We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
World Travel Award!
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I am late in writing this review as my husband and I stayed at Sandals Grande St. Lucian Resort for 7 days in April of 2012. We loved our time spent on this beautiful island! We both have talked about returning in a few years. Please take the negative reviews with a grain of salt. While this is an older resort they keep the grounds very clean. The landscaping is amazing and the beach is raked almost daily. On a side note the ride to the resort from the airport is rough and takes over an hour but it is unavoidable unless you take the helicopter transfer which is expensive.

Rooms: We stayed in a honeymoon grand luxe room (the cheapest room category) as we like to enjoy the amenities of the resort instead of spending a lot of time in the room. The room was very nice. There were a few chipped tiles in the shower but that did not bother us at all. Our iron was not working but a simple call to the front desk and they brought us a new one within 15 minutes. We always kept valuables in the safe and never had any issues with housekeeping. Even though the resorts says not to tip we left our housekeeper one at the end of our stay because she did a great job!

Food and Drinks: Please ask your bartender to make you a bbc, it is an amazing drink! The local beer is Piton we both really enjoyed it. If you like spiced rum do yourself a favor and bring a few bottles of Kweyol back home with you. We ate breakfast at Bayside almost every morning. I would recommend the omelet station there. They had a good selection of breakfast foods available. We found the pizza place was great for lunch or a snack. Barefoot by the sea was nice and relaxing for dinner and we both enjoyed our meals there. Toscaninis the Italian restaurant has great food and atmosphere. You will need reservations but we never had trouble getting in and ate here twice. Go to the reservations desk when you arrive to make sure you are able to eat here at least once. Dinner will take longer here but you are on vacation and it is worth it. At the many bar locations they are more than accommodating to make your drinks doubles or upgrade the liquor all you have to do is ask. I cannot say enough about how great the employees are here. They are very friendly and accommodating.

Other things to do: The non motorized water sports are included in your stay. We took the hobie cats out and had a great time. We did book a sunset catamaran cruise through the tour company in the lobby. We enjoyed this bring your camera we got many great photos! I also would recommend taking a hike on Pigeon Island right outside the resort. It cost $5 per person to the park service but the views are amazing. One thing we wish we did was take the Simon Says tour we heard from many people who went on it that is was great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,580
    1,070
    356
    177
    130
See reviews for
69
3,357
3
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,078)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We just returned from a week at the Grande St. Lucian. My husband and I went with another couple which made the experience even better! We took the helicopter from the airport on the way to the resort. The helicopter was a cool experience but we chose to take the shuttle on the way back, which was about 1.5 hours. The ride was not as bad as people make it sound and I am one that gets motion sickness (ask your dr. for scopolamine patches and you will not feel motion sickness in the planes,cars, or boats). If you do take the helicopter, make sure you bring a carry on with you. Also, you will still have to take a cab about $40 from the helicopter. Our bags had to be taken on the shuttle and we did not have our luggage until very late at night. We choose to do the Simon Says tour which I would highly recommend. During this tour you get picked up in a speed boat to tour the island, snorkel, visit the sulfur springs/mudbath, eat at Simon's restaurant, and the last stop is a beautiful waterfall. If you do choose this tour pack water bottles in your bags or bring cash. You have the option to purchase things on the tour. We ate almost every meal at the resort except one night. We visited La Toc to eat at Kimonos which was very good. If you are a pool person, you may want to wake up early so you can save a spot. We saved ours around 8 and never had a problem but they fill up quickly in the morning. Make all the reservations for dinner as soon as you get there to be certain you go where you want. The staff was amazing and so enthusiastic. New Years Eve was outstanding, I would go back for that celebration any time. We are in our late 20's and this was our second sandals but this was the best by far. We met other couples our age and had a blast!! Make sure you get pizzas from Josephines for lunch (I think we ate those everyday...SO Good) Take advantage of the free water activities especially paddle boarding. Also, the best frozen drinks were the "Dirty Bannana, "No Pressure No Problems" , "BBC" and the "Pink P". Hope this helps and have a GREAT TIME!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We visited this resort several times while staying Sandals Halycon, using the included shuttle service which worked very nice.

Something we found beneficial - take a pic of the shuttle scheduled (they are posted in the lobbies of all 3 resorts) so it is on your camera to look back on as you plan out your day wherever you may be.

