour and a half insane ride through the hills to our hotel. You had to hang on as the driver (as well as other drivers) sped around steep turns and pass other drivers constantly. When we got to the hotel finally, the staff was very friendly and genuinely concerned if you are comfortable and your needs are met. If you needed something, all you had to do is ask. We really enjoyed the variety of food and drinks offered however, became grossed out after a few days when we noticed things weren't that sanitary. One example is that the birds and animals are going to be there. We realize this. The couple cats didn't bother us at all and the cats didn't beg for food either which was surprising. What did bother us is that the birds were constantly landing on tables, walking around on your dishes, poking holes in the syrup pkgs to eat it, and (the grossest) drinking milk/cream from the container already placed out on the tables for coffee. This was never taken off the tables either. We watched several times as the birds did this and the waitress put a plate back over the container as she didn't witness this happen. We were so grossed out! People ate off the plates the birds walked on and drank that milk! The staff did their best to clear tables promptly of food so the birds could not get at it though. The second thing that grossed us out was that the coffee mugs and water glasses in the rooms were never replaced. They smelled like a musty rag and had my leftover lip gloss on the mug but was turned over as if cleaned. I washed out my own mug with soapy water everyday before using it needless to say. When I asked at the front desk, I was told that the housekeepers clean the mugs in the rooms. I never saw any buckets of soap on their carts. Which then begs the question, where else was the rag they used to clean the mugs if it smelled musty? The sink, toilet, shower? And who else's room for that same rag? If someone was sick that stayed in the room before me, the germs weren't really washed off now were they? This should never EVER happen at a resort that boasts the quality they do and especially for the price you pay.
On a better note, we decided to do the scuba diving and Marcus was absolutely fantastic with teaching my husband to dive (as I am already certified to dive). He was so knowledgeable, patient and helpful during the whole process. You can tell he loves what he does and genuinely wants people to love scuba diving as much as he does. We absolutely enjoyed diving and would highly recommend you see Marcus at the Grande if you want to go diving! We also did ziplining tour that I would highly recommend! Our guide was awesome and got lots of really cool pictures and videos on our camera for us! Our snuba excursion got cancelled (supposedly bc the bus broke down but we were the only 2 scheduled in the morning....hmmmm?) The hotel assured us the credit of $180 after we spoke to the staff and mgrs on 3 occasions.
Cherise was fantastic behind the pool bars and went above and beyond to make sure you were happy!
Overall, we had a great time but Sandals really needs to look at some of the sanitary issues! People could really get sick!

We just returned yesterday Sept 27, 2014.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I were so excited to stay at Sandals St Lucian, because we were referred by lot of people who have stayed at Sandals. However we were not blown away. We are avid travelers and have stayed at many different hotels and Sandals did not blow us away. We stayed at Sandals St Lucian for 10 days and it was our HONEYMOON.

The rooms were eh and had a nice four poster bed but other than that there was outdated furniture. We expressed our concerns to front desk and they tried to "upgrade" us to a club level suite which was the same except you get a stocked bar. By the way, if you book through a travel agent make sure you pick the club level suites, you get special amenities such as robes and slippers in your room. Access to their club which is a private room that you can get coffee, cookies, use their iPads or play board games and other things. I did not like that for an all inclusive resort you would only get a stocked bar in an upgraded suite.

Another thing is they were not consistent with the rose petal turndown. Our first night we had a beautiful rose petal turn down but the next two nights we didn't. We would have liked a more consistent effort. When we stayed at our hotels, every night our room had a towel shaped animal and flowers on our bed.

Kerri from Sandals Barbados was an AMAZING help she addressed our concerns and tried to make the remainder of our stay wonderful. She even personally decorated our room as a surprise and stocked our room with champagne and rum. She was an incredible help and if you have any concerns I would advise you speak with her.

Last con of staying at a Sandals are they have their "night singers", which are their frogs that sing from SUNSET to SUNRISE! Which can be annoying if you are not used to it. Sandals is also an hour away
from the airport and you have to drive down scary roads to get to the hotel. I must say that the man drove us was a skillful driver and was able to get us to the hotel safely. Let's just say there are no traffic laws or lights and lots of mountainous hills and dirt roads.

I will not say our stay was terrible because their nightly entertainment was WONDERFUL. WE LOVED all of their shows and nightly performers. I will admit they have amazing staff who are friendly, knowledgeable and easy to talk with. I loved all of their playmakers, which are their entertainment staff. They provide entertainment from the morning to the night.


Let's recap
PROS:
- great staff
- beautiful beach
- amazing spa
- Kerri!!!
- amazing entertainment
- nightly shows (GREAT)
** would recommend the jj tour!


CONS:
- far drive from the airport
- mediocre rooms
- no consistent effort for rose petal turn down
- too many different levels for guests (club level, butler, concierge)
- pools need updating

Overall not sure if I would stay there again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent two magical weeks at the Grande; our first Sandals experience booked through Virgin holidays. Great flight and service going out and a short wait at the airport before a one and half hour ride in a basic shuttle bus. The reception at the resort was excellent; we were whisked in, looked after, checked in and treated like a VIP.

Our room was very good, huge bed and superb bathroom, with a lovely walk out into gardens. The housekeeping we found excellent. The maintenance was continuous. The staff interactions were all positive, as everyone said good morning etc, asking after us etc all the time. It didn't feel false or servile, just genuinely warm and interested. We chatted to all levels from GM to manual staff and enjoyed speaking to them all, as they were all grateful for our visit and spend and recognised the importance of providing excellent service.

Having read other August and September reviews we can understand their views, and whilst some are quite picky there is the challenge of having different human beings all in one area - we are all different and seek different experiences. Celebrating our 25th we have nothing but praise for all the staff, who became a part of our celebration. We would consider ourselves a young 50+ Couple so had no problems with the party atmosphere around the pool and enjoyed the JJs trip as much as anyone. But if you wanted peace and quiet there were other parts of the resort which facilitated that experience.

Yes, we had a few issues regarding our room but they were always resolved quickly, and in a resort like this things will go wrong, breakdown or not meet expectations. It is how they are dealt with which makes the difference.

The restaurants are varied and the menus could do with some rotation but there is enough variety to see you through the two weeks. We also visited the La Toc for a change and whilst the food was was very good the service was less attentive and friendly.

I do agree with the point about paying for WiFi, and this was fedback. At $15 per day this was far too expensive, but at least it reduces the amount of guests playing with their phones and tablets all day long! We never had problems regarding drinks quality and if you want a branded drink specifically, then just ask. Our feeling was that the staff are not mind readers, but were happy to oblige if you requested anything.

For our celebration we received numerous free cakes and chocolates, a beach canopy, flowers, champagne and redecorated room (flower petals, cards, creatively folded towels etc) and we were also given a private shuttle back to the airport. All nice little touches making us feel special.

In conclusion, we don't disagree with the negatives raised by others (in the main) but feel that we were very well treated, responded to and experienced a magical holiday. We would recommend it, but recognise it might not suit everyone.

Room Tip: Be specific requesting the type of facilities you require from your room. Eg if you want a mini bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort

Address: Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•301 room, 17 acre resort combines historic British & French flavor•Pigeon Island, home to our annual St. Lucia Jazz Festival, combines historic British & French flavor that unfolds at Sandals•Offers exotic island & international culinary temptations at seven dining options •Ocean & beach view accommodations •Caribbean Sea•A lagoon swim-up pool where guests can swim right up to their patio ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex and BookIt.com so you can book your Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa And Beach Resort
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.