We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“colourful in Caribbean style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Gardens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Gardens Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Gardens Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rodney Bay Village, Gros Islet 1892, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Savings - 43%
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
112 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“colourful in Caribbean style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Attending a four day conference, I stayed for five nights at the Bay Gardens Hotel. Since I wasn't relaxing on holiday, the distance to the beach (around 20 minutes by foot) and the lack of a large pool didn't bother me. In fact I thought the hotel is well located, close to stores and a range of restaurants. During the conference we ate many meals at the hotel and the food provided was excellent. On the last evening of my stay there was a rum party with musical entertainment introduced by the manager, who also introduced all the guests and gave us each a big hug! It is worth noting that the rooms are well equipped with comfortable bed, working table, coffee machine, etc. Finally, in addition to the friendly manager, most of the staff were helpful and smiling. In short, I appreciated the colourful style of the Bay Gardens, which I can recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for leaving this review and personal recommendation. We run an hourly shuttle service between the Bay Gardens Beach Resort and the Bay Gardens Hotel, this would have eliminated the walking you did during your stay.
We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    276
    87
    18
    11
See reviews for
85
270
44
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many many times and continue to go back. The staff are so helpful and friendly, they do everything they can to make your stay as good as it possibly can be.
The manager. Miss Patrick, Is lovely, She is so good at her job the hotel runs like clockwork..
We feel like family and are treated as such. Emilie also goes out of her way to make sure you have everything you need in your room, Going out of her way to make you comfortable. The courtesy bus to the beach resort makes it easy to have a day at the partner hotel, Bay Gardens Beach Resort, which is right on the beach...
All in all, A fantastic place to stay. We shall continue to go there and would recommend it to everyone.
Thank you Miss Patrick, see you in November. :-)

Room Tip: All rooms are good as far as we have experienced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
And we look forward to seeing you again in November too! You are part of our family, so it’s our pleasure to ensure that everything is just as you need it when you stay with us. Thank you for another great recommendation; we truly appreciate it.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My first trip to Saint Lucia was for a business trip and I cannot complain about the great hotel that was suggested to us. The location is great: just 10 min walk from the beach, super close to a mall and several delicious restaurants and to a supermarket. The staff was super friendly and always willing to help. Not to mention you get a lot for the price we got. I was given a suite with a fully equipped kitchen (even though I didn't use it), a nice living and dining room and a nice king size bed. Breakfast was included and the pools were very inviting (even though I could not indulge in those). Just some suggestions: the air conditioning need better maintenance and cleaning and the refrigerator (one of the only equipments in the kitchen I used) was not working very well. But nothing that could ruin the trip at all! Strongly recommend it! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We’re very thankful for your recommendation and delighted that you enjoyed your stay (even though it was mainly business). We have noted your recommendations and will certainly continue to ensure that our rooms and their amenities do not fall below our standards.
We hope that you will choose to stay with us when vacation time comes around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good value hotel, roughly 3 stars in UK level. We were upgraded to a Croton Suite (Bedroom and Bathroom, large kitchen/diner and sitting room with small patio), which was very spacious and well equipped (save for a puzzling absence of forks from the kitchen…). The rooms were clean and well decorated, though some fittings were a little tired and in need of attention (silly things like cupboard doors not aligned, remote controls on TVs and AirCon not working). Two nice pools (rather shallow) and beautifully maintained gardens. Hotel seemed very quiet during the week, but quite busy at weekends when there were several weddings taking place. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Part of a group with the Bay Gardens Beach Resort, whose facilities you can use (apart from, for some reason, the pool), with a half-hourly shuttle bus between them. Many restaurants within 5 or 10 minute walk, and two supermarkets and a shopping mall just 5 minutes walk away, so room-only was a good deal.

