We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“on” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Of India

Spice Of India
Bay Walk Mall | POB RB2621, Gros Islet 1758, St. Lucia
1 (758) 458-4243
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Spice of India,currently rated as number one restaurant in St Lucia, is a sophisticated Indian restaurant situated in the heart of Rodney Bay. Owner and Chef Adil has travelled across the Atlantic Ocean creating scintillating dishes to satisfy the palates of eager patrons throughout the Caribbean. Along with his sous chefs, Chef Adil has brought the modern Indian style of cooking based on ancient tandoor techniques to Saint Lucia. Get a feel for India in the uniquely designed restaurant, and succumb to the wiles of fine dining.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place deserves a full score! It just simply has the best service and food I've ever experienced! The staff was soooo friendly, hospitable and knowledgeable about the food they were serving. We had intimate seating which made the whole thing even better. They have a mint and cucumber water that is just amazing!!! I definitely definitely recommend this place...I had the perfect birthday dinner!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Jasmein,

Thanks for giving us the full scores. The Lime and Cucumber drink is very popular in India. It is a summer drink sold on the streets and is called as Nimbu Pani.

Thanks for letting us celebrate your birthday in style at SOI.

Warm regards,
Chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    698
    99
    28
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Taste of home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited here after seeing the restaurant on our travels to and from our hotel.
Mr Govind Joshi was the perfect host understanding our needs and treating us like guests in his home. The food definitely reminded me if home each dish more enticing than the one before, including the masala chai. We will definitely be back as Mr Joshi and the staff left us with a beautiful memory of our time in St Lucia.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Susankaur,

Many thanks for a great review of your experience here with us.I am glad that we made you feel at home. My country is known for its hospitality and my team does a great job of representing India at SOI. Thanks for acknowledging that.

Best regards,
Chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Absolutely Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

So we walked by this restaurant and were tempted in by the decor and middling prices, along with the recommendations. The decor was even more amazing inside and I have never had such impeccable service. We were treated like royalty-including the head chef (Chef Govind) making personalized recommendations! Everything from the poppadoms, to the drinks, through desert was just exquisite flavors-and although I choose dishes I'd had many times before-each dish was better. We will definitely be back many times! I was also very happy with the size of portions!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Walnut,

Thanks for an amazing review of your visit with us at the restaurant.I am pleased to know that we treated you like royalty and you enjoyed all the aspects of SOI.

We cannot wait to see you again.

Best regards,
Chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Visited this restaurant on one of our lasts and wish we had visted sooner. The staff were very attentive and the customer service was excllent, the food was delicious, very different from what we have experienced in UK indian restaurants but a lot more authentic like how traditional indian food should be.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. My aim here has always been to produce and serve the most authentic Indian cuisine like it is done back at home in India. I am pleased to know that you recognized that and left satisfied.

Best regards,
Chef Adil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This restaurant was located in Rodney Bay near our Hotel. We had dinner there one night and ended up going back twice in the same week. Service is excellent unlike many other Caribbean Restaurants. They also have a good lunch special! Go and enjoy! You will not regret it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Nytaz66,

Thanks for visiting us twice during your stay and for the recommendations.

Warm regards,
Chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Of India also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Castries, Castries Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Spice Of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.