We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for quiet, comfortable accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Villas

Save Saved
You added Gateway Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gateway Villas
Cap Estate | Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location for quiet, comfortable accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

My wife and I rented the Frangipani #2 villa and found it very spacious, comfortable and furnished with all you may wish: Fully equipped kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine, fridge, crockery and cutlery, TV, internet, a barbecue ... you name it.
In particular we liked the spacious patio with the nice splash pool, overlooking a quiet tropical garden.
The villa is located in a gated community and appears very safe and quiet. It's a five minute drive to Rodney Bay with its shops and restaurants, and a 20min. drive to Castries, the busy capital. Other sights and attractions are less than 30min. drive (e.g. Cas-en-Bas beach resort, Smugglers Cove, Rainforest Adventures, Pigeon Island, Marigot Bay).
The staff at Gateway Villas were very friendly and attentive, both before and during our rental. Check-in was easy and straight forward, and during our stay the maids were taking excellent care of us.
Definitely a recommendation for those who prefer an individual place to stay to a busy "all inclusive" hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    3
    2
    8
See reviews for
24
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Villa Viewtique has a fantastic location with views of Martinique over the St. Lucia Channel. It is spacious and well equipped, even if some benign neglect is evident. The pool is great and very clean. The separate bedroom off the terrace is useful, particularly as we had a baby in our group and he was very "active" during the night. The villa is situated on a cliff above the sea and the noise of the waves made it difficult for some of us to have a good night's sleep, but it didn't spoil the holiday, I hasten to say. The only disadvantage is the distance to Rodney Bay and it's shops. Taxis are expensive, so hiring a car is a must. It is also useful when exploring this beautiful island. Overall a very pleasant eperience for all of us.
Helen and Mervyn Martin, Cambridge

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

This property was a real pleasure. The villas are well appointed and the staff are very pleasant and accommodating. Good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valence, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We rented Zephir villa with gateway and everything was great but the weather !!
The house is on top of a hill with a 180° view from atlantic to carribean sea. Big rooms with balcony, well furnished, nice garden with flowered trees... It as been very hard to live and go back to france.
Warm welcome from all the gateway team, garderner... very nice
We'll come back again to live this great experience with more sun

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Zephyr is a beautiful house in a beautiful location. The views are stunning, and the breezes are great.
The road to get there is in need of repair, though; and don't trust Google Maps to get you there. There are several ways to get there, but 2 out of the 3 roads are so rutted we had to turn our rental van around so as to not get stuck. Get good directions if you're driving yourself. If you come the "right" way it's OK.
Plenty of room for two families, 7 folks total. Saw a few mosquitoes, but they were not a problem (at least in January).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We spent several days in St. Lucia and our trip was made even better because we stayed at Gateway Villas. From the moment we arrived and were immediately greeted by Cheli, we knew we were in the right place. She was so helpful showing us the ins and outs of the villa, offering her assistance any time day or night. We also met Larissa as well and she was the one I dealt with on the internet and she too was so sweet and so very helpful. Our whole experience was wonderful and we would most highly recommend this place. We will definitely return to Gateway Villas!!!

Room Tip: I booked this villa online and it was so simple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

I've read the reviews about the breakings, maybe management changed employees or upgrade their customer service. But it was the place to stay for myself and the mrs. The room was excellent, not to mention the view!!! But most important... thumbs up to the customer service. We were well taken care of and they saw to all our needs, from car rental to tours. Made us felt as if we were their top priority. Don't worry... it isn't going to be our last visit to the island and we know where we're stayin.

Room Tip: Go in off peak season, if your a number crusher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Villas

Address: Cap Estate | Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 7 acre of tranquil, prime property is to the north of the island in a hotel residential area called Cap Estate. 5 minutes drive away is Rodney Bay, the real life of the north. Gateway Villas, gatepark hosts studio apartments, one, two and three bedroom villas with plunge pools. A mile long beach is 2 minutes drive away, we offer great deals on villas with jeep specials! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Gateway Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Villas Hotel Gros Islet
Gateway Villas St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.