We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bday weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$355 Instant Air Credit!
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Bday weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It was a best friend's bday yesterday and we spent 1 night 2 days at the Grande. It was an awesome experience, starting with Rhea ' s great room selection to Meriah guided tour to our room, she was friendly and her light conversation set the vacation mood right. The room was fabulous!! ..clean with housekeeping personal touch with the towel swans. Thanks for the Champagne!!
Just wanted to highlight some persons that made her days great: Neil down for what at the pool bar for those excellent cocktails; Keitha and Bobby at the pizzeria and Josephine ' s for their quick, efficient and personal service; Sydney -entertainment Mgr for the bday wishes and songs, she was so excited she fell off the pool float and the entertainment team last night was awesome. To everybody's name I didn't remember thank you for making her 33rd bday awesome!!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,481
    1,051
    344
    175
    130
See reviews for
67
3,242
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,014)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from this resort. Our stay was from June 26th - July 10th. We were celebrating our 30th Wedding Anniversary and found the service was second to none throughout the whole resort. The entertainment team made us feel very special . The whole team from Neil, Jeva, Marcillus, Rhonda, Kendal,Jovene were very professional in everything they did. The food in every restaurant was first class, we couldnt have asked for anything better. The Manager - Jacques regularly strolled around the resort checking everything was up to standard and always had time to talk with guests. An excellent resort through and through.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

My NEW husband and I recently stayed 9 nights for our honeymoon and we can't stop raving to friends and family about what an incredible time we had, here. The beyond accommodating staff is what stood out to us the most, especially server/entertainer, Orion, for his authentic knowledge and helpful tips for our stay on the island as well as his welcoming demeanor. On-site photographer, Allen, also stands out as one who went out of his way multiple times to make sure we loved the island as much as he does! Our dinner at Gordon's was a major highlight and server, Gilbert, was absolutely fabulous in making that a memorable experience. Though dinner Toscanini's was a bit of a let down in regards to the quality of the meal, our server Matthew was lovely.

Red Lane Spa provided out couples massages (out on the pier!!) at a discounted price as a part of the day prior's specials and my masseuse Aloysha was ammaaaaaazing.

Make sure to take advantage of the very easy hike up Pigeon Island because the views are truly breathtaking... Something I don't typically enjoy doing (hiking) that I am so glad my husband pushed me to do. Finally, We would recommend, without a doubt, to anyone looking for the perfect combination of authentic culture, fun, and excursion to take advantage of JJ's sea/land
tour. Our captain and guide, "No Problem" made that experience one we'll certainly never forget.

Other than our suspicions about whether all the alcohol is "watered down" at the resort, and our room not being ready (surrounded by construction) for the first night of our stay, we haven't a complaint in the world. From what we heard from other couples, nearby La Toc and Halycyon have for nothing on the Grande... so spent the little extra here and definitely take advantage of the "Club" level if you can afford it... We were continuously impressed and happy to have spend that money on the upgrade.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My biggest complaint is about the construction. We were at the Sandals Grande from June 23rd through July 2nd 2014 and there was a ton of construction everywhere. We arrived and were put in a room with construction noise right next door but the woman who walked us there kindly said if it was a problem they would be happy to move us right away. It was definitely a problem - sawing and drilling and hammering after waking up at 3am and flying all day, not to mention the ridiculously long ride from the airport to the hotel... So they moved us but within moments of being in our new room, we noticed that there were still construction noises going on. I was pretty pissed so I called to complain. They said they couldn't move us to another room of the same grade (we were paying for beachfront) but they moved us to another room. This room had a less nice bathroom but was at least quiet! The next day they finally moved us to another beach front room with a nice bathroom. There were several other issues with construction, however. On our third day there, they closed the Beach Bar for construction. It didn't reopen during the rest of our 10 day trip, instead they set up a tent bar next to it. One afternoon my husband and I sat down for lunch at Josephine's and there too, after placing our orders, we were rudely interrupted by some kind of construction on or next to the building. Every once in a while I would see a maintenance person in our hallway with a drill and be frightened that we would never escape the intrusions.

Other than that, I probably would have given a slightly higher score. The food was OK but not spectacular. Some of the drinks were good and the bartenders were nice. The Concierge staff at the Club Sandals office were absolutely wonderful and if I were just writing about them I'd give 5 stars. Actually many of the staff were really welcoming and friendly. Also the excursions we went on were fun and the beach was definitely nicer than some of the other spots on the island.

