We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Lucian by Rex Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St. Lucian by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
St. Lucian by Rex Resorts
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rodney Bay, Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tired but friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for a birthday celebration in December - we were upgraded to first floor garden view room which was very nice.The view was beautiful - straight over the bay and the sunsets were amazing every night ! The hotel staff were all very nice - if sometimes a little slow in the restaurant. Cristalle on reception was one of the best we have ever come across - so friendly and helpful !! The room was comfortable and appeared to have been one of the better ones. Several guests had to be moved due to plumbing problems, but overall we were content. We travelled at the beginning of December and the hotel was fairly empty. The evenings were quiet despite some quite good entertainment. We felt that the staff did their best but the hotel definately needed refurbishment ....

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor garden view room and you get a seaview for free !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    498
    249
    132
    99
See reviews for
218
590
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our first time on St Lucia and second visit to a Rex hotel. This is a 3 star hotel and absolutely delivers what it promises. We stayed on an all inclusive package and it was a tremendous 7 day bit of winter sunshine - Rodney Bay is probably the best beach on the island, great buffet style food, all drinks thrown in. The common parts and some things like beach showers need a bit of TLC but that said the rooms are very nice, the towels are fluffy, two clean pools and a great beach with safe bathing.

The only downside is that the beach is rightly public and when the cruise ships are in the boys with the chairs stake out their space very early... but a two minute walk up from the hotel means you are in a nice quiet space.

The hotel is a firm favourite with the Canadian 'snow geese' coming down to escape their severe winter weather - so as long as you can handle boisterous groups of Canadians and a lot of Québécois speaking loud accented French then you should be fine.

The staff are lovely - big thanks to Cherise on the front desk/customer relations side. I managed to rick my back and she was helpful and caring... and constantly asking after my health. The manager AJ (?) was also very accommodating when we found that our travel agent hadn't booked us the room we had been promised.

Overall we'd go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We very much enjoyed our all inclusive holiday at the St.Lucian.

Pro's
Great Food
Great staff
Nice Room, new bathroom and shower.
Decent entertainment on certain nights.
Fantastic Beach, crystal clear water, the best on the island.
Excellent location close to shopping and nightlife.
Free Hobie Cats and a great bay to sail.

Cons,
Due to the recession about half of the rooms have been mothballed and aren't in use. I must say that it's a little strange to be sitting by a pool surrounded by empty rooms and a boarded up restaurant.
The overall state of the common areas needs work, broken shower heads by the beach where you rinse off, dimly lit and dated lobby area, old beach loungers.
If these are the kinds of things that will bother you, don't go. But you'll be missing out on the best spot on the entire Island.
No daytime activities or entertainment, nada, zero!

We did the Grenadines day trip, we'd rather spend our money on excursions than a 5*resort. The snorkeling in the Grenadines was amazing. We booked through Barefoot Holidays prior to arriving in St. Lucia and their rep. met with us at our hotel the day before the excursion for the payment. Great service and it was a trip of a lifetime.

Friday night we walked up Rodney Bay boulevard and caught the 1a bus to Gros Islet for the Jump Up. Had a great time. The bus(mini van) drops you off and picks you up right at the street party. The bus stop is along the main road in front of the Super J market, look for a green bus shelter. No safety concerns at all.

If you enjoy trying different drinks make sure to stop in at Delirious on Rodney Bay blvd. Check out their drink menu at deliriusstlucia.

