We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream honeymoon - pure paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Winds Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added East Winds Inn to your Saves list
East Winds Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   La Brellotte Bay | Box 1477, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dream honeymoon - pure paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Wow! Don't know where to start. We had an amazing honeymoon at East Winds Inn. The service was fantastic and the staff were really friendly (we are in touch with the lovely bar staff, Titus and Hanna who really looked after us). The food was fantastic - loved the BBQ's especially the lobster! Champagne every evening before dinner was a lovely touch. Great wine with our lunch and dinner and a great selection of cocktails. Our honeymoon was everything we had ever wished and dreamed for. We hope to go back one day!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
ROMANTIC REVIEW RECOGNIZED AND APPRECIATED

Whenever we hear that a guest couple’s dream has come true – particularly a honeymoon dream in paradise – we are most ecstatic. Thank you so much for sharing your views as well as your excellent photographs taken while celebrating at East Winds Inn. It would appear that you had a wonderful time, and we do look forward to having you back with us as soon as you are able.

The conviction in your comments should give further confidence to those considering a wedding or honeymoon at East Winds Inn, where we do not provide a “canned” wedding or honeymoon program, but rather allow the special couples to do as they wish with the guidance of our experienced and friendly staff. Regardless of the format, there is always magic in the air at East Winds Inn when we have couples starting their new lives together. Your thoughtful review has clearly proven that point.

We wish you every happiness in your married life.

Warm regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    45
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
96
382
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevemoaks
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

We have just returned our 9th visit to Eastwinds. The minute you arive at Eastwinds, hot and tired from an international flight and a long taxi journey across the beautiful Island of St Lucia, it is just like arriving home. With the first rum punch and the welcome from the wonderful reception staff, you can relax and chill and your holiday has begun.. Eastwinds is an amazing place-you can do as much as you like-or nothing at all, if that is what you want. The staff are the biggest asset of the hotel-most of the staff, from security, bar staff, housekeepers, gardeners, restaurant and kitchen staff have been at Eastwinds for a long time and make the place what it is. They are friendly, great fun and professional. After a hard day on the beautiful beach, perhaps sailing a hobie cat with Jonny, chatting with other guests, and sipping a few Pitons and watching the sunset, it is a pleasure to dress for a spectacular dinner, accompanied by Dien playing relaxing music on the piano or perhaps listening to some soft jazz music .. A fantastic, magical place--thank you Eastwinds, Gareth and all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2010
MAGICAL THANK YOU NINE TIMES OVER

What an exhilarating review to receive from such satisfied guests who stayed at East Winds Inn for their ninth holiday, stating that it just gets better and better. You can imagine our contentment in knowing that the efforts of all the Staff at East Winds have paid dividends toward your enjoyment, as so eloquently expressed in your glowing comments. Most surely, repeat visitations from discriminating guests are one of the best endorsements for would-be travelers seeking a unique and exclusive holiday experience. In that regard, reviews like yours, can not get a whole lot better.

Thank you ever so much for your support and public endorsement of East Winds Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back for visit number 10!

Warm regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Although my wife and I have visited East Winds 3 times before, during the last 5 years, this was the first time we have stayed for 3 whole weeks.

Often, when taking a vacation elsewhere, we have been looking forward to going home whilst still midway through the second week. With a holiday at East Winds however, it seems so much like home. Nowhere else has equalled this hotel for ease of chilling out within a few minutes of arrival..

Unusually, our flight from Gatwick called into Barbados, before hopping over to St. Lucia, which put about an hour on the overall journey time. The helicopter transfer however is well worth the extra cost and reduces significantly the time to travel from the International Airport to the hotel.. Carrying shorts and sandals in hand luggage facilitates a rapid visit to the bar on arrival. (this is immediately after the first rum punch and refreshing hot towel in reception and conducted tour of the room).

What's left to be said about the hotel......Nothing that doesn't include all the most appropriate superlatives applied to the whole experience. The staff, (from Gareth the General Manager right through the Reception staff, Restaurant , Bar and Housekeepers), the rooms, the gardens, the food, the wine, the Pianist, the Steel Band, the Jazz Saxophonist, the local Folk Group, the Hobie Cats, the kayaks and of course the other guests we met, (some of whom were into double figures for return visits)...All of this excellence in every department combines to make for a memorable stay.

Over the 4 visits we have now made, some things have been updated....new bedroom furniture and mattresses, plasma TVs in the De luxe rooms, the Fitness Trail,as examples... but the overall character and atmosphere of the Hotel (is that what's called the ambience?) remains unchanged.

During our stay, we met fellow guests from The UK the US and Switzerland, including Honeymooners, Retirees like ourselves and younger couples , some with small families. All seemed to enjoy their visit.

Other hotels may claim to be "Exclusive"..... Only East Winds Inn is!

Our only decision now is how soon will it be before we return for visit number 5

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
THANK YOU FOR THE EXCEPTIONAL REVIEW

From your wonderful comments and observations, it is clear that you are no stranger to East Winds Inn. Following a three week stay at the resort, your review carries with it a great deal of authenticity and credibility, which is further bolstered by the fact this was your fourth visit to East Winds Inn. Confirmation that you are already considering your fifth visit is the most gratifying reinforcement we could ask for, and all our staff thank you for that. We look forward to welcoming you back to the small resort with a big heart. Your presence amongst our East Winds family is always welcome and enjoyed, and your support greatly appreciated.

