We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRAVO!BRAVO!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of I 2 Balordi - CLOSED

I 2 Balordi
Seagrave Avenue, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newport, Rhode Island, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BRAVO!BRAVO!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Easy,very easy.....
great waterfront location,nice people,simply elegant.......
Italian food as it should be,as an Italian, working and traveling out of Italy this place make me feel like to be home,eating here will make you understand why Italian food is famous around the world!!!
as i am use to say....LIFE IS TO SHORT,NOT TO EAT(REAL) ITALIAN food!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woking
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best in Rodney Bay - a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

A bit difficult to find - go down the road off the main Rodney Bay strip with the taxi booth and the Limes on the corner and onthe left you will see an estate agent set back in a small complex of restaurants & bars. If you look carefully you will see a sign "Italian Restaurant" and you can see it at the end of the walkway.

Well worth the hunt. The atmosphere is great although not too many people have found it yet so it is quite quiet. It is a lovely restaurant open to the waterfront.

They are real italians from Parma with an upmarket menu. They present a little dish of the biggest, juiciest olives and small chunks of aged parmesan. We ordered Parma Ham and Melon, as they didnt have melon they replaced it with more chunks of aged parmesan brought in from Italy.

Our main course were fillet steak with balsamic vinegar sauce - when it arrived it looked like chocolate pudding - but the taste was fantastic. The other main was fish cooked with potatoes and black olives.

It isn't a huge menu but it is cooked with great skill and care. The service is lovely and the owner is very attentive.

The cost has to be one of the best value meals for quality. The meal sizes are as they should be, but people looking for american size portions will not enjoy this - but for quality over quantity it is a winner.

We were it St Lucia for two weeks and went twice. Definitely a must for any visitor.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Real Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This place just opened recently and has a great setting on the water on the marina. The menu is presented by courses just the way they do it in Italy . The food is very good. Staff are very friendly. I would go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Second visit in two months and again excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Rodney Bay has many great restaurants and this one is still finding it's way. BUT, I have had two meals there in the past month and both were great. Hard to find, but easiest way is next to Charthouse and behind pizza pizza. Authentic food (parma region), great waterfront location, interesting owner and chef. Reasonably priced for a nice restaurant. I will definitely go back when I return to St. Lucia later this year.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Dining Expierence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Newly opened in Rodney Bay, St. Lucia. Food was fabulous, superb, friendly service . Great waterfront location. It was so good,my husband insisted we go back for another meal. The best Italian food we've ever had. Good selection from appetizers to dessert. A must if you are visiting the Rodney Bay area.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed I 2 Balordi also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage I 2 Balordi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.