We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous staff, great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Gardens Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Gardens Inn to your Saves list
Bay Gardens Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Gros Islet B&B and Inns
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous staff, great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at the Bay Gardens Inn for three weeks and could have stayed a lot longer. A beautiful pool and garden area, large, well appointed rooms with very comfortable, king size bed. The staff were fantastic and really looked after me (single, white female travelling alone). The Inn is peaceful and quiet, yet within 2 minutes of three pharmacies, a supermarket and two shopping malls. It is also not far to walk to the Bay Gardens Beach Resort where you can make use of all the facilities and there is also a free shuttle bus every hour.

I found this to be a lovely place to stay at great value. Thank you to all the staff both at the Inn and at the Beach Resort...you were all fabulous!

Room Tip: The Inn is very small so room choice really wasn't an issue. I think you'll enjoy any of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
You’re right; you can easily escape to this retreat in the heart of one of the most vibrant locations in St. Lucia. Three weeks is a good amount of time to spend and we’re happy that we were able to keep you wanting to spend even more time with us. We will be sure to thank our team on your behalf and they’ll surely be happy to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    71
    24
    8
    2
See reviews for
23
69
24
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Won't go back to St. Lucia. Travelled their Dec 22-Jan4th 2013. Found the native people in the Gros Islet restaurants, other business grumpy toward my girlfriend and I. In fact, I was trying to buy deli meat in the grocery store that we frequented and the deli worker intentionally chose the native shoppers behind me 3 consecutive times in a row. I spoke up about this when she was choosing the 4th person behind me and this customer gestured that I should be served next. My speaking up embarrassed my girlfriend and started a disagreement between her and I even though she felt I was being discriminated against too - come all this way and am paying this kind of money to have these experiences - no thank-you. We felt many times unwanted in a city that I was dropping heavy money in. Could be this area is underdeveloped when it comes to tourism. l felt for the money I was spending(no discounts here) their could have been more hospitality and politeness and less grumpiness shown to us. We are very polite people.

Long windy 1 1/2hour trip from the airport to our hotel - can make you car sick. Same experience to get to the Grand Titons to hike.

Bay Gardens Inn - a clean reasonably price hotel but no much else - best part of the hotel was sister agreement it has with the Bay Gardens Beach Resort - spent every day at this resort on the beach and loved it. Reduit Beach is an amazing beach.

Bay Gardens Inn staff not that friendly, Bay Garden's Beach Resort staff very friendly. At the Bay Gardens Inn, check that the frosting on your bathroom window has not been scratched away to allow someone to look in. We noticed this on our room and several of the adjoining rooms. We put a towel up on the inside of the window to obscure the view. Would recommend you stay at the Bayview Beach Resort and pay the extra money - worth it in the end.

Had one of the best New Years Eve's of my life at Spinakers which is right beside the Bayview Beach Resort. The high price of $110US per person is worth it. This event and spending time on Reduit Beach at Bay Garden's Beach Resort were the highlights of our trip.

John

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
It is very unfortunate to learn of this incident; this incident in no way reflects the quality of the majority of St. Lucians. We are well known for our kindness and friendliness to each other and visitors alike. We will also look at the windows to ensure that there is no scratching or that any potential scratches are repaired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The colors of the buildings and island landscape helped create a tropical theme. The location was ideal, close to the downtown and beaches, and yet far enough away from the busyness of town.The staff started their work earlier than we would have liked and the noise between rooms was an issue. We had no WIFI, but according to the Inn, that is soon to be changed. Surprisingly, and unknown to our staff, the room was equipped with 110 volt outlet for charging US electronics. The bed was very comfortable. The option of being able to use all resort facilities was a plus. The Hotel seemed to be the most active area. Their brunch was a nice display of local offerings. The internet special made the price a reasonable option.

Room Tip: If you want the more active area, pick the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
quite some time. Would it be possible to email us to explain the issue you experience with the wifi during your stay?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The staff at the Bay Gardens are some of the friendliest people I have met anywhere. I was booked in for 2 weeks with Ramblers from 2nd to 16th May 2013 which coincided with the St Lucia Jazz festival.
The hotel gardens and pool were virtually mine for most of the time even though the hotel was busy during the main weekend of the festival. Great beach at the Bay Gardens Beach resort with all the water sports.
The only problem we had was that the resident rep from Ramblers was unavailable for personal reasons and they sent a real Numpty called John in her place. The St Lucian coach driver Lincoln could have done a far better job without taking the idiot out of the village.

Room Tip: I was in 150, no complaints except TV had some annoying test signals at the bottom of the screen, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We definitely agree; our team members are some of the friendliest around and we value them greatly for that reason. Hopefully you got to enjoy the St. Lucia Jazz Festival during your stay too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Great staff! The location is close to shopping,dining, clubs and beach. The hotel runs a shuttle to the beach every hour. It is best to get to lobby 10-15 mins prior to scheduled time or you may miss the van. It is only a 10-15 min walk to beach if you miss it. Room 241 was nice but bed was well worn. The bed was soft and sagged on both sides from people sitting on edges. I asked for a different room but was advised all the beds were the same. Internet was slow but tolerable. Overall good value for the rate. I don't know if I'd stay again because of the bed. My back was bad all week.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We value our team as one of our best assets and we’re pleased that you agree. It is unfortunate to hear about the discomfort you experienced during your stay and it's disappointing to learn that you were told that all of our beds are this way, as they are not. We very recently replaced a number of mattresses in our rooms and will continue to do so as needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Everything you have read so far in the reviews is true! I think Trip Advisor comments on it as the best small hotel in the caribbean - and it probably is! I stayed there for two weeks and could have stayed two years. A beautiful pool and garden area, large, well appointed rooms. Decor and furnishings of a high standard. Staff who couldn't do enough to help. Peaceful and quiet, yet within 2 minutes of the pharmacy, a supermarket and two shopping malls. A short walk from the lovely Reduit Beach and the facilities of the big sister Bay Gardens Resort. Along the way are all the delightful bars and restaurants of Rodney Bay Village. A perfect setting in a perfect location AND excellent value for money! You couldn't ask for more

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We’ll definitely take that title. Thank you for such a glowing review and for choosing to stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Vermont
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed four nights and were very pleased with the hotel. The location was great, though not scenic. We walked to the Bay Gardens Resort for beach access, as well as to the grocery store and restaurants. Our room was spacious, spotless and comfortable - having a mini fridge was perfect as we bought a few snacks and drinks to have in the room. The a/c was OK though we would have also enjoyed a ceiling fan when we had our patio door open. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
And we would definitely love to have you as our guests again. While it’s a lovely stroll down to the Bay Gardens Beach Resort, we also provide a complementary shuttle service on an hourly basis. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Inn

Address: Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Gardens Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cozy, romantic, 33-room hotel is a tropical paradise that offers all of the pleasures of charming island life. Conveniently located in the island epicenter of Rodney Bay, the Bay Gardens Inn offers spacious modern rooms, each with a private terrace, exquisite Saint Lucian cuisine, and a high standard of service that creates an atmosphere for ultimate relaxation. The Bay Gardens Inn is a paradise for the vacationing family, the ideal spot for a conference retreat, or a romantic escape for couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bay Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Hotel Gros Islet
Bay Gardens Inn St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Gardens Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.