We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money in a family atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Gardens Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bay Gardens Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Gardens Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rodney Bay Village, Gros Islet 1892, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% Off + Airport Shuttle
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Gros Islet
Kingstown
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good value for money in a family atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Travelled here in June with a large ( 100 ) and lively group , the Port of Spain Hash House Harriers, so got a good deal by booking in bulk. This is a mainly two story hotel around 30 years old consisting of more than ten buildings painted in yellow and built in a simple Caribbean style. There are several bars and pools , some of them semi - private. We had our own bar and pool with a (huge ) supply of cold beer that was perfectly safe.

Whilst there are no bells and whistles this is a simple and friendly 3 - star hotel, locally owned and with relaxed but efficient staff. Breakfasts are good and the place is popular with French tourists in the 35+ age bracket. Its not beachfront but everything in Rodney Bay is a short walk away and next door is a well stocked pharmacy, an ATM, two malls with everything , and the minibus into Castries stops just outside ( 15 mins. ). Very enjoyable stay, nice people, and would certainly go back - they looked after us well. The owners are St. Lucian , and very proud of it, not an international chain and the hotel seemed very popular locally with quite a few meetings and seminars etc. going on.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pools are quieter. If the hotel is full, try the Bay Gardens Inn next door, rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    180
    63
    15
    9
See reviews for
54
182
30
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I were just looking for a vacation getaway, we decided on st. Lucia. We ended up choosing Bay Gardens Hotel through an online travel agent (travelquestcaribbean). The price was great, food great, service of staff EXCEPTIONAL and rooms very comfortable!!!! It is ideal for couple, family, friends and business! To add icing on top of the cake, any of Bay Gardens properties you stay on, gives you access to all of the facilities on all of their properties. The hotel, is closer to the malls, restaurants, grocery, doctors and pharmacy, all within 3mins walking distance. The resort is about 10-15mins walking from these areas, however ideally located on the beach. The hotel was most ideal for me as I like to shop and eat. The restaurant at the hotel serves really good food at a very good price!!! I would definitely be visiting again as I've never felt more comfortable in any other hotel or resort I've been too!!!! Should be rated a 5 star hotel!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time out to leave this excellent review. Your feedback will be passed on to our team. We’re already looking forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaguanas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel during a six-day visit to St. Lucia.

This Hotel is one of three related properties- the Hotel, the Inn (located next door) and the Resort (a spectacular beachfront resort facility).

Location- The hotel is located just off a main road and it is NOT on the beach or Marina. It is, however, very close to public transport access, two excellent shopping malls, and the Rodney Bay Road, which is lined from beginning to end with lovely and often lively bars, world class restaurants, small but jammin' clubs and other hotels. This road is a great place to bar hop in the evening. The hotel is approx. 15-20 minutes drive from the G.F.L. Charles Airport. The beach is two minutes away from the Hotel by car or approximately 20 minutes walking (the public beach access is almost to the end of the road just before the Beach Resort). The hotel is four minutes drive from the Gros Islet town which hosts the Friday Night Street Party. It is also six minutes drive to Pigeon Island. The Marina, which is about three minutes drive away, is also pleasant and has some nice eateries. There are great restaurants within walking distance (at the Baywalk Mall and environs) and Paintball St. Lucia is nearby as well.

Ambience- Despite being so close to a main road, the road noise form within the hotel is minimal, particularly from the rooms. At the restaurant, which is located just inside the lobby, the noise is a bit higher, but certainly not unbearable. The environment is tropical, with lush gardens occupying almost all open spaces. There are two pools, a very plain rectangle and a nice clover shape. The open areas, restaurant, rooms and lobby are very clean and welcoming.

Food- We only ate at the Spices restaurant, but a sports bar is also available. We also only had breakfast which we took as part of an inclusive package. The breakfast was buffet style with approximately 10 options. Fresh fruits were available everyday as well as standard fare such as scrambled eggs and bacon and toast. Cocoa tea was a nice touch and the omelette station (which is not consistently available) was very good. The price was good.

Service- Exceptional service was standard at the Hotel. Everyone was pleasant and helpful, particularly the morning restaurant staff.

The room- The room we took was 222. It was very clean, and cleaned daily with linens being changed every other day. It was spacious as well. The bathroom was larger than typical express hotels and the bed was huge! The apartment had a nice porch but the view was not too inviting. The AC was good but not terribly powerful, but an en suite fan helped greatly. There is an available safe, ironing board with iron and hair dryer in the room as well as convenient lighting options.

The price- This hotel was in our view one of the most affordable packages we could get.

Sleep Quality- Some minor road noise and a few mosquitos held us back here.

We enjoyed our stay at this Hotel and we have no regrets, but it is important to note that my wife and I did not stay in during the day, nor did we fully partake in the restaurant fare or pool. See other reviews for that. An excellent experience, and my kudos to the operators!

Room Tip: Look for a room away from poolside, as it could become a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

It is difficult to tell if this is an old property as it is fairly well kept. In fact the surrounding area is very clean. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The "dancing waitress" should be voted employee of the year. She is an asset to your property. I would stay there anytime if only for the coconut guy outside the hotel. Thank you! I love the local cuisine for both breakfast and dinner. My only issue is that the AC was a bit too noisy, otherwise I would recommend it for both business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind recommendation. We always wish that our guests inform us of any in-room issues, no matter how small, so that we can fix it to allow for a completely comfortable stay. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hotel was very clean, staff friendly and helpful. Rooms were quite large and very clean.
Balcony was a good size with furniture. Pools are smaller but were never busy so was not a
problem. Shuttle service to the Beach was good. Is about a 10-15 minute walk to beach, which is nice. Hotel is close to restaurants and shopping. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN FERNAND0
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I would recommend this hotel for anyone:- a completely beautiful weekend
the staff was pleasant and very helpful - especially Esther at front desk
the entire hotel was clean
breakfast had a wide variety to items to choose from
the service was great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castries, St. Lucia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had a room near the center courtyard and once Karaoke started we could not even hear the TV in our room. THankfully it ended at 10pm but unless you are going to take part it is quite obnoxious to listen to bad singing in your own room. The large patio door curtains are very lightweight so no sleeping in here... and only lukewarm water in the morning shower.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
It is regrettable to hear that your stay was affected due to noise issues. We try to limit the volume during such events for the comfort of our guests. It is advisable that issues are taken to our Front Desk as they are happening so that we can come up with a solution during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Hotel

Address: Rodney Bay Village, Gros Islet 1892, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#8 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Gardens Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great choice for those seeking a small, intimate and centrally located base - Personalised service will ensure guests capture the unique cultural and tropical flavour of St Lucia. Situated on the south side of Rodney Bay marina and within walking distance of the well known Reduit Beach, nearby shops, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Regatta Hotels and Venere so you can book your Bay Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Castries
Hotel Bay Gardens
Bay Gardens Hotel St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Gardens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.