We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly worth 5 stars in Trip Advisor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Winds Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added East Winds Inn to your Saves list
East Winds Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   La Brellotte Bay | Box 1477, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
CARRICKFERGUS
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Truly worth 5 stars in Trip Advisor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just returned from St. Lucia after 2 weeks relaxation in EWI. We have stayed in resorts before where 'Trip Advisors' would lash out 5 stars on the resorts, but our own experiences couldn't match such enthusiasm - something was missing ( eg Galley Bay - Antigua). My wife and I were afraid that this might be the case with EWI, but NO. This is a genuine 5 Star experience (not 5 star hotel it has to be said, but that's irrelevant).
Things to do range from Yoga, table tennis, running track at the top of the resort, watersports such as Hobbie cats, canoes, snorkeling (all free), small very clean swimming pool (cleaned every day)with serve yourself swim up bar.

The chalet layout lends itself to the tranquility of the resort (we stayed in No. 12 2 minutes walk to beach / swimming pool) - semi detached with own verandah, fridge outside the room, very clean and tidy room, large comfortable King size bed, large flat screen tv and DVD player (dvds from reception) , more than enough storage space for clothes. The bathroom has a large stand-in shower area with window screens open to the outside- privacy still very good though., twin sinks and all the soap/ shower gel etc you need, powerful hairdrier that can be used in the bedroom. One downside to no.12 was being woken up by mangoes falling off the nearby tree onto the roof - the first time is the worse!!)

The restaurant is located on the beach accessed via the 2 bars. Breakfast (cereals, fresh fruit, breads, toast, cooked food, fruit juices, teas, coffees), Lunches (buffet food, every other day bar-b-que with choice of fish, meats, kebabs or all three) and evening dinner generally 5 course a-la-carte with many choices. Friday night bar-b-que should not be missed. The food isn't totally outstanding, but is very,very good and is well covered from birds/flys. Other resorts let themselves down here. Afternoon tea served at the pool. The drinks in the bars are mostly premium brands.

Plenty of sunbeds either on the beach or at the pool (our choice was the pool) - no need to put towel out to snatch the location (during our stay, one woman from Scotland religiously did this everday ! - NO NEED!!)

Most of the clientele are/were UK with occasional US/Canadians thrown in. A few were returning again, some again and again.

The staff are generally long term employees, and are very experienced. Miriam, Harry, Wendel, Titus, Elie etc mix well with the guests.

One down side while we were there - mossies !! - The weather varied from very hot/ clear days to very wet/cloudy days, and this would bring about the guests generally discussing each and very new bite(s). Every week the resort would 'fog' the area and each room has a large can of spray to use in the room when leaving for dinner.

Finally, there's Gareth the manager. Never been to a resort before where the manager would be as high profile as Gareth (it was as if he was a guest we saw him so much). He would mingle with the guests and converse easily, his general knowledge would put him onto the final of MasterMind.

We've been to Nisbet Plantation in Nevis, and is very similar to EWI. We have always said we would return to there, but now we would also return to EWI, may be not next year but soon, very soon.

Thanks East Winds, thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
A TRULY WORTH READING REVIEW – THANK YOU

This is a very meaningful review, authored by a Senior Contributor to this board, with 25 hotel reviews in 24 different cities around the world. These types of experienced travelers know what to look for, and are not afraid to speak their minds. So in the case of East Winds Inn, the words have been spoken – this little gem is “Truly Worth 5 Stars in Trip Advisor”. What more could we ask for than that? Even more interesting is the early comment where it is stated that the author had stayed in other five star rated facilities, but for some reason, something was missing. With this trepidation, they entered the confines of East Winds Inn – and as they emphatically stated - “NO – this is a five star experience”.

The review then goes on to cite all of the many reasons that these guests were so satisfied, to the point where they are seriously considering alternating their time with their old favourite haunt in Nevis – which we view as worthy competition. Many staff members are singled out, including Miriam, Harry, Wendel, Titus and Elie. And there are 79 others who have remained unnamed, but no less contributed to the memorable experience of these guests. As for the mosquitos, welcome to the tropics. They are sometimes worse than others, and we do our best to keep the numbers down as you point out. It’s a good thing we have some 35 different species of birds on the property to help keep their numbers in check naturally.

Thanks also for mentioning Gareth Leach, our GM with over 21 years under his belt at East Winds in this capacity. His omnipresent presence clearly made an impression on you, and yes, you are correct, he could easily be a finalist in MasterMind. But don’t tell him that, for fear he might choose a new career in television game shows, giving Sean Connery a run for his money. Gareth has a fetish for old westerns as well, but you’ll have to wait until your next visit to ask him about that – very soon we hope. I guarantee his knowledge of this subject matter will not disappoint you either.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    44
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
94
364
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I recently spent the second part of our honeymoon at East Winds in towards the latter part of June 2013.

