We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go hungry.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Of India

Spice Of India
Bay Walk Mall | POB RB2621, Gros Islet 1758, St. Lucia
1 (758) 458-4243
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Spice of India,currently rated as number one restaurant in St Lucia, is a sophisticated Indian restaurant situated in the heart of Rodney Bay. Owner and Chef Adil has travelled across the Atlantic Ocean creating scintillating dishes to satisfy the palates of eager patrons throughout the Caribbean. Along with his sous chefs, Chef Adil has brought the modern Indian style of cooking based on ancient tandoor techniques to Saint Lucia. Get a feel for India in the uniquely designed restaurant, and succumb to the wiles of fine dining.
Truro, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go hungry.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stopped by for the lunch special which changes daily. My wife and each ordered the special which consisted of a nice variety of dishes prepared there. The staff were well informed about the menu and the ingredients used. They blend their own spices to get the flavours they want. We were so full from lunch supper was a no go for us that day. We both really enjoyed the food and owner was around and stopped by to chat. Great spot and worth a stop.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Yep. Please come hungry and let us look after that need for you. Thanks for trying our Lunch Tasting menu. They have become quite popular as they change everyday and our chefs get an opportunity to prepare regional Indian cuisine, not seen in many traditional Indian restaurants.

They also give us an opportunity to introduce Indian cuisine to non Indian foodies who come to our restaurant and has never had this cuisine before.

Thanks for stopping by and we will look forward to seeing you for another lunch or oue entirely different concept of A La Carte dinners.

We appreciate the feedback.

Warm regards,
Chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    723
    105
    28
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very good standard of food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten a lot of currys, this is a great place to get a curry, with exceptional service with staff that really care about their guests. Highly recommended.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Theollie1,

Thanks for appreciating our food and service at SOI and the recommendation.

We will look forward to many more visits from you.

Best regards,
Chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“First class experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Attentive owner and manager. Great wait staff that suggested combinations to suit tastes. Tasty food and lots of it. There's a reason they're number one.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Itravelutour,

Thanks for a first class review of your experience here at SOI. We value your feedback and makes me proud of my team at this restaurant.

Warm regards,
Chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice flavoured food but not awesome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I went along for the ride on this one. I prefer local food and thought I could get a curry at home. However the experience was good. I visited and booked, staff were very good and owner introduced himself. The restaurant was nice and sat outside which enhanced the experience. However food was very tasty but certainly not in the top 10 of curries I have experienced. I was happy with the value for money, service was good but not sure it deserves it's #1 status. Even the wife now agrees that we should stick to local cuisine which is likely to be a better overall experience. There are better local authentic restaurants within a reasonable priced taxi journey

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi Dean,

You went along a ride for this one? You were really forced to do so, it seems. Yet you still seemed to have enjoyed your experience.We look forward to the feedback from our patrons and are always willing to work on the genuine ones. But, if you like Chicken wings and local food, why even bother come to an authentic Indian restaurant? Majority of our comments are about authenticity of Indian cuisine liked at SOI.

If you do not want authentic Indian cuisine, please stick to "authentic local cuisine" restaurants (I have no idea what that means) , within a resonable priced taxi journey.

Thanks for your valuable feedback.

Best regards,
Chef Adil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas, USVI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Do not miss this dining experience in St. Lucia! The food is delicious and the staff is extremely friendly. The owner and his wife personally speak to each customer and genuinely make your dining experience first rate.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mister72, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Shaine,

Many thanks for a great review of your experience here at the restaurant. It was nice to speak to you and your family during your visit.

Best regards,
Chef Adil and Nady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Of India also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Castries, Castries Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Spice Of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.