We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Of India

Spice Of India
Bay Walk Mall | POB RB2621, Gros Islet 1758, St. Lucia
1 (758) 458-4243
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 69 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Spice of India,currently rated as number one restaurant in St Lucia, is a sophisticated Indian restaurant situated in the heart of Rodney Bay. Owner and Chef Adil has travelled across the Atlantic Ocean creating scintillating dishes to satisfy the palates of eager patrons throughout the Caribbean. Along with his sous chefs, Chef Adil has brought the modern Indian style of cooking based on ancient tandoor techniques to Saint Lucia. Get a feel for India in the uniquely designed restaurant, and succumb to the wiles of fine dining.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Never having tried Indian food before we took a chance and made a reservation here on our first night on the island.

Everything was PERFECT.

The staff is amazing. Truly passionate people who take pride in what they do.

The food - AMAZING. I'm afraid we may never find Indian food as good ever again!

The owner came over and asked how our meal was...great guy, down to earth and has a real passion for what he does.

5 Star establishment all the way -- absolutely nothing bad to say about our experience.

We loved it so much we went back a few days later for lunch which was equally as good.

A must try for all -- even if you have never had Indian food before -- you will be pleasantly surprised.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adilchef, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear LC0613,

Thanks for coming in and trying Indian cuisine and loving it at SOI. This is an amazing cuisine and there is somehting for everyone as it is so diverse.

Thanks for writing this amazing review and we will look forward to seeing you again at the restaurant.

Warm regards,
Chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    846
    127
    37
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

You will not get better anywhere, the food is brilliant superb tastes you would think you were in India the service is very good they will recommend dishes to suit your palate

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adilchef, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks Thailandsteve for your review. I am glad that you said it. Whole idea behind this restaurant is for you to be able to enjoy the authenticity of Indian cuisine like it is done in India.

We appreciate your comments.

Best regards,
Chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitt Meadows, BC
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

One of the best Indian restaurants I have ever eaten at. The samosas were really good with just enough heat to them and served with three types of sauce - mint, tamarind, or mango. The chicken vindaloo was flavorful with tender chunks of chicken and spicy hot - just the way I like it, although you can have it mild or medium heat. We tried the garlic naan as recommended and it was a hit with the kids. The service was top notch, and it's true that the chefs come out and talk to the guests. We met both Adil and Govind who made sure that my husband's mango lassi was made just right after it wasn't to his liking the first time. Great place overall.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adilchef, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for your comments about food ans service at SOI. We are passionate about this restaurant and I am glad that it reflects to our patrons in our food,service and ambiance at SOI.

Warm regards,
Chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cayman islands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food I've had in a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The food was excellent, the service attentive and the overall value excellent. If it had a waterside location it would be heaven.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort-de-France, Martinique
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended to us by the locals.
And it was worth trying.
The manager came to great us. He is a pasionnate and friendly person.
The service was amazing, we did get the needed attention (without feeling oppressed by the waiter presence).
Food was delicious. Tasty and well presented.
Prices are reasonable.
We had awonderful diner.
We are planning to stop by during our next trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Of India also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Castries, Castries Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Spice Of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.