We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recent very good expereience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Inn & Spa at Rodney Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Village Inn & Spa at Rodney Bay to your Saves list
Village Inn & Spa at Rodney Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Reduit Beach | Rodney Bay Village, Gros Islet 3050, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“recent very good expereience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Having just returned today from a 5 day short break at Hotel Blu, we had a very good experience. The location is good with the Reduit beach 5mns' walk away and Rodney village -10mns' walk- offers 2 decent shopping malls. The facilities at the hotel are excellent: lovely clean 2 levels pool, comfortable room with fridge, airdrer, TV, and safe for valuables. We did not use the spa but the suite looked inviting. The fitness centre had 2 cross trainers but no rower.The staff are very friendly, helpful and personable. As an all inclusive deal, the food could have varied a little more but was good and very well presented. Picnic baskets were available on day trips. Regarding the concern over the noise, it is not an issue. Friday night is a celebration time for the islanders and there is music until late, but the rest of the week is beautifully quiet. To visit the island, we chose Real St Lucia tours which are an excellent company offering a personalised 4-5 hours' tour with all the highlights of this beautiful island, which we would highly recommend. The hotel is happy to book trips if you wish and make suggestions. The short boat trip to Pigeon Island is a must - historical interest and lovely views of Rodney Bay.
As with all reviews, there are as subjective as the reviewers and their expectations. A mixture of guests visited during our stay- from mature couples (like us!) to young ones. I certainly would not be put off by some of the negative comments and would recommend this hotel for good value for money. We would go again!

Room Tip: 1st floor courtyard rooms with balcony offer the best combination
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    47
    21
    19
    8
See reviews for
16
52
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Horrible hotel avoid at all costs. Next to the worlds loudest bar. A party literally in my room. Staff do not care. Go elsewhere. Cancel if you can. A hotel which can not offer hot water and a restful night is not a hotel at all.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Village Inn is now The Blu Hotel, bought by the Harlequin Group earlier this year.
We booked All Inclusive accomodation through Secret Escapes and received excellent value for money.
It was very quiet whilst we were there, but the service and attention we received was fabulous. Very attentive & helpful staff without being intrusive.
Food was fabulous, choice, quality, presentation.
Rooms were generally good, we had a Junior Suite which is a good size but sadly with no outdoor space. Beds & linens etc all very good. Bathrooms are tired and need to be updated and apparently this is in the process of happening.
The pool and loungers were great.
Spa lovely
Bar Great
The hotel arranged a driver to take us to The Pitons, an absolute must do on any trip to St Lucia!!!
All in all a Fabulous relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The Village Inn and Spa became the Blu. The rooms and bar have been redecorated. They look OK and the stay is relatively comfortable. The service for breakfast is terrible. Slow and not reactive. It is a new team but still...
The pool was not so clean when you look closer (steps, drains). Staff was nice but there is still a lot of renovation work needed.

Room Tip: If you smoke, balcony rooms otherwise the second floor rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Definitely recommend this place to anyone that is looking for a welcoming, clean, and local resort. The staff are friendly; the rooms are clean and spacious. When we had arrived, after a long day of traveling, we opened our door to our hotel room to find a bed covered in fresh flowers and a bottle of chilled champagne. i would go again, very nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gergia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

This is an okay place if your on a budget... We had issues with checking in ,rooms a ok a little plain but not bad..The food was good all in all an okay place if your on a budget..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Our group of 8 stayed here for two days after finishing up a Moorings bare boat charter. We had a great time and the staff was so accomodating and friendly. While the rooms are not 5 star and brand new,, they are very clean, tile floors, roomy bathrooms and a great pool area, restaurant and bar...especially the bar lol. Very beach close and lots of parking if you are renting a car.

Room Tip: We had 4 different rooms. The ones on the 2nd floor seemed to be nicer but the ground floor rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Inn & Spa at Rodney Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn & Spa at Rodney Bay

Address: Reduit Beach | Rodney Bay Village, Gros Islet 3050, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Inn & Spa at Rodney Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Formerly The Rainbow Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Village Inn & Spa at Rodney Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn & Spa At Rodney Bay Hotel Gros Islet
Village Inn And Spa At Rodney Bay
Village Hotel Gros Islet
Village Resort Gros Islet
Village Inn Spa St Lucia
Village Inn & Spa At Rodney Bay St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Inn & Spa at Rodney Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.