Warm regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

My wife and I were only at East Winds for a week and loved it so much we wish we had stayed longer. We are pretty seasoned travellers to resorts in the caribbean and have been to some great resorts, East Winds is well up there with the best.
We had a great cottage near to reception which was very well presented and had plenty of storage space, large TV, good sized bathroom, huge comfy bed and finally a good sized terrace with coffee making facilities and regularly refilled free mini bar.
From Gareth the resort manager all the way down to the gardeners we can honestly say we have never encountered such wonderful friendly staff.
The food was wonderful and the service amazing, even the wine glasses were filled immediately without asking. We both really enjoyed the entertainment which was very good and laid back without the normal caribbean diet of loud reggae.
The beach, whilst being far short of many beaches we have visited in the caribbean,was still beautifully peaceful and perfectly adequate for a good tranquil time relaxing with plenty of watersports for the more energetic.
This is a nice peaceful resort with very little noise and even the few children that were there were impeccably behaved.Whilst we were there 95% of the guests retired to their rooms straight after dinner and so both lounges were very quiet,although we did meet a lovely couple from Weymouth (Steve and Carol) who were great fun and kept us up late for a few nights.
All in all a great chilled week and i cannot see any reason we will not return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2010
HONEST AND POSITIVE REVIEW MOST APPRECIATED

Thank you for taking the time to post such a thoughtful and honest review of your recent visit to East Winds Inn. Receiving accolades from experienced travelers is of particular relevance to those considering where to stay on their holiday, and your expressed total satisfaction of your time at East Winds Inn is very encouraging for all of us. We are also pleased to see that you will be returning one day - that is the best testament of all! We do look forward to welcoming you back soon – as we do for more than 50% of our guests over the years.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fillongley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

We have just had the most relaxing week at the East Winds Inn, St Lucia. Our teenage daughters loved the accomodation , the friendly staff and the facilities. We managed quite alot of sailing although the winds were light and I used the fitness track regularly. We all enjoyed the kayaking, snorkeling and pedalo battles.The best thing ,however, was the total relaxation of the lovely beach and gardens, fabulous yoga teaching and too much excellent food- and drink. We rarely return to any holiday destination but almost certainly will visit the East Winds again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2010
ENCOURAGING REMARKS MOST WELCOMED

Thank you for sharing your holiday experiences and all the activities which you took part in whilst visiting East Winds Inn. It is clear you had a great deal to do while you and your teenage daughters were our guests, and as you so eloquently put it, the best part was the relaxation on the beach and the excellent food. We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves, and as so many of our guests do, you have vowed to return. Hopefully, it will be some time soon.

Warm regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

This was the second time we'd had the pleasure of staying at East Winds, albeit the first time we'd visited as a family with 2 children aged 5 and 8.

The welcome we received from the ladies in the office upon arrival kicked off the first class service we enjoyed throughout our two week stay. We were shown to our very comfortable deluxe cottage in the beautiful tropical gardens and were pleased to note the addition of air conditioning since our last visit. This was extremely welcome as it takes the edge of the heat and humidity one expects in August and meant we all slept very well.

The service from every staff member is outstanding, everyone goes out of their way to ensure you have a perfect holiday and nothing seems to be too much trouble. Whilst in our eyes, it would be unfair to single out any individual for specific praise, our children would like to say a big thank you to Mavis for all her help and attention during our stay.

The food and wine are amazing, there's always an excellent choice available at every meal from hearty breakfasts, through relaxed lunches to 4 course dinners. The pre dinner champagne and Piton or two in a chilled glass are very welcome after a hard day lying on the beach . The restaurant, capable of providing some fine cuisine, also managed cheesy bean pizza and the best grilled chicken and chips our children have ever tasted.

The location, an hours drive from the airport, is a perfectly peaceful spot ideal for relaxing. We all enjoyed the beach with it's laid back watersports, half an hours kayaking after lunch makes you feel less guilty about the wonderful food and drink you've consumed. The pool with it's swim up self service bar and afternoon tea at 4 o'clock is also a lovely area in which to spend a few hours.

In summary, this is a perfect hotel to get away from it all, and we can't recommend it highly enough. We look forward to returning for the third time as soon as we can.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
THANK YOU FOR ALL YOUR POSITIVE COMMENTS

Dear Berkshire Family:

Please accept our heartfelt thank you on behalf of all our staff for the kind remarks and positive review of your second visit to East Winds Inn. It most certainly seems as though you had a pleasant two weeks at the resort, and we look forward to welcoming you back as soon as you are able. We are also pleased you appreciated the recently installed air conditioning and found it added to your overall comfort and enjoyment. Your positive holiday experience is our greatest reward.

