We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2402 -We couln't afford an honeymoon when we first got married but we were here for our 25th anniversary! What a delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $355 Instant Air !!
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Gros Islet
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“2402 -We couln't afford an honeymoon when we first got married but we were here for our 25th anniversary! What a delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Sandals Grand - great atmospher - One of the many things that stood out was the relationship we saw amongst the employees. They had fun and collobrated with each other which made situations go smoothly.All servers were polite, patient, knowledgeable, with good communication stayed in their roles, were courteous and made us feel welcomed. Hats off to the chefs! Their food presentaion and portions were great no matter where we went to dine. We spent most of our time at the pool, and visiting the land bar & the London Pub, two of the many available bars. One of the bar tenders (Peter) was so friendly, he knew how to respond to each guest, remembered what our choice of drinks were, had a couple of "Peter Specials" which were great. He was helpful with information about the resort and in general, was very accommodating. Thanks Peter! Ireneus, Joel, and Christopher (all bar tenders) will be remembered for their patience, functioning with smiles and keeping us on our toes with laughter as they handled the evening crowds. We were also impressed with how one particular employer, Imran, followed policy and did not accept tips but encouraged us to donate the tip to the Sandal's Foundation. Photographers were available to take random photos - thanks Herris for approaching us and capturing the true love we have for each other. The enterainment crew was engaging. 'Dancing with the Stars' and Barbara the saxaphone player, a definate hit. Marcelos and Sydney knew how to work the crowd without being over bearing. With speaking with Marcelos he was open to positive feedback and listened to constructive criticism. Just because of that I felt encourage to participate in more available activities. To name a few more: Mirella, Michaela, Remey, the crew in the Bayside & Barefoot resturants - Thank You All for making this experience memorable.
Suggestions: have feedback card available in room daily - waiting until the end of the week does the resort no justice with what happens. Having food and a bar available 24hrs. Aside from the squeaky bed, our room was stocked with beverages and the housekeeping was kept up. The sink on the left could be replaced!

Room Tip: get a room wth a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,443
    1,050
    340
    176
    130
See reviews for
67
3206
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (991)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We opted to have the concierge package. What an excellent decision. Lew and his team were fantastic. Any query we had was dealt with so efficiently and always with a smile. Thank you to all the team for making our holiday so enjoyable. We ate a lot in the Toscanini's restaurant. We would like to thank Ben (shame he supports Liverpool though), Val and the team for looking after us so well. We really enjoyed the food and the service and thank you for making us feel so special. The "Bon Voyage" cake was such a surprise and really appreciated. Julie and Channell in Josephine's, thank you for making us feel so welcome. We enjoyed our chats and the decorating of the cappuccino was certainly different. In the London Pub a big thanks to Kyle who kept the drinks flowing - nice one! And last, but definitely not least to Cindell who kept us supplied with drinks on the beach she may be small in stature but she is a young lady who has a heart of gold.

Overall we had a brilliant holiday all the staff were so friendly and made you feel like royalty. Exceptional location and the trips offered by Pearl and her team were great. If you get the chance you definitely need to do the Island Buggy trip. Greg and Chubby (another Liverpool supporter - shame) were brilliant who ran the tour. If you like driving fast round hair pin bends (of course this would be your choice) then this is definitely the trip for you.

The only thing we found that was lacking was the entertainment in the evening. Although there was some in the Palladium it was not well advertised and started too early in the evening and was in the wrong location.

Thank you to all of you in the Grande who made our holiday one in a million.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

If we paid 3 star prices then we would have felt this was worth the money. The resort's main areas are generally clean & have recently been remodelled. The Website details luxury but the reality is sadly not the case. The Beach is also OK but not fully exclusive, cabana's are great if you want to pay even more. The main pool area is looking quite tired. Entertainment on an evening was also scant. Drinks, not that there seemed to be a wide selection (cocktail list anyone?) are served in plastic glasses from the bars, unless you want house wine you have to pay for it & you need to also pay for Wi Fi. Lots of weddings on the beach everyday which were nice to watch. As you probably know there is a 1.5 hr transfer from the main airport - a drink on arrival would have been nice.

