We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ginger Lily Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Ginger Lily Hotel to your Saves list
The Ginger Lily Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rodney Bay | P.O. Box cp 6013, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“location location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Excellent location, room large, clean and comfortable. Reduit beach 50m away, excellent beach. Close to real good facilities, restaurants, clubs and shops not too far away.
Staff were very helpful too.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms very nice, nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    69
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
28
100
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We came back a week ago from a two week stay at the Ginger Lily hotel. We had a room booked downstairs on the ground floor in an executive suite. Although it did not face the pool, it was a very generous sized room with a kitchen and dining area. This was ideal for us because as vegetarians we had chosen to cook most of our own food on a daily basis. The rooms were very clean, well kept and well resourced. As we were cooking everyday, reception staff were more than happy to provide us with the extra utensils that we requested and were happy to let us have friends over for dinner in our rooms. The breakfast is simple, consisting of toast, tea or coffee, juice and yogurt or fruit. This was normally enough to get our day started. The location was perfect, just far enough away from the noise of the bars and clubs in town, but close enough to walk to if we wanted an evening out. The beach was directly across the road, and although the swimming pool was very small in comparison to some of the larger resorts, it was set in pleasant and peaceful gardens. We found all the staff to be very courteous and helpful, including the cleaning staff who helped and advised us on how to cook some of the local foods we were attempting to make. We felt secure there in the evenings and the gates were always locked and attended to by a security guard after 10pm. If you are looking for a supreme, all luxury, all inclusive resort type place, then do not come here. However if you are looking for a cosy, homely, semi-DYI experience - then this is the place to be!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Ginger Lily for a couple of nights at the beginning of our honeymoon, and it is a nice place to stay. The style of the hotel has a cool Indian/Polynesian feel to it, and has a large, open-air reception area. The property is cozy and compact with tropical plants. A cabana sits next to the pool in the central courtyard.
Our room was large, with a queen bed, a seating area, and a wet bar nook. The bathroom was large with a "more-the-merrier" sized shower. Our front patio was small but had a hammock. The only issues we had were that the A/C was weak, and that the TV was a busted one from 1988. But those are minor things.
They had an all-night security guard that monitored the property and opened the locked gate when we came back after hours. The Ginger Lily is also located directly across the street from the RodneyBay Police station.
There is a great beach behind the police station that you have easy access to. There is also a nice restaurant called "Spinnakers" that we enjoyed while listening to the lapping of the waves. Walk down to the marina at the end of the street to "Happy Bar". It's a hidden gem.
We really enjoyed GingerLily, and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hated every minute. Our room had been double booked so we were made to believe that we would be upgraded to a "suite". Unfortunately such suite turned out to be a windowless dungeon on the ground floor next to the car park. The patio at the back faced a dark an alley, and barbed wire fence (we generally felt unsafe and slept very badly). On day 2 we kept being told we would be moved, basically spent the first day of our holiday still packed and waiting at the nearby beach for the signal to move. This never came and at 4 pm we were told we would have to stay one more night in the hovel. I felt sorry for the embarrassed reception staff as the mistake was clearly made by Karen (who admitted to the mistake). She was abroad and quite unhelpful on the phone. She was unable to offer any type of compensation or a move to another equivalently priced hotel. Typical "manager" who does things remotely in order to run away from the day to day running of a business. Furtunately our booking service intervened and got us the hell out of there. Generally the worst hotel experience i have had in all my life. Ruined the start of our holiday . BTW breakfast was a joke dont even bother. STAY ELSEWHERE!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glstlucia, Owner at The Ginger Lily Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
The management, the staff and myself pride ourselves on our reputation. We therefore have to respond to this review.

The guest booked an Upper Deluxe Room but due to an overbooking had to be upgraded to one of our Executive Suites for the first night of their stay.
Our Suites offer a separate living, dining area with full kitchen and are the top/most expensive rooms that we offer.

On the morning of the transfer to the Upper Deluxe room a genuine clerical error was made on our part, meaning they would have to stay a subsequent night in the upgraded room. This was an oversight and this was explained to the guest with a full apology.

The guest was then so rude to the front desk staff that I had no alternative to try and intervene. He was equally rude to me on the phone and threaten than unless he stayed for free, he was going to "ruin" us.
By this stage there was no reasoning with the guest and our only alternative was to let the guest contact his booking agent and get him to be rebooked at another establishment.

Just for the record The Ginger Lily Hotel has an onsite manager that deals with all guest's issues. As an owner I had to intervene as there was no pleasing the guest.

