We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$175 Spa/Tour Credit!!
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
Morristown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I have been to all inclusive resorts before but none have ever been like this. We felt so spoiled by the excellent staff, delicious food and amazing drinks. Our swim-up lagoon room was beautiful and the concierge staff met our every request. Absolutely beautiful island and Sandals makes it true paradise. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The concierge swim up lagoon room was amazing. It was everything you could ask for. It was very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, Danie. It is lovely to hear about the fantastic time you had on your honeymoon stay at Sandals Grande St. Lucian! Our staff takes great pride in knowing that they were able make our guests feel pampered and special on their visit with us and I will be sure to pass on your kind remarks to them.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,924
    1,173
    387
    181
    135
See reviews for
84
3,784
3
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I recently returned from our Honeymoon at Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort, St Lucia and it was such a wonderful, relaxing and enjoyable stay. We booked a last minute deal as it was totally worth every cent! Upon clearing Immigration and Customs at George F Charles International Airport, there was a Sandals Agent waiting for us outside who welcomed us to St. Lucia. Within five minutes, our airport transfer had arrived. It took us approximately fifteen minutes to arrive. From the entrance looking at the lobby area, the hotel was more than what we had imagined it to be. It was so much more beautiful than the pictures. Our bags were taken out and set aside.

We booked the Caribbean Honeymoon Oceanview Penthouse Club Level Room which was a Concierge level room with Room Service. The Manager personally came and introduced himself to us and showed us to the Concierge Lounge for private check in. Everyone at the Concierge was so friendly and helpful. Any questions we had they were more than willing to assist. The Lounge also afforded us access to snacks and refreshments. We were showed to our room and it was a breathtaking feeling. There was a table laden with flowers and leaves and in the middle of it, a bottle of champagne to celebrate our honeymoon. We had a beautiful view of the grounds, pool and the beach.

We went to the Olde London Pub for a quick bite as dinner time was about an hour away. We were greeted by a friendly young lady who took us to our seat. Later, we had dinner at Barefoot by the Sea and the food was really tasty and the service was consistently good. Buffet Breakfast at Bayside was delectable. As it turned out to be, the service was consistent at Dino's as well. The next morning we had breakfast at Toscanini's and it felt as if we had walked into a sophisticated upscale restaurant. The waiters and waitresses were friendlier as ever! That night we had Dinner at Gordon's and it really is an experience like no other. The ambiance is extremely romantic and they have a white glove service.

All together, the experience was all that we could have imagined and more. Bayside was our favorite dining spot as well. We must say a special thank you too everyone at the Concierge Lounge especially Sharmain, the Concierge Manager, Trista, Lew, Saanyu and Lance. They really went the extra mile to attend to all of our requests. If you would like to do some Island Tours, be sure to ask for Laurence Fedee. This guy did such a great job carrying us to see the Pitons right from the base of the Mountain. It was such an unbelievable sight. Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort, you are my motivation to come there every year! We hope to see you soon!!!

Room Tip: All the concierge and Bulter Rooms have amazing views. It costs a little more but it is definitely w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your amazing honeymoon experience at Sandals Grande St. Lucian! We are delighted that you had such a wonderful trip and that it was perfect from beginning to end. Our staff members are more than willing to go the extra-mile to ensure you leave feeling like you had the vacation of your dreams.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This resort was just exceptional. Everything about our stay was fabulous from getting on the shuttle at the airport all the way to the hotel. Every one is friendly and exceeds your highest expectation. It was my husband and I 6months wedding anniversary and we couldn't have picked a better place to celebrate. I love the Stay at one and play at all the locations on the Island. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights. I must say that everyone who worked at this resort were very nice, they all went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. We got a private transfer from the airport provided by Sandals. It was a very nice ride and very informative.

We arrived and we were upgraded to an oceanview room in the Massade building. This was a true view of Rodeny Bay and the beach. We loved this location as it was very close to the lobby, restaurants and pools. I think the best building of all. We are Sandals Select Members so I am sure that is why we got the upgrade to this room. The only down side we had was that there was an ice maker right outside our room (2211 I think) that made alot of noise around 5 am everyday. This made us early risers the whole week. We have been to alot of all-inclusive resorts, and I would not say that this is one of the nicest rooms we have been in, but it was nice. Room was cleaned everyday. Our room did not have any alcohol in it, but we did not miss it.

The main pool was very nice, loved that they had loungers in the water, nice for laying out and keeping cool at the same time. They did have service around the pool area, but it was very hit and miss. Did not see it everyday. Pool areas were very clean and we never had any issues finding a spot. Although we were up and at the pool area by 7:30 am. It was nice to not have to wear braclets at this resort and that you did not have to have a towel card. Towels were in abundance, never ran out while we were there.

Food was really good at Toscianin's, our favorite place. We ate breakfast there almost every morning, we liked it because it was order off the menu so the food was hot and the service was great. We also ate there 2X at night. The other restaurants were good, not what we expected out of a Sandals. Thought the food would have been better, but we did not go hungry. It was fun to eat at Barefoot By the Sea. It was right on the beach and had a good selection of food. We ate at Gordon's on the peir, the food was excellent and service was even better. We never had any issues with making reservations.

Water sports were fun, we did them all but the scuba. Snorkeling was good, we did it once through Sandals and once on a tour. The beach was very clean, and the sand was not hot. There were plenty of chairs to choose from. The water was very clear and calm. We enjoyed the stationary floats in the ocean.