Would we return to the St.Lucian?
This was our 6th different resort that we've stayed at in St. Lucia. The food and service here were as good as or better than other hotels costing A LOT more money. The beach is the best on the island, so yes, we would return but only after a common area renovation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Rex with 7 other family members and my wife. Emailed Greta in reservations and she was fantastic--looked after all of our requests. Check in was easy.
We were on the second floor--no elevators, but no issues. Resort was very different than the typical all inclusives in a good way--was like being with family. Laid back, genuinely friendly, and truly accommodating.
Never went hungry, but not a 5 star. Never was thirsty, but took a minute or 2 for a drink. Hotel is older, but rooms were clean, beach was incredible, and staff made you feel like you'd been there repeatedly (which most of the guests had been).
Live shows in the lobby--limbo dancers, steel drum band and the like--small, quaint and intimate--much better than the cheesy shows in most resorts.
The Rex isn't for everyone, but if you are looking for 'home away from home', this is the place to go and was very inexpensive for St Lucia--we paid just over $1350 tax in from Toronto.
We will be back--the island is incredible, and the hotel like a home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Rex St Lucian. We like to go away in January to get some sunshine and to swim in nice warm water.
The Rex has seen better days and could do with a bit of TLC. The recession has obviously had a big impact on visitor numbers. Unfortunately they have had to close the third hotel (Papillon) and it would be so nice if they could open it all up again. During our second week they were busy getting one of the unused wings of the Rex hotel ready for new visitors. The hotel was full that week and is full this week and I understand for some weeks to come. I am so pleased for them, as it is such a pity to have to close part of the hotel.
Our room was a twin with two double beds which was great. Plenty of wardrobe space, armchairs, dressing table and chair, bedside table. All very spacious. A balcony to one of the garden areas and a bit of a side sea view. Bathroom with bath and shower, washbasin and toilet. Small but ok. Fridge and coffee maker.
We had a very good chamber maid (Francis) who looked after us very well. Bedclothes were changed frequently and towels daily.
We were on all inclusive and the food was ok - I loved the salads. You could always find something you liked.
I loved the situation of the restaurant right by the water and open to the beach. It was quite heavenly having your meals sitting on the deck with the sound of the waves. The first week was very good, as the hotel was not so full and it was easy to get things like omelettes etc for breakfast. The second week the hotel was full and you had to queue rather more. I don't think they are used to having to deal with so many people. They could do with more staff when they are so busy. But I daresay that if visitor numbers continue to rise, this will be sorted out.
The bar was good. There is also a swim up bar by the big pool which was not used very much.
There are two pools, both only 40" deep - I would prefer them a bit deeper. But a lot of people who were not confident swimmers liked using them. Plenty of sunbeds around the pools and the big pool was never busy. We never sat by the smaller pool so I don't know how busy that was.
We liked sitting in the garden area of what was Papillon - very nice and quiet.
The beach is very good, very clean. Swimming is wonderful. Sea is lovely and warm and if you go down to the end, the waves are very much smaller and it is very easy for getting in and out - you can just walk in. You can also walk in everywhere else, but as it is sandy, the floor might be a bit uneven and a small step for getting in or out. With the waves, it changes a little every day. The water is very clean and I had no trouble with jelly fish or anything else nasty. Swimming really was a pleasure.
The second week there were quite a lot of cruise ships. The beach boys put out chairs and umbrellas on the beach for the people in the morning. They come from 10 - 2 but aren't really any trouble. Where we sat at the top they did not affect us at all and if you wanted to be on the beach away from them, you could just walk down a little. It really wasn't a problem.
The staff were very good - very helpful and nice. I would say the best we have had in the Caribbean. Many people come year after year and I think we shall join them.
We had some minor troubles with the room- a leak from the bath, smoke alarm needed new batteries, air conditioning not working, balcony flooding during heavy rain. Everything except the balcony (we think the gutters needed cleaning) was resolved exceptionally quickly.
Altogether we had a very good holiday and I would recommend the hotel. Please do not expect luxury - it is a 3 star hotel - but it is welcoming, clean, in a super spot and with excellent staff. We hope to be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Spent 1 week at the Rex St-Lucian (Jan 27-Feb 3). This was our 2nd stay at a Rex resort. This is a 3 star resort on a fantastic beach and great location.

THE RESORT:
It is located on Reduit beach in Rodney bay which was fantastic. Plenty of bars/restaurants within walking distance as well as a shopping mall. Hotel is a 3 star as stated above, no more. If you know this going in (as we did) then you should be fine. It does need TLC, it could use a fresh coat of paint (among many other things) to update the look, but overall it was clean. There are 2 pools, one of which has a swim-up bar (bonus!) Some areas are not used at all and are abandoned. There are some areas on the property that have a foul smell. It takes 1 ½ hours to drive from the airport and the comments you see about motion sickness are real. We were a party of 4 and 3 of us were very nauseous on the way there (bought Gravol for the way back). The roads are winding and very hilly.