Room Tip: Croton Suites roomy, and away from the bar or pools, so very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Our location is indeed a great asset. Thank you for your feedback, we are certainly looking into sorting out all of the small issues you mentioned here.
One minor correction, the shuttle between properties runs on an hourly basis, not every half hour. In addition to the room only rates, we’ve also got great breakfast and all inclusive options available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed at bay gardens for 3 weeks,the suite was large and offered a full kitchen which was what we were looking for,only problem was not much to cook with,made a few request at the front desk for missing Items,after 3 day,s of not getting them we went out spent 300.00 ecs to get what we required,because of medical restrictions we ate in most of the time.Staff were alway,s friendly and helpful the grounds were well kept .we have stayed in St Lucia for 17 years First time stay at Bay Gardens.undecided about returning .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We truly appreciate your recommendation and we’re glad that your stay was a very good one. It really is an added bonus to have the ability to use the lovely facilities over at the Bay Gardens Beach Resort.
You’re always welcome back to get some more of that spice rum!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

....We booked 12 days at Bay Gardens HOTEL for my friend's wedding. The Bridal party were all staying at the resort but we found that a little too pricey for our budget, so we choose the next one down so this allowed us to use the sister hotel's facilities. The hotels are nicely situated along the Rodney bay strip. An hourly shuttle bus is provided to transport you inbetween the resort, hotel and inn, but walking is still an option as its a 10-15 mins stroll between the resort and hotel which still isn't that bad.

Our room was cute and well equipt with the basics we were provided with

● iron and board's
● small fridge with ice compartment
● kettle and tea and coffee facilities
● hair dryer
● safe
● very large bed
● loads of towels which were changed daily and included towels for the beach

I bought my own beach towel hair dryer and travel iron which really wasnt needed i could have utilised my weight allowance better by bring back some more bottles of spice rum!!!

The hotel is close to all the restaurants, bars and shops.

You are also very close to the local bus stop should you choose to take a bus in to castries or gros ilet which is not far at all.

All the staff were very friendly and plesasent, in fact we have found that most of the people in the island were this way.

We also loved the fact that wifi was everywhere in the hotel and FREE!

I would highly recommend this hotel and definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 225 was nicely situated on the 1st floor overlooking 1 of 2 pools. We were very close to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We truly appreciate your recommendation and we’re glad that your stay was a very good one. It really is an added bonus to have the ability to use the lovely facilities over at the Bay Gardens Beach Resort.
You’re always welcome back to get some more of that spice rum!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castries, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Bay Gardens Hotel is perfect location for shopping, restaurants, clubs & even the beach. I have stayed here a few times with friends, to experience the night life by the strip. Rodney Bay is far from my usually residence so in order to make a night of it, we usually book a hotel to have as a base rather than worrying about getting home after a night of fun. The island has one cinema to date so this is also close to the area. The hotel is minutes away from Baywalk Shopping Mall, and the supermarket is close too. The hotel has a nice size pool, offers table tennis, a bar, & the food is buffet style. The rooms were cool as had AC, clean and roomy. Minutes away from Reduit Beach, which offers water sports like the jetskies. An all rounder if you want a bit of everything to conclude your visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baygardensresorts, Manager at Bay Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
We’re always happy to have our St. Lucian friends over as our guests. Thank you for continuing to spend your special weekends with us and we’re happy that we have been able to make it enjoyable for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.6 mi away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#12 of 17 in Gros Islet
3.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ginger Lily Hotel
The Ginger Lily Hotel
#9 of 17 in Gros Islet
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 17 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 stars 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#6 of 17 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 stars 1,210 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Gardens Inn
Bay Gardens Inn
#3 of 17 in Gros Islet
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
2.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Hotel

Address: Rodney Bay Village, Gros Islet 1892, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#8 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great choice for those seeking a small, intimate and centrally located base - Personalised service will ensure guests capture the unique cultural and tropical flavour of St Lucia. Situated on the south side of Rodney Bay marina and within walking distance of the well known Reduit Beach, nearby shops, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Castries
Hotel Bay Gardens
Bay Gardens Hotel St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Gardens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.