We stayed in a Honeymoon Deluxe bedroom. - great size wise, mini bar well stocked & fab sea view. The rooms are really dated, the bathroom was grubby & our air con didn't work which left the bedding feeling damp. We reported it a number of times & the Maintenance Guy said the air con was not working in our entire block.

Most disappointing was the food. The best meal we had was the a la carte breakfast. We ate in all the restaurants. We had seabass in Gordon's and it was frozen fish, why oh why on such a beautiful island with beautiful fresh food in supply? General cuts of meat are poor quality, give the Italian a miss & beware of insects on the breakfast buffet, tried the pizza & the crepes - it could be so much better & so disappointing. Some of the Staff were great & some couldn't care less, very abrupt at times. We had Butler service but didn't really feel the need to use it, never received the drawn bath or realised they would do some ironing for you, more's the pity.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had such a great time at this resort on our honeymoon! It is 1 of 3 sandals on the island and definitely fit our needs to the fullest! There are activities every day and the beach bar staff is fantastic. Great food.... Especially at Barefoot by the Sea and Toscinis. We traveled between the other resorts, and Halcyon has a wonderful sushi and Hibatchi restaurant at no extra cost! We had a great time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Mills, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had a fabulous time and did not want to leave. My husband and I are big fans of Sandals and will try everyone of their resorts around the Caribbean. This resort was outstanding in all aspects. You are at the end of a peninsula with the Atlantic on one side and the Caribbean Sea on the other. At the end of the road there is a National Park which has the most amazing views of the entire resort from atop an old lookout for Fort Rodney. On a sunny day you can see Martinique which is 25 miles away. These people cannot do enough to make your vacation a memorable one. The food was great and I literally ate every 4 hours. My theory is, everyone has their own expectations of a vacation. Experience it for yourself and don't let bad publicity ruin what could have been a great decision to try someplace new. We would definitely go back again. I personally enjoy the trip from the airport to the resort regardless of the amount of time it takes to get there. You get to see some of the island and start to get a true feel of what their culture and way of life is really about. Always very satisfied! Dennis and Cheryl

Room Tip: Sandals rooms are always very nice and clean. We have never had a problem with any room, actually we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Nearly a two hour drive from airport to the resort. Room was small and nothing special. We booked a lagoon view room and got a view a of a pool in the backyard. They told us the pool is called the lagoon. We needed room service because of a back injury and told we were not on a room service floor. Two days without towels. Only one dive and one snorkel allowed. Nasty staff . Off property nasty poor people.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at SGSL during our first week on the island in one of their beachfront Rondovals. On arrival our butler offered to unpack, checked us in and poured a glass of fizz to settle us in. The rooms are simply stunning with just about everything you could ever need - and if you needed something else a quick call on the butler-mobile and it was sorted in minutes.

We had breakfast in our room every day (well on 1 day we had an issue when the order form blew off the door and was not noticed by the night staff - but that could happen to anyone), and would often enjoy lunch to the pool or beach via the butler.

Our butler woud reserve us chairs on demand and see to our every need. Planning excusrsions and predicting our needs before we needed something.

Food was very good given the size of resort. We ate at Gordons twice, Toscaninis, Barefoot, Josaphines, Bayside and via room service and never had a bad meal. In fact the service, drinks and overall experience was perfect.

If i was being picky my only issue would be the photographers - they are everywhere! I don't think we had a single meal without an interruption from a photographer (yes they would go away if asked, and usually we were happy to oblige, but it is difficult to have an truly romantic meal out when someone keeps interrupting to take a cheesy photo all the time). But hey, it is hard to be disappointed when in paradise.

We would love to go back! Amazing all round!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort

Address: Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•301 room, 17 acre resort combines historic British & French flavor•Pigeon Island, home to our annual St. Lucia Jazz Festival, combines historic British & French flavor that unfolds at Sandals•Offers exotic island & international culinary temptations at seven dining options •Ocean & beach view accommodations •Caribbean Sea•A lagoon swim-up pool where guests can swim right up to their patio ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa And Beach Resort
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.