Before visiting I read some great reviews and was very excited to be staying at such a highly regarded establishment.

I must say the whole stay lived up to my high expectations and I can see why the hotel receives so many repeat customers.

The location is very secluded, with a small and generally quiet and well maintained beach area leading into the Caribbean Sea.

However Rodney Bay, Gros Islet and Castries are only a short taxi ride away.There are also a range of tours to go further afield if you are feeling adventurous.

The rooms are clean and well furnished with decent size bathrooms and great balcony areas (we stayed in one of the sea view rooms), the beds are also very comfortable.

The pool area is clean and tidy and there are always plenty of sun loungers, the swim up help yourself cocktail bar is also fantastic and very well stocked (!)

There is only one restaurant but that is not an issue as the food is exceptional, ample breakfast with cereals, toast, fried breakfast, omelette, pancakes, fruit, yoghurts and most importantly, amazing coffee!

Lunch is a similarly excellent buffet, with the odd BBQ thrown in and in the evenings a 4 course ala carte menu with 4 options for each course.

The quality of the evening meal was fantastic and by far and away the best quality food we have experienced on a break of this type.

There is also a great selection of wines and champagnes and they guys behind the bar (Titus is a legend) will pretty much make you anything you want, including a Hummingbird Cocktail which is a must!

The facilities at East Winds are great and just what you would want from an intimate and relaxing holiday in the Caribbean.

However what makes the stay memorable is this in combination with the staff, they are very genuine without being invasive, they really did strike a great balance between being friendly and attentive and enhanced our already excellent experience.

On the basis of our stay I would strongly recommend this hotel and hope to visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
SURPASSING EXPECTATIONS IS A GOOD THING – THANKS FOR SAYING SO

We have a lot to live up to at East Winds Inn. Winning major awards on this website for six consecutive years has many benefits, but with it come expectations, which on some occasions, are impossible to live up to. Yet you have so kindly pointed out all the reasons why you felt comfortable in stating that your expectations were even exceeded, and we sincerely thank you for that. “Expectation”, when one thinks about it, is a very subjective term. Different people have differing expectations in many areas of their lives, including what a honeymoon should be like or what a really relaxing holiday is all about. You have clearly set out that notwithstanding your “high” expectations for East Winds based on the overall quality of the reviews we are so pleased to be characterized by, including the facilities, the food and the overall setting, you were more than pleased by all.

However, as so many before you, the primary accolades are directed toward the incredible and devoted team at East Winds Inn, more commonly referred to as the staff. These are the people who made your holiday experience what it was – surpassing your expectations. We can’t speak highly enough about all these special people – all 84 of them – who work tirelessly with only one objective in mind, that being to provide each and every guest the best possible holiday experience that they can imagine. So when you say you would strongly recommend this hotel and hope to visit again in the near future, your comments have an authenticity to them, as it is obvious that you took the time to get to know not only the people of St. Lucia, but more specifically, the staff of East Winds Inn. Yes, Titus is a legend – but beneath it all, he is also a wonderful, sensitive fellow, who would love to see you back again. So would all the staff, whose livelihood and happiness depends on exceeding expectations. Nobody can ask for more than that, and if you allow them as you did, they will deliver. Please do come back soon with great expectations - whatever the dickens that means.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Visited the East Winds with my wife last October for my 50th birthday.

We arrived on the back of a tropical storm to a wonderful welcome. Room was clean and very comfortable with a lovely sunken shower.

Food was fantastic and we booked a couple of excursions.

Looking back it was the warmth and enthusiasm of the team at East Winds that made the holiday. We have been lucky and travelled, occasionally staying at 5 star hotels in the USA, Maldives Europe and Southern hemisphere. From the first evening we noticed the difference, somehow East Winds just feels honest and authentic with the staff genuinely interested in their guests.

Highlights included a candle light private meal for my birthday and a fascinating tour of the garden with the head gardener on our last day.

Thank you for making our stay so wonderful

Duncan & Liz

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
THANK YOU FOR THE WONDERFUL REFLECTIONS OF YOUR HOLIDAY AT EAST WINDS INN

We are most appreciative of your kind and thoughtful review of the 50th birthday experience you had at East Winds Inn. The comments you make about the warmth and enthusiasm of the staff, the clean and very comfortable room, the fantastic food and the botanical gardens are so complimentary – thank you for that. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your own private candlelit birthday dinner, as well as your personal guided tour by Sylvanus, our wonderful head gardener. Certainly, the pride of the entire team shone through during your visit.