There were a lot of things that were disappointing based on how much we paid. Little things like the dirty ice bucket, that they don't take out the trash bags, that the cleaning staff opened our balcony doors every day so the room was never cool even though the AC was running at 65 all day, and they didn't have a complimentary toothbrush or razor at the lobby (even though the Holiday Inn Express I stayed at for $100 the night before my wedding offered these things for free).

Although we are young (mid 20's) and were on our honeymoon, the place seemed more suited for spring breakers than honeymooners (there was constant "woo"ing at the main pool and "activities" that just seemed strange if you're there with your new husband and want a romantic tropical vacation).

Overall, I don't plan on going back.

Room Tip: Make sure it's not near construction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hello Nikki,

Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We regret to hear that you did not completely enjoy your visit due to some ongoing projects happening at the resort. One of our biggest goals is that our guests all have a relaxing vacation with no inconveniences. I know that is always a bit difficult when there are renovations taking place but we try our best to make provisions to ease the tension. We do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused despite our best efforts to minimize the impact on your overall experience. I will also be sharing all of your comments with the resort management team for follow-up as well. We do hope that you will reconsider and perhaps visit with us again. We would love the opportunity to make things right during a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had the time of our lives in St. Lucia! We went for a week by ourselves to get married and have our honeymoon there and we have 0 regrets. I feel bad when I hear other people talk about the mishaps and stress of their wedding because our day was absolutely PERFECT! This place is seriously like heaven on earth.

From the moment we arrived the staff was friendly and attentive.

The restaurants were all awesome. My brother-in-law told us that he went to an all-inclusive resort and he had to eat out the whole time because the food was not good. That was not the case at Sandals. The food was delicious, especially the breakfast. We loved the fish and chips at the pub too. The portions are kind of small for some things but you can order as much as you want and they don't mind at all. The drinks were also great. When my husband asked the bartenders to make his drink a little bit strong, they did not disappoint and they all seem to take pride in their drinks.

Our room was great. We loved the bed and it was nice to go back for naps during the day. The patio was really nice and we really loved the set up of our honeymoon breakfast outside. It was very romantic.

For anyone planning a weddingmoon, go for it. The wedding staff was awesome and made sure to help us with the final details but they are pros and really handled pretty much everything for us. We wanted something very simple so the "free" wedding that came with our stay was perfect. Our ceremony and reception was great for just the two of us. They really did a good job of clearing the area of other people on vacation but they were close enough to clap for us and congratulate us. It was really nice. We got the private dinner on the beach that night and it was amazing. It was so romantic and peaceful. The food was great and of course the service was great too. It was a nice way to start our marriage. Everybody made us feel really special.

Our wedding video turned out awesome. We love it and our family and friends loved it. It's so cute and of course it made our friends and moms tear up when they watched it. We got one of the local photographers to do our pictures, Daniel Marcion. We love, love the pictures. They turned out perfect. I trashed the dress and got in the water, which was tons of fun to shoot.

The snorkeling trip was really fun. We also did the sailing which is easy. It's a fun little activity to do during the day. The pool is lots of fun and they have activities in the afternoon. We also fell asleep though and kept missing it because we had spent the morning hanging out by the beach. We did the sunset cruise which was a blast! It was probably the most fun we had during our trip. I highly recommend it.

We can't wait to go back but we might go to a different location just to go somewhere different. We will definitely go back to St. Lucia, though. Maybe for our 5 year anniversary :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

This trip to Sandals was for our honeymoon, and it went perfectly. Just make sure that you tell them that you are there for your honeymoon, doing it online didn't work. We could not have asked for anything better. My wife and I will be going back to Sandals for future vacations. The Grande was the best resort for us in St. Lucia; the beach and the pools were huge, you can see the water from both sides of the hotel, and everyone is super friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our Second time at St. Lucia Sandals and each time we say that we will come back. love all about Sandals and always have a blast but St. Lucia is extra special to us! We can't wait to come back soon to you St. Lucia Sandals.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort

Address: Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•301 room, 17 acre resort combines historic British & French flavor•Pigeon Island, home to our annual St. Lucia Jazz Festival, combines historic British & French flavor that unfolds at Sandals•Offers exotic island & international culinary temptations at seven dining options •Ocean & beach view accommodations •Caribbean Sea•A lagoon swim-up pool where guests can swim right up to their patio ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa And Beach Resort
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.