We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Sandals Grande” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To $355 Air Credit!
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
Madison, Mississippi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved Sandals Grande”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My husband and I just got back from vacationing at Sandals Grande St. Lucian. We went with my mom and dad to celebrate my moms 60th birthday. We were choosing between Sandals St. Lucia or Sandals Antigua and I think we made the right choice because people say the Grande in St. Lucia is the best! Going in to the trip we were not sure what to expect because none of us had been to a Sandals before. My husband and I have stayed at Secrets in Jamaica and my parents have been to numerous all inclusive resorts.

We absolutely loved this resort and could not get over the excellent service. The main pool area was our favorite so we could watch and listen to the activities through out the day. The beach was exactly what we were looking for! It was gorgeous and we loved the floating rings they had in the water. We went in February and the water in the ocean and pool was a bit cooler than expected. Occasionally we went to the small pool because their hot tub was working better and the pool was quiet if you wanted a break from the main pool. The wooden chairs by the pool were much more comfortable compared to the chairs on the beach. The beach chairs also did not get much shade. With that being said everyone was reserving chairs by the pool early in the morning. Luckily my dad wakes up early and would head to the pool, otherwise I suggest getting a butler level room and let them reserve your chairs for you!

Overall we had no complaints on the food. The food was good and better than expected. My parents had the lamb at bayside one night and they couldn't stop raving about it. We ate at all the restaurants except for Gordon's. One issue we found was that you could not make a reservation before you arrived and once you arrived it was hard to get in. So as soon as you arrive make a reservation for the Italian restaurant or Gordon's. The Italian restaurant was by far our favorite and we wish we could have eaten there more than once. The pizza at Dino's, Fish and Chips at the Pub, and the French Onion Soup at Bayside were some standouts! We did find that at Bayside if you ordered two appetizers or an app and salad that it would take very long to get your food or they may forget one and you need to ask for the other. We ate breakfast at Bayside every morning! Sometimes you had to remind them to bring your coffee or tea but we were very patient and the staff was always so friendly. Lots of the staff we interacted with remembered our names! Overall the service and food was great and we never left to go to any of the other properties for dinner.

We both had ocean front rooms in building 2. This was the best building to be in because it was right near everything! We had requested a renovated room when booking because some of the reviews we read were bad. We did not end up with a "renovated room" because we were put in one of the best buildings. We looked at the room to make sure we did not want to switch and we didn't. I honestly do not even know what they could have renovated! The bed was so comfortable, the room was clean and looked updated, bathroom had granite counter tops with double sinks, and we had a great view! They even put a "happy birthday" surprise in my parents room.

We enjoyed the entertainment in the lobby every night and attended the managers cocktail party one night. The managers cocktail party was fun and it was nice to learn about all the staff. Not to mention the appetizers were delicious! We tried to attend some events in the Palladium but the acoustics were so loud it was hard to hear and we couldn't take much! One morning my dad and husband walked to the mountains. It was $6 per person to climb/walk on any of the 2 mountains. They went for about 2 hours and got some great pictures from the forts at the top!

We did take the Sandals transportation to and from the airport. I did not think the bus ride was as bad as everyone said. The ride made my mom a bit nervous but both of the drivers we had did not drive too fast and were not passing other cars.

I am sure I am leaving out some information but one important thing I want to get across is that we were hesitant about staying at a Sandals and it exceeded our expectations. Lots of people talk about these kinds of places and say that they can have a wild crowd or just be honeymooners. We were actually surprised by how mixed in age the crowd was. There were people in their late 20's up to late 70's. The resort was so nice and relaxing we had the perfect vacation! We can not wait to plan our next Sandals vacation.

Room Tip: Highly recommend building 2. You will be near the main lobby, pool, and all restaurants. We were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,525
    1,063
    352
    175
    130
See reviews for
67
3,298
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,049)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had a wonderful experience here for our honeymoon. Let them know that it is your honeymoon and they will give you a free breakfast in room one morning. And a free bottle of champagne in room.

Ask for the "Pink Pussy" frozen cocktail. Delicious.

If you stay on the inside of the railing on the beach you pretty much are left alone once you make it clear early in the week/day you don't want to buy anything.

We did the Simon Says tour for snorkeling, mud bath, waterfall, and lunch, and and it was safe and fun. You can take your iPhone, too, for pictures. We didn't and wished that we had.

We also did the hike to both peaks at Ft. Rodney. Requires a little exertion but not too hard at all. DEFINITELY worth the $5 USD for the views, history, and experience. We went a three or so in the PM and it was beautiful over the bay.

The private car through Sandals (but not provided by Sandals) was worth the extra money. Quicker, private, quieter.

Feel no pressure to make friends with everyone. Seriously, you can have a good time sticking to yourselves.

Areas for improvement: too many birds everywhere at Bayside during breakfast and lunch. TV reception could be better, too. Open the bars at 9 AM instead of 10 AM.

Room Tip: We had second floor of the Rodney Bay building, facing South and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Good Day,
Just came back from another wonderful stay at the Grand.
The staff is the best of the best, to name a few, Prisca,Neville,Sue-Ann,Jenai,Eddie,Felix,Andrew,Carol,Jean,Micheala,Nicole,Dwight,Terrell and all of those who were so attive towards us. We have been going to the Grand since it open and never met a rude staff.