In the same way you have thanked us for making your stay so wonderful, we too thank you for sharing your experiences so enthusiastically with the travelling public, providing an accurate depiction of what to expect as a guest of East Winds Inn. We hope to welcome you back soon, and given your age, you have a great many more potential visits to the Small Resort with a Big Heart.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felpham
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

In all fairness we did visit East Winds 20 years ago and it was amazing then however we could not believe how the resort had managed to retain its' personality and service over the years. With around just 30 rooms (all appointed to the very highest standards) and the most amazing setting, the staff cannot do more to help and are the friendliest that we have ever come across in our travels. The food is superb with different menus every evening (usually A La Carte). We went with our children this time (9 and 16) and they were made to feel so welcome by all of the staff. Nothing was too much. The weather wasn't as good as it could be (but it was the rainy season!) but this didn't matter. What a superb resort. If anyone grumbles about East Winds, then their issue is not with the resort- they need to look closer to home! I cannot recommend East Winds more highly to anyone. If you are considering the Caribbean and want class with personal service; look no further than East Winds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
THANKS FOR THE UNBELIEVABLE REVIEW AFTER 20 YEARS

Sometimes it is nice to hear what a difference a day makes, and other times, it is just as satisfying to hear that nothing has changed in 20 years. When you are seeking a sanctuary in paradise, the latter is most likely more appropriate and desireable. We thank you for acknowledging our main ambition, that being to keep things more or less as they were 20 years ago, with a touch of modern flair and convenience which does not distract from the authenticity of one of the last remaining, original beachfront resorts in the Caribbean. And to think you found us again, but more importantly, found us to your liking. Thank you for sharing that unique feeling on this board, and acknowledging all the specialness of East Winds Inn once again.

Your heartwarming comments about the dedicated and friendly staff, the well-appointed rooms, the superb food and the amazing setting are truly appreciated. We particularly liked your comment – “If anyone grumbles about East Winds, then their issue is not with the resort- they need to look closer to home! “ That is truly a candid remark that carries with it a great deal of support from so many of our guests.

As you state – “look no further than East Winds Inn” if you want class and personal service. On that vein, we look forward to welcoming you back soon, and for goodness sake, don’t wait 20 more years to do so! Thank you for your ongoing support.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I visited East Winds with my family two years ago. If you are looking for a quiet, authentic resort, that doesn't pretend to be the home away from home that the Americanised 'tower blocks' try to be, then you have found it.

Surrounded by beautifully kept gardens, excellent accommodation in personal 'huts', leading onto the gorgeous beach - East Winds is by far the most relaxed, peaceful, tranquil & beautiful of the resorts I have seen on St. Lucia. This atmosphere is accentuated by the wonderful staff & service.

We took my (then) 96 year old Grandfather, Ralph. The staff couldn't do enough for him or the rest of us. From the restaurant staff (Ellie, Hague & co) to the bar staff (Hannah & Titus) [There are other's I am sure to have forgotten], there is one aim - to please!

Activities - this isn't Sandals, thank heavens! If you want lots of different water sports & activity rooms or organised 'events'; go elsewhere. This is about enjoying a relaxing holiday in idyllic settings. There is a pavilion with Yoga & table tennis, a walk & water activities - two dinghies to sail, plus snorkelling.

Enjoy sitting back in the sun & chilling!

My parents, Gill & Tony loved it so much that they returned this year (Ralph, now 97, in tow) & thoroughly enjoyed a second trip.

Amazing setting on a gorgeous island, surrounded by beautiful plants, birds (don't forget Mac the Macaw), the beach & genuinely lovely staff - I'd be hard pushed to recommend anywhere else for a relaxing piece of paradise.

"No Pressure; No Problem"

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
THANKS FOR THE SUPERB REVIEW

What a wonderful review by a repeat guest accompanied by a 97 year old Grandfather! Seeing that you come from the UK, that means that Ralph spent over 9 hours on an airplane to experience East Winds Inn for the second time in just two years. That is truly a remarkable feat, and we thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your enthusiastic and genuine posting – and we thank Ralph too. What an amazing spirit for a gentleman that age, and to think we have encountered people less than half his years moaning about the length of time it took to get to this little piece of paradise. As they say, perspective and attitude is everything.

We are also appreciative of all the positive comments you have made about the wonderful staff at East Winds, the beautifully kept gardens, the overall relaxed atmosphere, the gorgeous beach and the idyllic settings. The one line which I must repeat – “East Winds is by far the most relaxed, peaceful, tranquil & beautiful of the resorts I have seen on St. Lucia. This atmosphere is accentuated by the wonderful staff & service.” That pretty well says it all, as does your comment – “I'd be hard pushed to recommend anywhere else for a relaxing piece of paradise.”