During busy times more than one shuttle bus was used to accommodate all of the guests, so no need to worry about it getting full and waiting in line early. If you plan to go in the water, bring a dry set of clothes, as the seats on the bus are cloth and they frown upon getting them all wet (think of the next person who sits there all dressed up for dinner)

We really enjoyed our visits to the Grande. The beach was very nice, calm, clear and long. We snorkeled right along the pier. Stay away from the rocks and the rope there is burning seaweed (or something of the sort) on them ~ it will burn and leave scratch marks on your skin if you brush against them. There are lots of fish to see there in and among the rocks though and we got some nice footage using our underwater camera. We found the pier to be a very nice place to sit with a drink and enjoy the peace and quiet along with a great view. One afternoon we went and got pizzas and crepes from Josephines and a couple of pina coladas and had a private picnic on the pier - very enjoyable!

The first day we were on the island we did the Pigeon Island hike. Because the shuttle doesn't go early in the morning, we paid $20 and took a cab over so we could get an early start, before it got any hotter, which we both agreed was a good idea. We planned to spend the rest of the day and have dinner there that night, so we brought a lot with us. We left our extra bags at the front desk while we did the Pigeon Island hike and the gentleman there was very gracious about it.
It was an easy walk from the Grande to the Pigeon Island park entrance - walk along the beach past water sports and then veer to the right where you will see a 'guard shack' where you pay $5/pp entrance fee. There was plenty to explore in the park, you could easily spend a day or half day there, exploring at your own pace. Make sure to wear good shoes, as the hike to the top of Fort Rodney is very steep. Wear sunscreen, bring hair ties (it's windy up there, my long hair was blowing all over the place) and bring plenty of water) On the way back we walked along the back side of the resort along the Atlantic side of the peninsula...it was ok going that way, but we were hassled somewhat by people parked in cars back there and it made us uncomfortable. I would go back the beach way if I was going to do it again.

One of our favorite restaurants of all 3 resorts was the Barefoot by the Sea - we had a very good meal, good service and a good time for dinner there. It's pretty neat to take your shoes off and stick your toes in the sand and listen to the waves while you eat.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

NICE, very nice... to the one's writing bad reviews, you do NOT know how to have a good time or enjoy yourselves... just stay home.
We went Dec 21st through 30th... WEDDINGMOON... so fun! The wedding staff were professional and fun and so sweet. It was beautiful.
There were people there that were just miserable and grumpy complaining about things... really? are you kidding me? birds will not kill you! and they pick up half full drinks when left behind and unattended... duh - they are FREE - get another one!
SUN, FUN, BEACH, OCEAN... GO... !!
It really was a beautiful resort, great staff and not a bad moment to be had. LOVE IT
We did do one shopping trip excursion... it was o.k. The mall part was blek, and the flea markets were very congested and hot... but, we found a cafe a few doors down and enjoyed some beers with the locals before jumping back on the shuttle! Whoop...
We had a room on the lagoon side, so quiet and peaceful... slept like a baby every night, woke up to sun and the birds chirping... room service every morning does not suck.
WE WILL RETURN someday! VERY PLEASED

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We decided that after a really busy and stressful 2012 we would spend Christmas in St Lucia. This was our first visit to a Sandals resort. On reading other reviews I can agree very much with what people have said about the journey from the airport to the resort. St Lucia is 27 miles long and the airport is in the south of the island and all the main resorts are in the north. If you suffer from motion sickness take some travel sickness tablets. Thankfully on this occasion we were both OK.

Hotel and rooms (we had a lagoon room 4212) which we paid extra for were of a good standard and the location was very quiet with a separate pool. Great we though on the first few days until the jet washing began …we put up with it for a while but got really fed up, especially when he was jet washing on Christmas Day, not relaxing at all and is this what we paid for ??? This lasted for several days so am not surprised people were not using this pool.

The only let down in our opinion was the food. If you only visit for a week the various restaurants are OK but we were there for 12 nights and after a while the menus in the restaurants became very boring as they didn’t change at all. I have stayed at other ‘all inclusive’ hotels where the variety of food was much better better. Steamed cabbage and brussels sprouts at breakfast were a little odd yet for the evening meal one floret of broccoli and one slice of carrot ???

I can only reiterate what others have said in these reviews about the birds landing on the tables in the Bayside restaurant, this is all true and not very hygienic at all and needs to be addressed.

