We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terrasse

La Terrasse
P.O. Box RB2657, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
001 (758) 572- 0389
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 60 restaurants in Gros Islet
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Is listed on Trip Advisor for a B&B http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g147344-d1981771-Reviews-La_Terrasse-Gros_Islet_St_Lucia.html
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Having eating in some really great restaurants around the world this place must be up in the top 10. Food and service were fabulous, the whole feel of the small terrace was just relaxed, a little off the beaten track but well worth the trip

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    172
    46
    13
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous little French Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We decided to give La Tressare a try having seen it at #7 on Trip Adviser and what a great decision that was! Friendly welcome great service and fantastic French food. Both onion and pumpkin soups were superb as was the mahi mahi fillet and pork tenderloin we followed up with. Only complain was we were too full to make dessert! Definitely one to try again before we go home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A real find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have been visiting St Lucia for many years and thought we had visited most of the restaurants in Rodney Bay. We were recommended La Terrasse by friends who said we must try it. I have to say I was not disappointed and would rate this as one of the best for their menu choices and ambience.

This restaurant is a little off the main street and is very small but that only adds to the atmosphere. Be sure to book, it is getting very popular!

The menu is pretty varied and caters for all tastes. I could have chosen several of the starters, mains and desserts. The desserts are worth saving yourself for. They are wonderful and unusual in St Lucia. The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious, although we were in on a busy night and the service was quite slow. However, we didn't have to point this out and the owner came out personally to apologise and also gave us complimentary drinks.

Overall this restaurant is well worth a visit. It's not as expensive as some of the others in the area but the food is superb. I hope word doesn't get around too much otherwise we won't get a table the next time we visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Artfully prepared French food with Caribbean twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a gem, owned and run by such a sweet young couple (French-Guatemalan). When I discovered this restaurant, a couple of years ago, I couldn't believe what I had found. The service is 5 star, the ambiance is perfect, and the food is amazing. Try the French onion soup, seafood cassoulet and profiteroles for dessert.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cute little French restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Off the beaten track in Rodney Bay. Good but not overwhelming. Family owned. Do not expect great French breads they don't exist on St Lucia.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrasse also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to La Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terrasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.