We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decadent honeymoon at Sandals Grande St. Lucian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$305 Spa or Tour Credit!
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decadent honeymoon at Sandals Grande St. Lucian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

It was a perfect honeymoon. I would definitely recommend a private villa with butler service. This was first class! Everyone was so friendly and we loved our butlers who anticipated all our needs. Gordon's and private candlelight dining are musts. The spa services were relaxing...recommend a couples massage on the pier.

Room Tip: Choose on of the rondevals--private villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,573
    1,069
    355
    177
    130
See reviews for
69
3,350
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,073)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

First, I will start off by saying the only bad thing about this resort because there is only one that Sandals can be held accountable for... it's over priced. I understand that being a small island away from a large main land can make things costly to ship in and out, but for the price we paid I couldnt help but question where all the dollars were going.

I enjoyed my time at St. Lucian Grande on my honeymoon and so did my husband. We were big fans of the games by the main pool and found that Neville and Julius made it extra fun.
Everyone we spoke to from Tyla and Kyle in the London Pub or Shirley and the staff at Bayside, any of the hard working interns like Razvan or Cici or even Hiram during the Sandles snorkle we're very sweet and absolutley wonderful to speak with.

The drinks we're delicious, the food was delicious and the scenery at The Grande will take your breath away. I must stress that if youre visiting you should get off the resort and visit the street party - do yourself this favour!! Trust me. Get off the resort for a day and go into town, shop, talk to people, check everything out!

The watersports were fun, and I really enjoyed the Parasailing trip we took with Dennis on the white speed boat. I know he doesnt work for Sandles but I have to say that he is a very sweet and hard working guy and the time we spent Parasailing off his boat was unforgettable. My husband and I also did the Piton tour with snorkeling and visited the waterfall and had lunch at a ladies house who seems to be everyones Aunt hehe.. it was awesome :) Her food was great!

I can't wait to visit St. Lucia again, but not at a resort. Yes, the Grande was very nice, but next time I want to live an easier down to earth way where I can take in the beauty of the people and rich culture and less of the resort type living that you can get anywhere else.

Room Tip: Dont bother with Bulter Service. Save your money or invest in staying a few more days. You have your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here in October and had a fab time, agree with James M - beds etc were moved about to make the place look better for a photo shoot, which also meant that the beach was closed for half a day and we were asked to move our sunbeds on 3 consequative days to accomodate the photographers!! Overall the place is in a lovely location with great staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our first time at a sandals resort. Being from Australia it is a long way to come.
The all inclusive was a new concept to us and we loved it. All the cocktails we wanted at the swim up bar or the main bar. The staff are great so fun loving and happy all the time and they were more then happy to fulfil your every wish. Our room was also fixed with all the alcohol we wanted.
The amenities were brilliant.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a Dirty Banana
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My Husband and I went to the Sandals Grande St. Lucian for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time! We got a concierge room and they were so helpful and made it easy for us to not have to worry about a thing - they took care of it all. The island is absolutely beautiful and they offer many water sports through the resort. I did expect the rooms to be a little nicer, mainly the bathrooms. And i felt the pool was a bit dirty but we stayed on the beach the whole time so i didnt need to worry about that. I would def recommend this resort for future honeymooners! Great place to go and relax :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We just returned after celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary. We were frustrated with the check-in. After arriving we waited over an hour and then was told our room wasn't ready. We were taken to a restaurant and told it should be ready in 15 minutes. Well, after over an hour no one seemed to know anything. We waited another 15 minutes or so and was finally taken to our room. Very disappointed in the room. It looked like any run of the mill hotel room. I believe I've stayed in better Holiday Inns. The bed was hard and squeked every time you turned in it.
The resort definitely needs updating. Pool had missing tiles and badly needed grout work in several areas. This was definitely not worth the money we paid. We loved the spa and the ladies were terrific. Overall, we made the most of what was there and enjoyed spending the time together. Definitely would not go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We regret to hear that we did not quite meet your expectations for service and quality. We have many guests who feel the direct opposite and have boasted of our luxurious accommodations. As hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process so we thank you for your review.

We strive to meet our motto: Luxury All-Inclusive Vacations for Two People in Love. We are in a constant state of evolving our resorts and updating our amenities so I will be sure to send your feedback to the relevant departments.