We visited all the Sandals on this island while we were there. They provided a free shuttle. It was very easy to go back and forth. Out of the 3, we did like La Toc 2nd best. We spent a whole day there, it was totally different from the Grande. This resort had rock formations in the pools with waterfalls and some awsome views from the cliffs. The Grande was our favorite, mainly for the customer service provided and the beach.

We did notice that most of the people at the resort were younger honeymooners, and if you are 40+ years or older, you were a minority, at least the week we were there.

We will definately go to another Sandals someday...We thought it was overpriced for the actual resort...But the service was the best, and that was worth it. This resort had the nicest staff we have ever encountered.

Room Tip: We were in the Massade Building facing the beach. I would not pay for any room level higher, not in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a fantastic resort
Staff are first class especially the concierge team, Philip manger at Gordon's and the cabana girls
Food was first class in all the restaurants.
Stay at one play at three very good with easy transfers.
Very good worth a visit!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I honeymooned at this resort. It was our first experience at a Sandals and definitely will not be the last. We decided to upgrade during the week to butler service, and Donna at the front desk was most helpful. Even after our first interaction, she began to recognize us immediately and smile and greet us. She said she wanted to make sure our stay was memorable, and it sure was.

There is plenty of to do at the resort itself. We spent time at the swim up bar and participating in the various activities poolside. Food is aplenty and we definitely enjoyed eating several times per day. We especially liked Gordon's, where we received exceptional service by our waiter, Michael. Eustace cooked up one of the best steaks I've ever eaten. My only regret is that I should have gotten two while I was there.

Jackie was an awesome butler. She surprised every night with something new. She would decorate the bedroom or draw a bath, and always made sure we had fresh champagne. Wendell helped book all of our excursions and always made sure we had plenty to eat and drink at the beach. Well worth the upgrade.

We are looking forward to renewing our vows there later on in our marriage. We are just wondering how we never discovered Sandals before.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We absolutely loved every minute we had at the Sandals Grande St. Lucian for our honeymoon!! We had a very difficult time at the begining of our honeymoon with our airline stranding us in Miami, FL for 2 days (AVOID AMERICAN AIRLINES IF AT ALL POSSIBLE!! They only have one flight in to St. Lucia from Miami, FL and will over sell your flight. We were delayed 2 days with no compensation from AA)!!

Sandals extended our stay at no extra cost, and allowed us to enjoy our FULL trip however, they were so compassionate and understanding. We could not be more grateful to all of the staff there at the Grande. We had a private transfer from the airport (*I highly suggest this for any couple because the airport is a little less than 2 hours away from the resorts) and our driver was fantastic (If you can put a request in for Kenrick, do! He was wonderful!) Once we were on property, we found that every staff member was amazing. They were all so helpful and welcoming. On the first night, we found the best bartenders on the resort, Jean and Martin! We made sure that we saw each of them every day/night for our drink specials! The Pigeon Island is a must try and they local beer from the island "Piton", is amazing!

My new husband and I, unfortunately, became very sick the second day we were there with bad head and chest colds. I met the nurse on site, Lena (she is the most precious and caring woman! It was like having my mom in St. Lucia. Everyone knows, when you're not feeling well, you just want a hug from your mom. Lena was an angel!) She had to call the doctor for us and they both came to our room for our appointment and they had us feeling 100% better by the next day! Lena also would call in the afternoons to check on us to make sure we were feeling better and to see if there was anything that we needed. Thank you Lena for being the wonderful nurse that you are!

The room was always perfect, and well stocked with water and sodas. We will be ugrading next time to a concierge level room only for the fully stocked bar in your room and the room service :) We honestly did not miss having that for our stay this time because we were always going and doing something. The king size beds are wonderful (a little to firm for my back, but the room itself was relaxing and always clean!)

All of the food on site was incredible. By far, my favorite meals were from Barefoot on the Beach for lunch, or the pizza place! (The Carribean and Seafood pizza is a MUST HAVE) For dinner, Bayside (the french cuisine) or Tuscanini's (itallian) was above and beyond all my expectations.

**My biggest reccomendation for everyone is to order one or two appetizers or entree's per meal so you can enjoy more of the menu. We started doing this by the third night because there was just too many wonderful options to choose from. The portion sizes are perfect! In fact, I don't think I was able to finish a meal one time becuase there was always SO MUCH FOOD!! And a special thank you to Oscar (one of the food and beverage service managers) who always took the time to say hello to us, and make drink or dinner reccomendations! The rack of lamb at Toscanini's was fantastic and we would not have even thought of trying it if Oscar had not suggested it to us!

We loved every minute that we spent at Sandals, and have even booked our one year anniversary with Sandals in Jamaca! Thank you Sandals Grande for giving us the best honeymoon we could have ever dreamed of! See you in Jamiaca next year :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Grande St. Lucian, Abby. We are sorry you had difficulties with the airline but are so pleased that once you got to our resort all your worries melted away! Our staff members are known to go above and beyond for our guests because they genuinely want them all to have the best vacation experience. Your honeymoon is a special event and we are happy to have been a part of your most cherished memories of this time! I will forward your kind remarks to the team!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon for your one year anniversary trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort

Address: Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•301 room, 17 acre resort combines historic British & French flavor•Pigeon Island, home to our annual St. Lucia Jazz Festival, combines historic British & French flavor that unfolds at Sandals•Offers exotic island & international culinary temptations at seven dining options •Ocean & beach view accommodations •Caribbean Sea•A lagoon swim-up pool where guests can swim right up to their patio ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa And Beach Resort
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.