We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Taste

Golden Taste
Dauphin Street, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
758-450-9792
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #23 of 60 restaurants in Gros Islet
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: You have a few incidental mentions of it on the forums
Castries, St. Lucia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great St Lucian food. In the heart of Gros Islet it is so authentic the set up, the local juices, the freshness and everything else.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    13
    16
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SAN FERNAND0
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“After jazz lime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

WE were passing through the area after the show on Sunday night - there were a lot of people liming around - so we parked our vehicle and came out - it was lovely.
the food was great - the staff was so very pleasnt

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved This Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

You can't beat Golden Taste for real local food and folks. It's located on the main drag in Gros Islet, a small neighborhood untouched by the touristy feel of Rodney Bay. The Caribbean fare is excellent and the wait staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The prices are very reasonable....inexpensive if you consider Rodney Bay. We recommend this place highly. Enjoy an authentic St. Lucien meal and locale.
........Sid & Gloria Smith, Boston

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Local Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great find in Grow Islet' this place serves up some great local food and the staff make you feel welcome. The main course plate looks like a sampler platter' loaded with about 5 `sides` which include salad. Good value for money's all local staff and loads of attention. Loving food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A big welcome and bigger plateful !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stumbled across this place one Saturday lunchtime and decided to pop in as the place was buzzing with locals - a sure sign it's going to be good.

We had a plateful of food - chicken, rice, peas, plantain, salad, green banana and noodles. I had the local grapefruit juice which was delicious. The food was lovely, one of the best meals of our holiday and although we were clearly tourists we received a warm welcome.

Go and hunt out this place, you will be in for a treat. This deserves a much higher rating

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Taste also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Golden Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Taste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.