Regards,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensville, Ontario
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was our 11th trip to a Sandals Resort and the Grande was amazing. When we arrived they have a specific door to go through to the Sandals Service Desk. We met our driver Sheevy who gave us the grand tour and even got us a couple of Pitons to enjoy along the way. The ride was1 1/2 hours but he helped along the way by being a wonderful tour guide of his beautiful island. The manager, Ferry Zievinger made a point to meet us on our arrival and from then on the week was amazing. Duran was in charge of our bags and when we got to our room he absolutely refused a tip and there as no tipping for the rest of the week which really surprised us as we like to tip when we appreciate a special kind of treatment and service. The room had rose pedals sprinkled around our room and a bottle of champagne an chocolates to greet us to the hotel. Our room overlooked one of the quiet pools that have swim up to the rooms and it was very nice, not noisy at all and the evenings we spent on our balcony were very enjoyable. We noticed that one of the bed table lamps wasn't woking and as well the fridge wasn't working and because of medication that had to be refridgerated we called the front desk and within 30 minutes a service man was there to fix the lamp and a new fridge was brought in. Our first dinner was at the English Pub because it was late and we were not sure of where everything was so we thought we'd eat there and investigate in the daylight. Matt, Kathryn, Tyla, Samantha, Sean and Kyle always made us feel at home at the Old English Pub and we made sure we came back a few times as the food was great and the surroundings were wonderful. Lunches at Josephines were terrific with Rohan making sure all was good and Ann serving made it a great lunch of pizza or crepes. Sherri the Culinary Ambassador who looked after restaurant reservations and a few othrer thngs did an amazing job. She was quite knowledgeable and you even saw her at Josephines helping out with the serving. She's very talented and a very friendly person. The welcome back dinner was wonderful, the apetizers and dinner was great and it was so nice to be seated with Arthur the manager of maintenance. We told him about the fridge thing and we thanked him for the prompt service. I'm sure he appreciates hearing good things about his employees. The management made a point of mentioning the guests and how many times they had come to a Sandals Resort. The beach at this resort is very nice and very hot by the afternoon sun. Some rocks in the water but very nice and a pleasure to get into as the weather was so warm you had to keep going in to cool off. The swim up bar was a great time, meeting all kinds of people and enjoying an abundance of different beverages. If you wanted to be included in activities during the day you could or just relax and just enjoy the atmosphere. The pools were always nice and clean. The hot tubs were a little too warm for us so we didn't use them but they were always in good condition. We never had a problem getting chairs either on the beach or at the pool and having the bar service while relaxing was a nice perk. Alywinia was a very charming and nice server. A late day trip to LaToc for the japanese dinner wasn't as nice as we had heard as they tend to rush you through the meal - the total time was about 30 min not even giving a chance to enjoy an after dinner beverage. This resort is on the side of the mountain so there is lots of walking and waiting for shuttles to take them where they wanted to go. People from that resort came to the Grande to enjoy he beach as their beach isn't as nice as the Grande. We were told that sand was brought in as this island isn't known for sandy beach. The view from the beach arew awe inspiring. The Red Lane Spa was fabulous Beverly and Cynthia L did an amazing job at making us more relaxed than we already were with being at this lovely resort. The Barefoot and Mariners Reef restaurants were both great. Lunches at both were terrific and the view of the beach while enjoying lunch was very nice. Not having to dress up and not making reservations was nice especially after a day on the beach and having to rush to make a dinner reservation time, it's nice just going to dinner when you want to. The fireplaces along the beach were a lovely area to enjoy an evening beverage and a beautiful evening. We were only at the Grande for 1 week and in that time I saw 1 fly at the beach during the day and not one mosquito in the evenings. It's nice not having to cover up at night because of bugs. The hotel even sent us a note saying that one day that week the hotel would be doing a check in specific rooms to make sure there were no bugs. Now that's a good thing to hear at hotels. We took one excursion on the "Ocean Angel", Captain Brad Pitt is who you see on the beach, and we had a real good time. We were taken by speed boat around the coast of the island and was shown where they filme Pirates of the Caribbean, the orginal Doctor Doolittle as well as some of the homes that famous people like George Forman, Oprah and Mick Jagger aparently have homes. Snorkellin was done as well at a little inlet and everyone got to swim with the colourful fish. This trip included a ride to the active volcano where people were able to have a mud bath which is supposed to make your skin smooth and youthful agan. The water and mud was very warm and we were unable to get into the hot pool of water to wash off so we just used the showers they had. After the mud bath we went to a waterfall that was heated by the volcano. The walk to get there was rather tough and you had to watch yor footings but whe we got there it was beautiful. Then we headed to an island house and had an original Lucian lunch with the guides of our trip. The food was very good although it could have been a little warmer. The trip was worth the cost as we got to see so much of the island. The guides took our photo's with the Piton Mountains behind us and made a nice keep sake of our trip. All in all we found this resort to be excellent and would recommend it to everyone. We hope we can make the trip back again.

Room Tip: The rooms by the quiet pools are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort

Address: Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#3 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•301 room, 17 acre resort combines historic British & French flavor•Pigeon Island, home to our annual St. Lucia Jazz Festival, combines historic British & French flavor that unfolds at Sandals•Offers exotic island & international culinary temptations at seven dining options •Ocean & beach view accommodations •Caribbean Sea•A lagoon swim-up pool where guests can swim right up to their patio ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa And Beach Resort
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.