Our last day was 30th Dec and really wasn’t a memorable day, by 5pm our room had still not been cleaned (our lovely cleaner had gone on leave the day before) so when they tried to gain access at about 5.30 I was trying to pack our cases so said no. I then wanted to check in for our return flight, internet access comes at a charge and you have to buy cards from reception that really don’t last very long and time you out, we only wanted to check-in for our flights. You cannot also print your boarding card as none of the computers are linked to a printer. Flight check-in should be free to guests. If you want to surf the internet then fair enough charge for that.

We had a reservation for our last meal at Toscanini’s for 8.30. Firstly there was a very strange smell in the restaurant (and not a nice one drains ??) It took ages for them to take our order (not exactly busy !) and then we had to wait about 25 minutes between each course. The waitress was rather curt and abrupt when we complained about the time it was taking to get our main course. By 10 pm we really didn’t feel like eating desert and left along with several other people who looked, like us, very fed up ! There was a very big wedding earlier that afternoon in the hotel and I can only assume took priority and staff were taken away to work on that rather than the rest of the paying guests very poor service indeed.

The hotel complex is lovely I cannot fault this and the staff were very friendly (albeit very scripted). This was a very expensive holiday and I realise travelling at Christmas you pay a premium but it really was not worth the amount we paid. Would I use a Sandals resort again …the jury is still out on that one I certainly wouldn’t pay that amount of money again.

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms away from the main hotel are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEEDS
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have just had 11 days at this sandals hotel. We we t to celebrate our friends 60 th birthday. Our initial view was this is a very tired hotel wich needs a lot of TLC. The rooms are very dated and the newer rooms are close to the main reception/ lobby where a band plays most nights until 10pm. Needless to say its noisy! Rooms wich are not with a beach view are at the back of the hotel overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, not on the Caribbean.
The biggest disappointment was the food. Breakfast was not of the sandals quality I remembered of old. Gone are the ice carvings and sculptured fruit, replaced by portion controlled plates of limited choices. However the omelet station was always fresh.
After a few days we realized it was better to visit the other sandals resorts in the evening by taking the hotel shuttle bus. The best food we found was at the pier at the halcyon and Le Toc, at sandals Le Toc. The Grand has a nice place to eat called Gordon's but if you are not staying in a concierge room you have to pay another $150 don't bother it is not that good!!
The best location ie beach is the grand and the best food overall is the halcyon.
We found the taxi drivers gave the best advice for tours etc around the island and far cheaper than the hotel desk tour operators who were not that helpfull. The guys on the beach do a great tour for $90 wich is $130plus tax in the hotel. Do your research as to what tours can be done outside of the hotel!!!
By the end of the 11 days we had chilled out and found ourselves on island time. Some of the staff were very nice ( mainly the males) but we found the females less friendly. My husband and I both agreed while we enjoyed our stay we would not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for beach view not sea view away from the main reception and in the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sandals Grand St Lucian 12/23 to 12/27. After last year’s dreadful experience at Couples Negril we went in with low expectations. Our expectations were exceeded off the charts! We stayed in one of the Penthouse Honeymoon Beachfront Concierge rooms. The room was great, and clean. The bathroom had a double sink vanity, which was really nice because he had one side and I had the other. The mini fridge stayed stocked with water and juice and sodas (we requested no alcohol).

The pools and beach were lovely with plenty of chairs and huts to relax in. There were some vendors trying to sell things but for the most part we were left alone. The food was good at all the restaurants. The best being Tosconinis (FYI -men must wear button down shirts at this restaurant). There are three stores, including a nice jewelry store that my husband would not let me go into. There are plenty of fun activities and things to do.

The staff was great. They all seem genuinely nice and friendly. They even placed Christmas cards in the guest’s rooms signed by the staff, with goody bags. I thought that was nice – it’s the little things.

When we checked out there was a small discrepancy on the bill that was quickly and easily corrected. My only complaint is that there is a charge for wifi service ($14 for a day and $42 for a week). Other than that, I do not have anything bad to say about Sandals Grand St Lucian.

In summary, our stay (and our Christmas) was fantastic and the resort was beautiful! We had an amazing time and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort

Address: Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•301 room, 17 acre resort combines historic British & French flavor•Pigeon Island, home to our annual St. Lucia Jazz Festival, combines historic British & French flavor that unfolds at Sandals•Offers exotic island & international culinary temptations at seven dining options •Ocean & beach view accommodations •Caribbean Sea•A lagoon swim-up pool where guests can swim right up to their patio ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa And Beach Resort
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.