THE ROOMS:
Our rooms were located in block 2 with a garden view with partial ocean view. Rooms are dated but spacious and clean. Beds are very hard and uncomfortable however. The hotel website lists 110/220 but that is for electric razors only. You will need a converter in order to use your electric items (chargers etc). The hairdryer did not work, I requested a repair 3 times throughout the week which was never done. The other room did not have a hairdryer at all. They seem to only supply the room with 1 small shampoo bottle for the whole week. No replacements were done. There is a small fridge and coffee maker in the rooms. AC worked fine once we called maintenance to have a look as it wasn’t working properly on arrival. The patio doors are very hard to open/close as they are so old. There is no alarm clock in the rooms. We did not have flat screens in our rooms, only old fashion bulky TVs. There was no Wi-Fi in the rooms, only in the lobby area.

THE FOOD/RESTAURANTS:
The food was very good. Not a ton of selection but good food. We liked the fact that there were Indian dishes almost daily which were very good and tasty. There is only 1 main buffet which is used for all 3 meals. Fantastic location as it sits on the beach overlooking the ocean. There is only 1 à la carte restaurant (The Oriental) which was very good. However it is not opened every night and we tried on the 1st day to get a reservation and were told it was fully booked for the week. That should not happen. The restaurant should be opened every night or add staff to it so they can accommodate all their guests.

THE BEACH:
Great beach ! Nice crystal clear water, waves not too big, nice golden sand. Nice long stretch to take walks, no seaweed and no rocks. The beach can get busy when cruise ship people arrive, however if you stay away from the main area and go to the left towards the big pool, they don’t go far down there so it is quieter. The only problem is that there are practically no umbrellas for shade and no palapas. You are not harrassed by vendors or locals selling things other than the sports guys and a polite no thank you does the job.

Overall we had a great holiday. There were just a few things/issues that we felt could have been better or handled better. When you spend money to go on holidays, you don't want to have to deal with issues. The majority of the guests are older/retired so you don’t get the wild drunk crowds which is a bonus. The staff does make the difference. A BIG shoutout to Shanelle, she was simply AMAZING. We encountered many others on staff who were great to us: Dequan, Livester, Lex, Tim and others who unfortunately I forget their names. The vast majority of the staff was always smiling and great, just a few exceptions at reception who were not as friendly (Kendra was nice). If you are looking to be pampered and expect luxury don’t go there. However, if you are travelling on a budget and want a nice location that is just the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our first time in St. Lucia and can't wait to return to the sensational Island. The staff are all polite and accomodating. The accomdation was spacious, clean and comfortable. Superb location. Beautiful beach for walking and swimming. Lots of resturants and shops near by. Handy for catching local buses. We caught buses to see most of the island and get to meet and talk to St. Lucians.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
2.5 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
0.3 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 17 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 stars 1,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal by Rex Resorts
Royal by Rex Resorts
#7 of 17 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#6 of 17 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
1.6 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Lucian by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lucian by Rex Resorts

Address: Rodney Bay, Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Lucian by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fronted by one of the most popular beaches in St Lucia and backed by charismatic Rodney Bay, the St Lucian by rex resorts has an unrivalled location on the Caribbean shore of this beautiful island. By day, the focus is on the stunning sandy beach where the glistening Caribbean waters tempt paddlers, swimmers and sporting enthusiasts from their sun-loungers. Enjoy international cuisine at the Mariners Restaurant which affords spectacular views across the sea. After dinner, experience the unique mix of local and cosmopolitan nightlife at a choice of atmospheric bars in Rodney Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your St. Lucian by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Lucian By Rex Hotel Castries
St Lucian Rex Resorts
Rex St Lucian
St. Lucian By Rex Resorts St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Lucian by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.