We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good enough but in transition with new managment.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ti Bananne Caribbean Bistro

Ti Bananne Caribbean Bistro
Rodney Bay Blvd | Coco Palm, Gros Islet W.I., St. Lucia
+(758) 456-2800
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 60 restaurants in Gros Islet
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Winchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not good enough but in transition with new managment.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We ate dinner in the Ti Bananne restaurant at the edge of Coco Palm hotel grounds on the night of our arrival 25 January 2012. We had garlic bread and the Cajun chicken Caesar salad which was perfectly OK; the service being at the pace we expected from previous reports of typical Caribbean lifestyle. The waitress attempted to sell us a trip to the Pitons which we refused; surely not her job.
One attempt to order cappuccino coffees at the restaurant bar once during the first week was unsuccessful and we ended up with black coffees; probably a communication problem.
We ate here again on the first Friday night where they had a barbecue and a steel band playing at a reasonable volume. The prices and choice of food which had been listed visibly on a board outside the restaurant all week included barbecued fish and chicken. It was enjoyable and a good price.
The waitress who brought us our drinks , yes the same one as our first night, attempted again to sell us a trip to the Pitons!
The restaurant, the menu and service did not appeal to us during our three week stay or so and we ate at one or other of the many good restaurants in the area.
We were told that Ti Bananne was being wound down prior to a change in management and a week after our arrival it was taken over by the manager of the nearby Chinese restaurant. The board advertising the barbecue was no longer to be seen and the advertising was limited to an A4 sized sheet in the hotel lift/elevator and at the reception desk. These were not good places to be seen easily especially as our room was on the bottom floor and we had no need to use the lift. On our second Friday night we saw a different board listing the prices and food choice for the barbecue positioned facing inwards to the restaurant at its entrance steps. We had planned to enjoy the barbecue again but the band this time was a rock style one. The amplification was so loud it was hurtful and it was almost impossible to order the components that we wanted from the barbecue. Also the order process was disorganised so we left and ate dinner elsewhere.
On our third Friday night there was little change to the second and we decided not to have the barbecue again due to the unbearably loud music.
Of course the restaurant is in transition with the new management and I hope it will become much better than it is now. 14 February 2012.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    5
    10
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newton, MA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great service, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We enjoyed our dinners (fish main courses) and we especialy appreciated the personal service -- they decorated the table with balloons and glitter for my wife's birthday and made it a really nice evening.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant BBQ, lovely lunches- disappointing dinner experience...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed at the Coco Palm for two weeks in October 2011. As Ti Bananne is located in the grounds of the Coco Palm, we went to the restaurant a few times during our stay. The food at lunch was delicious; especially the soups, and the local juices were so refreshing. The atmosphere in the restaurant during the day is so relaxing, and the staff are welcoming and knowledgeable.
We ate there in the evening only twice. The first time was on the first night of our stay and we were introduced to Madelyn. Although initially helpfully, she proceeded to advise us that it would be best to book private taxis through her, instead of booking excursions through the hotel. (She was offering a private taxi for a few dollars cheaper than the hotel's full day excursion!!) The next time we had dinner at the restaurant was a week later. Madelyn was our waitress again but this time she was standoffish and quite rude (we're guessing as we didn't take up the taxi offer); I don't need a conversation with restaurant staff but I certainly don't expect such a poor attitude either. After she served our dish, she didn't come back to the table- we were not offered desserts, coffee, etc and we had to just get up and pay our bill at the bar ourselves...
The meal was really nice HOWEVER, I ordered a grilled prawn 'main' dish and was served a plate with 5 prawns on it. I prefer smaller portions anyway, but it honestly looked like they had got mixed up with an appetizer-type portion- but since I paid over £20, I was very disappointed. A prawn dish- lacking prawns.

Not to be missed however, is the BBQ! This is served every friday evening and the food is DELICIOUS! You can eat there, or take the food away- definitely recommended!

The staff behind the bar are really great; the lady who managed Ti Bananne was lovely and helpful - and made gorgeous cocktails too!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good choice for Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011 via mobile

If you are not on an all inclusive or B&B this is a good value, good quality place for breakfast.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Local Lucian Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I was staying in the attached hotel, The Coco Palm, and dined here for breakfast. I had the local breakfast of saltfish and eggs, bakes(a fried sweet dough), fresh fruit and cocoa tea(a spiced drink like a cross between chai tea and hot chocolate...yum)

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ti Bananne Caribbean Bistro also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Ti Bananne Caribbean Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ti Bananne Caribbean Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.