We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
World Travel Award!
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
So. Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My wife & I went to Sandals Grande St Lucia in March to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary, & we were not disappointed. We paid a bit more & went "Club" level & the Lover's Walk- in Pool room which I would suggest unless you just can't afford it. For us it was a special occasion so I didn't mind spending a bit more. I wasn't sure what Club level meant, but you do get a bit more special attention. Club level has special lounge, easier check-in & out, special assistance if needed & a place you can go for getting info & making reservations. You also get special Club-level activities, like a wine & cheese party. We had a fridge in our room they kept stocked w/ what we drank & a stocked bar in room.

The walk-out room was very special. We loved the wading pool we could walk into right from our small patio w/ our own private floats & even tho other rooms walked out to same meandering pool, it was quite private. We enjoyed room service breakfast on the patio one morning ( nice & quiet). Sandals had champagne on ice & flower petals everywhere when we walked into our room, as they knew it was our anniversary.

The food all week was very good. Yes, portions are smaller than you might get at a regular restaurant but the beauty of that is you can try everything. It's all inclusive, so order & try more things! We especially liked Barefoot by the Sea.

Make sure you make reservations for the "special" restaurants the 1st day. We ate at Toscanini's & Kimono's, the Japanese restaurant, at La Toc. My wife liked the cucumber-infused saki wine in its special "glass" at the sushi bar connected to the Japanese restaurant. We had candlelight dinner for two on the beach at the Grande on the night of our anniversary. (That costs extra - not included.).

The shuttle from the airport is long for sure & the Grande is the farthest from the airport. Personally we didn't mind the ride so much, you get to see the island. Actually sitting around waiting at the airport on departure day was worse than the ride there, in my opinion!

Locals do walk the beach trying to sell tours & water sports but they weren't as intrusive @ the Grande as they were at Halcyon the afternoon we visited there. We booked a speed boat island tour on the beach & it was a lot of fun. Comparing the 3 Sandals on St Lucia,we liked Grande the best as everything is close by but not crowded & you can walk the entire resort easily. The Halcyon is the smallest & didn't seem to have as many activities. La Toc is nice but very hilly, & I would think you'd get tired of walking between buildings - more spread out with hills. Grande had enough spaces you could find plenty of quiet, private places or join all the activities at the main pool. It has several pools of various sizes.

We relaxed with a couples massage at the spa - was private & includes a sauna, hot tub & cold plunge pool. Steam rooms were not working. Staff at the Grande was friendly & helpful although we have seen friendlier at other places. That being said, no one was rude & we always got what we wanted. The only real complaint we would have is that Room 4116 is at the end of the building & we heard the air conditioner & ice machine all night. But being at the end of the walk-out pool made it nice & private. All-in-all, Sandals Grande was wonderful. We'll most certainly return to Sandals.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Lovers Walk-out room are the bomb!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Hello there letsgo36,

It sounds as if you had a fabulous time on Anniversary trip at Sandals Grande St. Lucian and we appreciate you sharing your wonderful memories with us! We are delighted that you both had a lovely time touring the property and sampling all of its many offerings. It was our pleasure to have had you as our guests and we cannot wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,580
    1,070
    356
    177
    130
See reviews for
69
3,357
3
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,078)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We celebrated our 40th anniversary. We took the helicopter to our resort. That is the way to go if you can afford it. Otherwise it is a long up and down shuttle trip. We were upgraded on arrival. Service is top notch here. We were surprised in our room with champagne, chocolates, flowers all over. My wife has a gluten and dairy food allergy. They bent over backwards to accommodate at all the restaurants and even the beach party they had. Service anywhere on the resort was top notch and met with a friendly smile. They made us feel like family, really. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Lot to see and do both at the resort and on the island if you want to. Fort Rodney is a must and is a short walk away.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view unless you want a swim-up room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your review, Caribbean-paridise71!

It is such a privilege to have hosted your 40th Wedding Anniversary trip and we are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Sandals Grande St. Lucian is a perfect location for a romantic getaway and the wonderful staff will make sure that you love every moment.
We hope you will "soon come back"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We had the best time at sandals Grand St Lucia. Everyone from house keeping to the concierge club to the guys cleaning the grounds in the morning were so nice. But the people that stand out for going above and beyond were the playmakers Jeva, Marcelous, and Kendal as well a the bartenders Joel and pool bar peter. I think they really made us feel welcome and well taken care of. Really made our stay that much better and deserve a huge Thank You!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Sandals Grande St. Lucian!

Congratulations on celebrating your 5th Wedding Anniversary! We are honored to have been chosen as your destination for this special event and thank you for sharing the highlights from your stay! We are so happy that our staff made sure you had a fantastic experience and I will be sharing your kind remarks with the team.
We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Spent 8 wonderful nights with a staff that never has a bad word, smiling all the time. Im not sure how they do it but they always seem to care that your vacation is the best you will ever experience. A special recognition to the RedLane Spa staff Shirvanne St Marie, and Tamra Alexander, these girls have the strongest yet gentle hands ever. The Front desk staff, Donna, Rican are without equal. Neville the devil what to say about him, he is willing to anything to make sure your vacation experience is the best. The entire resort staff, smiles all the time and goes out of their way to make sure you feel like family I don't know how Jacques does it but Sandals is a winner.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is a great value. Chose the area on Pigeon Island just far enough away from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Hello Joe,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your incredible experience at Sandals Grande St. Lucian! We can tell that you really connected with the staff and it's heartwarming to hear about your lovely memories of them all. We are looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

When I originally booked our vacation I thought we'd have a good time and relax. I never expected to be blown away by the entire experience. Everyone was so nice and really made us feel like we could just be ourselves and have fun. The weather was perfect, warm and sunny the entire time.Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold's Cove
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay at the Grand St Lucian, & I have to say it won't be my last. The service from management & staff was far above our expectations. I thought the food was excellent . I'am a huge seafood lover & wasn't disappointed. Got to say we really enjoyed our ten night stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The Island was wonderful! One of the most beautiful places I have ever been! Service was not good. We had to call to get our room cleaned and toilet paper. We have been to several Sandals and never had this happen before.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort

Address: Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•301 room, 17 acre resort combines historic British & French flavor•Pigeon Island, home to our annual St. Lucia Jazz Festival, combines historic British & French flavor that unfolds at Sandals•Offers exotic island & international culinary temptations at seven dining options •Ocean & beach view accommodations •Caribbean Sea•A lagoon swim-up pool where guests can swim right up to their patio ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa And Beach Resort
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.