We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Taste

Golden Taste
Dauphin Street, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
758-450-9792
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 72 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: You have a few incidental mentions of it on the forums
Castries, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great St Lucian food. In the heart of Gros Islet it is so authentic the set up, the local juices, the freshness and everything else.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
SAN FERNAND0
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“After jazz lime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

WE were passing through the area after the show on Sunday night - there were a lot of people liming around - so we parked our vehicle and came out - it was lovely.
the food was great - the staff was so very pleasnt

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MICHELLE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved This Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

You can't beat Golden Taste for real local food and folks. It's located on the main drag in Gros Islet, a small neighborhood untouched by the touristy feel of Rodney Bay. The Caribbean fare is excellent and the wait staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The prices are very reasonable....inexpensive if you consider Rodney Bay. We recommend this place highly. Enjoy an authentic St. Lucien meal and locale.
........Sid & Gloria Smith, Boston

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Relentless4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Local Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great find in Grow Islet' this place serves up some great local food and the staff make you feel welcome. The main course plate looks like a sampler platter' loaded with about 5 `sides` which include salad. Good value for money's all local staff and loads of attention. Loving food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikkij N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A big welcome and bigger plateful !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stumbled across this place one Saturday lunchtime and decided to pop in as the place was buzzing with locals - a sure sign it's going to be good.

We had a plateful of food - chicken, rice, peas, plantain, salad, green banana and noodles. I had the local grapefruit juice which was delicious. The food was lovely, one of the best meals of our holiday and although we were clearly tourists we received a warm welcome.

Go and hunt out this place, you will be in for a treat. This deserves a much higher rating

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PandRDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Taste also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Golden Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing