We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean with friendly staff , good position for both beach and shps” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Gardens Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bay Gardens Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Gardens Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rodney Bay Village, Gros Islet 1892, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 35% + Free Transfers
Ranked #8 of 16 hotels in Gros Islet
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean with friendly staff , good position for both beach and shps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Very helpful staff couldn't do enough for you... The welcome rum punch was fantastic.. Small pool but there was a free shuttle bus to beach... Free wifi.. Literally just a two minute walk away from the shops would recommend...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    175
    63
    15
    9
See reviews for
53
177
29
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nice, clean, and updated hotel with friendly staff. I liked the fact that there was FREE wifi available for all guests; although some the connection does get choppy in certain areas. The hotel pool was descent--if not small. As well, I liked the fact that there was a shuttle available for guests to avail the beach at the Bay Gardens Beach Resort and Spa. The taxi service was great as well and there were friendly taxi drivers. The hotel was near the Rodney Bay shopping centre which was great because one could walk to great restaurants near the area. The only downside is that it's right on a busy road and one does hear cars going by on many occasions. Overall, I had a great stay at Bay Gardens Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We know how important it is to stay connected and that’s why all three of our properties offer free resort-wide wifi. We certainly hope that you filled out our wifi survey to let us know the exact areas where you had the issues so that we can work on improving them. We have a second pool on the property as well, which you might have missed. It is great to see that you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed at the Bay Gardens Hotel. It was always well cleaned. It's very kid friendly, was a bit worried having my 5 yr old daughter on the trip as well. No worries .... Everything is very accessible food outlets, pharmacy, bay walk mall, Rodney mall so much more. Shuttle service to & from the Reduit Beach ( Bay Gardens Resort) is very reliable. Had breakfast at the hotel and it was buffet style and very tasty. Even took a bus right outside the hotel and went Casteries Market for great deals on souvenirs. This was my 1st time in St Lucia but definitely won't be my last. Looking forward to returning to Bay gardens .......y'all r great !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We gladly welcome and accommodate the whole family, so definitely no worries there. We look forward to welcoming both of you back to St. Lucia and our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petionville, Haiti
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I actually stayed at Bay Gardens Hotel in May 2011 and not May 2012.
The 2 main assets of this hotel are its location and its friendly staff.
The staff is really cool. People at front desk were always smiling and willing to crack a joke.
The hotel is located pretty close to a mall (3-minute walk) and lots of restaurants and clubs (Tequilla Joe's, The Edge, Charthouse, etc.). The beach itself is farther. However, I believe you can have a shuttle from their sister hotel (Bay Garden's Resort).
My hotel room was a decent size, well furnished and clean. I had some problem with hot water the first day but the problem was quickly resolved when I called.
The premises are nice with a typical colorful caribbean architecture.
I wish the swimming pool was deeper. You could barely swim as it probably less than 4 feet deep.
Choice for breakfast is standard to what you'll find in most hotels with a lot of fruit available.
On one evening they threw a party, the hotel manager was the master of ceremony and everybody went really wild.
The hotel also arranged for a taxi to pick me up and drive me back to the airport....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to leave this review. It’s great to see that you were able to recall so much after such a long time. We certainly hope that you will join us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a great vacation while staying at Bay Gardens Hotel. Room was always cleaned very well.Hot water got cold a few times, no big deal. Over all, a very good stay. There was a small brown cat with white feet that was so sweet. We loved that he was there.Hope the hotel keeps him around for you to enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you reported your water temperature issue during your stay so that we could have solved it during that time. It is good to see, however, that it didn’t put a damper on your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Bay Gardens Hotel in Rodney Bay, St Lucia for two weeks in March 2013. We really enjoyed our stay and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We booked an Executive Junior Suite, however when we arrived, the room we were allocated did not have all the facilities we had expected. We spoke to reception staff who were very helpful and told us we could move to a larger suite, which had all the advertised facilities, in two days when it became available. It would therefore appear that the rooms within each category are not necessarily all the same size so what you get might vary from advertised photos and descriptions. Our new room was much better and we appreciated the move. It had recently been refurbished and contained:- a very comfortable six feet wide bed, a desk & chair, flat screen TV, sofa, small table with two chairs and a kitchenette which contained a small under counter fridge with ice box, microwave, kettle, toaster, coffee maker, crockery, glassware and cutlery for 2 or 3 people. We were self catering and we took the following items which were not provided - a vegetable peeler, can/bottle opener, a small chopping board, tea towel and dish cloth, salt & pepper sachets and a small bowl. Tea and coffee were replenished each day. There was a safe in the wardrobe which was available for hire for a refundable 20 US$ deposit. The bedroom walls were painted cream and were fresh and clean. The room was cleaned daily to a high standard and the soft, white fluffy towels were changed every day. The bathroom had a walk in shower and had a wall mounted hair dryer. Shower gel and shampoo were provided in wall mounted dispensers. The bedroom was air conditioned which we found to be essential and very effective and we had a veranda facing out onto the small, curved swimming pool. There was also a small rectangular swimming pool behind some of the accommodation blocks. Both pools were accessed by steps with a handrail at one side and a ladder at the other. There were a small number of sun loungers around both pools which were seldom all used. Clean pool towels were provided free of charge every day by the room maid. Entertainment was very low key at the hotel. There was a manager’s cocktail party each Thursday evening from 6.30-7.30pm which provided complimentary rum punch and fruit punch, followed by a special buffet dinner for those who wished to eat in the hotel restaurant. A band played until around 9.30-10pm. A karaoke evening was held each Tuesday between 7pm and 10pm. Outside these times the hotel was very quiet and peaceful. Complimentary wifi was provided in rooms and public areas and this was fast and much appreciated. The hotel shuttle bus went to and from the Bay Gardens Beach Resort hourly where guests of the Bay Gardens Hotel and Inn had access to their gym, large swimming pool, hot tub and sun loungers on both the beach and the poolside. There was a restaurant in the hotel open for breakfast, lunch and dinner but we mainly self catered and found the SuperJ supermarket which was only a two minute walk from the hotel supplied all our needs. There was a library/book exchange in the neighbouring Bay Gardens Inn. There is a taxi rank immediately outside the hotel and the local buses stop on the road just a hundred yards away. We used the local bus service to visit Pigeon Island and found it to be economical and efficient. There is a car hire desk within the hotel if you want to arrange your own transport. We used Real St Lucia Tours to take us on a private tour of the west side of the island including stopping at a roadside banana plantation, a small waterfall, mud baths, hot springs, drive in volcano, Pitons and snorkelling. Our guide was very knowledgeable and we would not have seen many of the attractions without his help. The same company, trading as St Lucia Airport Shuttle, provided our transfers to and from the airport, which we found to be economical, reliable and comfortable. The weather was around 30 degrees and sunny with some cloud although we were unlucky to have heavy rain during the night before our departure and on our last day. We joined the hotel loyalty scheme which offers various benefits for return customers depending on the length of stay. We had an excellent holiday and will definitely return. I would be happy to respond to any specific questions regarding this review.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great value for your money! The location is ideal, perfectly located in the heart of Rodney Bay walking distance from the malls and immediate shopping/dining areas. Easy access to public transport however, they also have an in-house taxi rental which is quite convenient as well.

You're allowed to use the beach facilites at the Bay Gardens Resort which is walking distance if you're up to it or you can use the shuttle service. There are 2 pools on the facility the only thing I wished would've been that the pool was heated since (being from Trinidad) I found the water at the beach in St. Lucia much colder than ours and the pool was just way to cold for me personally to enjoy. Also, their was a children's pool

The staff was very helpful & friendly. Rooms were very clean. We stayed in the Superior room and it was everything they described it to be... a view of the pool, garden... a/c, tea/coffee, hair dryer.... it included everything they advertised!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We truly do try to ensure that we offer great value and that we accurately represent ourselves too. It’s great to see that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope that you will join us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Hotel

Address: Rodney Bay Village, Gros Islet 1892, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#8 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Gardens Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great choice for those seeking a small, intimate and centrally located base - Personalised service will ensure guests capture the unique cultural and tropical flavour of St Lucia. Situated on the south side of Rodney Bay marina and within walking distance of the well known Reduit Beach, nearby shops, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bay Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Castries
Hotel Bay Gardens
Bay Gardens Hotel St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Gardens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.