Warmest regards,

George J. Reti
President,
East Winds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We visited the East Winds Inn, during July 2010.
The journey with the local taxi was long and takes you through 1000 bends and more before arriving at the resort. If you can afford it, take the helicopter.
The staff at EWI were great - top class. Food and drink good quality (not Savoy, but not pub food either) The water activities were sufficient to make the week stay pleasurable.
My only gripe with the owners is: Sort out the aircon in the rooms. Here goes:
When you go to these very warm islands, you expect a very cool room to sometimes escape the intense heat. All the "de luxe" rooms had aircon units, which made cool air BUT the rooms also had large ventilation holes in their design which let all the cold air out. I covered most of them with towels to try and retain the cool air made by the aircon unit. One round hole very high near the ceiling - I could not reach and caused us to be really hot and bothered at night.
If I return, I will arrive with black bin liners and tape to seal off all these air leaks.
I hope the owners install glass in these ventilation holes with perhaps a opening mechanism for the visitors who hate aircon but want fresh air.
I am sure I would not have written this moan had we been in their cooler months, and that is perhaps what stops the owners from doing anything about it!
Lets hope.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
ICY REVIEW NOT TOO COOL

Thank you for taking the time to air your concerns relating to the air conditioning in the Deluxe Room in which you stayed during your somewhat dated visit to East Winds Inn. This was a very unpleasant, and in our view, unfair review for us to receive, particularly in light of the fact that at no time during your stay did you mention to any of our staff that you were having difficulties with the air conditioning, or any other aspect of your stay which would have resulted in such a negative posting. In fact, you go on to say that the Staff were great – top class - yet you rated us poorly for service and the same for cleanliness. Traditionally, we consistently receive top grades for our service and our cleanliness, as borne out by the other nearly 200 reviews on East Winds Inn – respectfully allowing us to be named one of the Top 10 All Inclusive Hotels in the World for three consecutive years by this website. You also state the food and drink were good, and that the watersports activities made the week pleasurable. Please imagine the impact on our staff in all that they have done to make your holiday as enjoyable as it appears to have been based on your comments, and then receive a mediocre rating with no correlation for the service they provided. That is not top class, it is unnecessarily demoralizing.

It is actually a culmination of a number of factors which causes us despair relating to this particular review – the first being that it represents our 200th review which we were awaiting with anticipation to share with our loyal staff who have worked so hard to make East Winds Inn such a memorable holiday experience for all our guests. Given we had not heard anything of the nature you cite in your review, we were totally blind-sided by your comments – especially the title to your posting. Something needs to be very amiss to be referred to as a disaster, and surly if there was a disaster, it would have been reported to someone at the resort. Secondly, shortly after we became the new proprietors of East Winds Inn, we purchased top of the line Lennox air conditioning equipment which was selected not only on its cooling capabilities, but also because it had the lowest noise rating of any equipment possible. Yes, we specifically installed these units to much resistance from many of our existing clientele, who were quite content with the natural sea breezes for cooling their rooms in the evening. The intent was to add a bit of chill to the air if guests so wanted, not to convert the room into the equivalent of a walk-in cooler. As you mention, the rooms have a great deal of volume due to the exceptionally high vaulted ceilings, typically allowing for excellent natural air circulation. There is also a multi-speed ceiling fan, which is much more Caribbean than air conditioning. Finally, this is the first complaint of this nature we have received on the air conditioning at the resort – which is consistently represented as an authentic Caribbean experience – not an urban one. That is why the majority of people go to the Caribbean in the first place – to enjoy what the local people have to offer and experience the manner in which they work, play and live. Still, we do have licensed refrigeration technicians on staff at all times during regular hours, just to ensure that everything is working as it should. From reviewing your comments, it does sound as though the air conditioner was blowing cold air – a far cry from a disaster.

It should also be noted that not only were you in St. Lucia during the hotter summer season, but you unfortunately witnessed one of the few truly hot spells on the island, following a severe drought earlier in the spring. As a result, the surrounding vegetation had lost some of its natural lushness, and did not have the usual cooling elements which the island is so famous for. Already at that time, because of the severe heat, we had implemented a modification of the circular vent near the peak of the high vaulted ceilings, allowing the cooled air to circulate more efficiently within the cottage style rooms.

It is disappointing that you did not enjoy yourself fully as so many of our guests do – over 96% of them – and perhaps returning during a more temperate climate will help you appreciate the beauty and tranquility of the simplicity and authenticity at East Winds Inn. After all, over 50% of our guests do return. Here, you can truly chill out for a while – with or without air conditioning.

Thank you for your interest in East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to East Winds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds Inn

Address: La Brellotte Bay | Box 1477, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Winds Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Winds Inn is a truly authentic Caribbean resort, situated on one of St. Lucia's most picturesque sandy bays. Located between the capitol of Castries and the action of Rodney Bay Marina, the resort offers unparalleled ambiance within its 13 acre botanical gardens and 30 cottage style rooms sprinkled throughout the property. Known for its excellent service, fine cuisine and genuine atmosphere, the resort appeals to those who value understated elegance and simple relaxation. Come experience the way the Caribbean once was - before large hotels and crowded beaches. East Winds Inn is a repeat award winner in many categories - over half our guests become repeat visitors to the small resort with a big heart. We are here for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your East Winds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds Inn St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Winds Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.