We have thankfully be awarded the Trip Advisor's Excellence Award for 3 consecutive years and can assure future guests that none of our rooms are "hovels".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great Location.Cozy and warm Great For couples who want to get away from it all...
i felt like we had the place to ourselves almost. U get a free breakfast,just enough to get u going in the morning.The surprising thing is with all that beautiful scenery you think there would be mosquitoes all over the place well let me tell u i'm from New York and hate those flying blood banks i didn't get bit once period..Stay here u won't regret it. The Staff Virgin,Raz, Helen are the best. Good sense of humor professional all the way i am truly going to miss them all

Room Tip: The Begonia Room #5 over looks the pool and has the best view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Ohhhhhhh my goodness. From the very moment we were dropped off at this hotel, wow, honestly, I felt the peace & was now looking 4ward to the Front Desk service. I am so happy to say that Roslyn, whom I already hsd spoken 2 while preparing 4 my trip in the U.S was so, so sweet on the phone, I knew it would have been a pleasure in finally meeting her.

So happened that she was the one who was there, waiting 2 greet us as we entered the hotel. You talk about personalized service, listen, she checked us in & took us personally 2 our room. When she opened the door, all I could say @ that moment was, "ohhhhhhhhhhh, my goodness", is this 4 real?

Right then & there, I told her, I love, it, I do. She then wishes us a pleasant stay & left. We then started getting comfortable & my boyfriend said, where's the bathroom, I found this door & opened it..........."What"???? I said, babe, come in here, we were so impressed. Listen the bathroom is very, very large. It's literally a walk in bathroom. Space like crazy. You would be so surprised. I've never been in any bathroom that large ever, including the room itself, seriously!

Make sure & request the rooms on the "Upper Level". It's just 2 floors & a total of 11 rooms in the hotel. You definitely would not be disappointed. Next day, we would meet with Roslyn again, who nicely brought our breakfast 2 us downstairs, where we sat by the pool side 2 eat. It's continental & it was perfect 4 us, why?

We wanted 2 make sure we were not overfilled 2 enjoy the other foods out, during the day, which we definitely did. The other days, we would meet the other staff members, "Manager, Virgin, Helen & our maid, Martina. She cleaned our rooms beautifully every day. What a wonderful lady. Thank you so much Martina :).

Helen, Virgin & Roslyn. There is nothing we were in wanting 4 & the service failed. U guys were so pleasant & wonderful 2 us, including all the laughter & smiles you shared with us, we could not have asked 4 a better hotel or better stay anywhere else. Trust & believe, the next time we come 2 St. Lucia, ur Hotel will be the place of rest, hands down.

Folks, as you exit the hotel, u are walking straight across looking @ the beach. The moment you leave the hotel's compond, u are looking @ the beach, straight ahead in a few steps. How awesome was that? My boyfriend said, wow babe, u did ur homework or did u do ur homework? He was extremely satisfied with everything.

The strip 2 everthing is like a 10 2 15 mins walk. Listen, u hold hands as a couple, walk that strip & check out the restaurants & everything u need & want? U'll be in "Love" all over again, "Trust & Believe" :).

"Ginger Lily".......U've won the intimate hotel of peace & class & that is exactly how we feel about u. Thank you so kindly 4 the superb & excellent service you have extended 2 us & 4 making us feel more than "At Home" with ur extreme personalized service. We love u guys & thank you sincerely once again.


Respectfully, Mary & George.....New York City! :) :)

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the 2nd Floor. Much larger & beautiful :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glstlucia, Owner at The Ginger Lily Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our boutique.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stay and also the size of the room's en suite bathrooms!!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel, staff were very polite and the room was spacious aswel as bathroom.
It has a nice size pool with seating area, we stayed when hotel was quiet which was perfect for us.
We had continental breakfast but they also serve cooked food at an extra cost.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who hasn't got children, as there's no supervision by the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Ginger Lily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ginger Lily Hotel

Address: Rodney Bay | P.O. Box cp 6013, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ginger Lily Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel cushions the seafront of one of the island's most exotic beaches, Reduit Beach located within Rodney Bay Village. The hotel comprises of eleven luxury rooms. Four superior deluxe, four sea view rooms and three executive suites. Each are superbly furnished with fridge, air conditioning, direct dial telephone, ceiling fan and wall-to-wall shower, queen and sofa bed, clock radio and an in room safe. The executive rooms are fully furnished with separate dining and kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ginger Lily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginger Lily Hotel
Ginger Lily Gros Islet
The Ginger Lily Hotel St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ginger Lily Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.