Valentin is the best food & beverage director. Sometimes, I beleived that he had a twin brother, he is all over the place assisting his great staff !!!
The only disapointement was the new hotel manager, Jacque. He is not cut for the job at a resort. I sure that he might excel in a different envirement.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Every year my husband and I wonder how Carey@beachbumvacation.com will top our last vacation....this year I was totally in awe of the amazing trip Carey planned for us. I actually cried when we had to leave this amazing place and was torn whether to come home to my grandbabies that I missed terribly or stay in paradise. It is everything you could ask for in a vacation and much more that you didn't know existed. The staff at this resort couldn't have taken better care of us and certainly went above and beyond... without even needing to....to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we wanted, needed or could ask for. We took the helicopter transfer which was amazing and well worth the extra cost. With Carey at Beach Bum Vacation looking out for us everything was easy as well as amazing and made our vacation full of nothing but fantastic memories. Carey is the BEST!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We traveled to the Grande in late November 2013 to celebrate a 50th Birthday, we made the right choice! All aspects of the resort met or exceeded our expectations. What follows are a summary of some of the fine points of the resort that I hope you will find helpful.

Food
We enjoyed the food, were not picky and found that the entire restaurants offered a variety of seafood, chicken, meats and fresh salads. We enjoyed most of our meals at the Barefoot as you couldn't beat the ambiance and easy atmosphere. We also dined at Tuscaninis twice and Gordon's once. Bayside was our choice for breakfast and enjoyed the made to order omelets, smoked salmon and a variety of other breakfast items buffet style. Josephine's was a good choice for breakfast on the lighter side, Latte's and muffins. Josephine’s was the stop for late afternoon pizza and evening deserts.

Activities and Excursions
They have it all, paddle board, sailing, wind surfing, kayak's and water skiing on site and scuba and snorkeling offsite. We took four excursions off property, two we booked through Sandals (Zipline and snorkeling) and one through Exodus which was the speedboat, mud bath and waterfall trip. The Sandals excursions were fabulous, our favorite was the Zipline. There were twelve lines in total and the longest was 800 ft. It's located in the heart of a rainforest, and believe me it rained the entire time. Bring extra clothes! The speedboat trip was lots of fun; this trip is similar to the Simon Says offered by Sandals. We chose Exodus on a recommendation from another guest. Look for Lyle (pronounced Ly-lee). He's wearing the San Francisco Giants hat. Finally we hiked Pigeon Mt., this was worth the effort. I recommend choosing a cloudy day for the hike and bring plenty of water!

Sandals Employees
The employees are truly the gems of this resort! We interacted with many during our stay and found all to be extremely helpful and friendly, even the gardener would greet us with a smile and ask us how our trip was going! We found that letting the employees no that you appreciate their hard work goes along way; they really appreciate a thank you. There were a few employees that seemed to go out of there way to make our stay special; Lance and Shamaine in Club Sandals, Suzanne and Kelvin at the Barefoot and Philip in Gordon's., Lin at the Red Lane Spa and Roma at the Gym.

Room
We chose to split our room categories which was probably a bad idea in retrospect. We started in a swim up room, we enjoyed the ability to take late night and early morning swims. The lagoon pool servicing the rooms was for the most part private from the rest of the resort pools, and there are no bad rooms in this category. The rooms were modern and clean with a fully stocked bar replenished daily. When we needed something we would make the request, club sandals always followed-up our request to make sure we were satisfied. These rooms do lack a view of the sea. We then changed to a Caribbean Ocean view club room; the interior was similar to the swim up room. The club rooms have fabulous views of the Caribbean Sea, though location matters. Try and choose a room away from the main building if you want to avoid the noise and smell of food.

Room Tip: splitting your rooms between different categories may cause some issues, try and settle on your top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Norriton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our return to St. Lucia after a 15 year hiatus was incredible.The location of the latest edition of the Sandals was stunning,placed gently on a peninsula with our room facing the Atlantic Ocean and the resort area on the Caribbean.
The food was excellent,the locals , friendly and the guests ,carefree. The staff was amazing in all ways and beyond friendly. I truly feel thaat this experience will carry me ,until the next time when I (assuredly) return !!!.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place . Constant care and upkeeping !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was our free trip as Sandals members and are certainly glad we choose the Grande St. Lucian. We had a private transfer to and from the Airport which saved about 1/2 hour drive time over the buses. Once we arrived, we were escorted up to the Club Level lounge and checked in and escorted to our room. Our room looked out over the Atlantic Ocean which was a wonderful view through out the day. The resort is located on a peninsula so rooms all have a water view. This resort has a wonderful beach however you need to get to the beach or pool early to get a lounger for the day. The beach bar was within easy access and Junior, one of the bartenders in training, was fantastic making our trip very memorable (just don't ask for his signature erin, he needs to work on that). The food at the resort was great but dinner at Gordon's on the Pier was the highlight of the week for me as I celebrated my 50th and the wait staff & manager made me feel very special. Note that it is hard to get into and if you are not a Butler guest, there is a cost. Prisca at the Soon Come Back desk had us laughing for most of the week and we really appreciated her help in booking our upcoming December trip. There are only really only 4 restaurants, 5 if you include Gordon's, for evening meals however, with the Stay and Play of Sandals La Toc and Halycon are only a short bus ride away. I would recommend Kimonos at La Toc. we are really looking forward to going back to the Grande St. Lucian in the near future.

Room Tip: If you want great service, opt for the Club or Butler levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort

Address: Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•301 room, 17 acre resort combines historic British & French flavor•Pigeon Island, home to our annual St. Lucia Jazz Festival, combines historic British & French flavor that unfolds at Sandals•Offers exotic island & international culinary temptations at seven dining options •Ocean & beach view accommodations •Caribbean Sea•A lagoon swim-up pool where guests can swim right up to their patio ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa And Beach Resort
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.