In closing, we are truly hopeful to see Ralph again, as he is now approaching the record as being one of the best aged guests to ever visit East Winds. While it may shock you, he will need to return as a centurion to claim that honour, and we would be the happiest people on earth to help him and your entire family recognize that accolade. Our advice to make sure it happens, is to bring him every year between now and 100, for each week he spends at East Winds will add another full year to his longevity. At least that is what our other elderly guests tell us. The only way to know for sure, is to try. Thank you for your stellar support of East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed ten days, so this is a pretty in depth review. Look no further East Winds Inn is the best resort on the island for those visiting the Caribbean that actually want to see the Caribbean. Don't bother looking anywhere else. Unlike most hotels, which are designed as white-washed tower blocks in which you could be anywhere and not know; East Winds Inn is set in tropical, botanical gardens spread out through the groove of a natural valley leading on to the beach displaying the beauty of St Lucia. When you first leave the airport and make your way there you will panic. The entrance to the road leading to east winds looks like you're heading down a dangerous alley. But after a minutes drive you head through a more private road, a moment after that you'll find yourself at a security check point and you'll start to see the botanical gardens come into play. The security team runs 24 hours a day, 24/7. They're VERY efficient.

Due to a delayed flight we arrived after midnight, of course the reception was shut but a member of the securities night team showed us too our room. This normally simple trip was like walking through the amazon at night. It was dark save for the decorative lamp posts and the wildlife sounds were incredible, the kind you buy on CD to chill out too. I remember talking to another couple staying at East Winds and they too were unsure if the sound was from the taxi CD player until they got out. When we arrived at the room we found that our presence at dinner had been missed and so the staff had filled our room table with a variety of club sandwiches and fresh fruit. This caring, attentive nature is the very theme of East Winds.

- Service -
East Winds Inn has a number of incredible unique qualities, but none separate it more from its competitors than the most amazing staff you'll ever meet. Each member of the team has a love for East Winds and St Lucia. They come across as a team of people that have found a happiness and want to share it with you. They're excited by everything they have to offer whether it's the incredible food, the water sports, specially made cocktails at the bar or just the view. You won't pass a single member of that team, without a warm greeting or a joke to make you smile.You're not a visitor at East Winds, you're a guest. These guys make it. Breaks my heart to hear people complaining about poor service, I even know who some of them are because I was there and I'm shaking my head at the untruths. You can do two things when you have a problem at East Winds, you can talk to the staff and they'll move heaven and Earth until you're more than satisfied. Or you can just revel in your bad attitude, don't say anything to anyone and whinge about it all over trip adviser. Shame on you if you're the latter, you're hurting a beautiful place and people and giving a false view to other readers looking for a holiday.

- Room -

We booked very late and got the most basic room available. Spotlessly clean, huge, fantastic decor, all windows fitted with bug frames and mosquito nets available upon request. Each room equipped with huge can of super bug spray for crawling and flying (EXTREMELY EFFECTIVE). I used it once, for Ants, outside. Never needed it besides that and even then I was just being thorough. Lovely bathroom and power-shower, great little kitchen with Mini-fridge inc. Water, Sparkling water, coke, sprite, beers and mini freezer. Room cleaned fantastically well every late morning, fridge restocked every day just before. Fresh fruit also provided. Dressing gowns, fresh and folded every morning. Large closet complete with Iron and Ironing board (Dinner is smart dress) and electronic safe. Mirrors everywhere. Curtains, sliding slot windows and lamps. Extremely effective air conditioner, got cold one night after leaving it on believe it or not and that was without the turbo option. Works by remote. There's also a ceiling fan with a gorgeous light capable of dimming, also works by remote. No T.V in the basic room. Trust me, you do not need it. Plus there's a book case and games cupboard in the bamboo lounge near the restaurant. Bamboo lounge is a great place with a bar to unwind between meals if not by the pool (swim-up DIY bar with recipes for cocktail making freshly stocked complete with shaker and measurement thimble!) or on the beach with the beach bar.

- Food -
Breakfast - Fantastic, bacon, sausage, beans any type of egg you want. Fresh pancakes (Try the blueberry), omelettes (try the bacon and onion), fresh fruit, breads, toasts, yogurts, cereals, juices, milk and a new fruit concoction every morning made by Elie. Breakfast is a buffet and there are so so many wonderful choices. (Our breakfast was cold one morning, we let the staff know and they cooked us fresh breakfast and for the rest of our holiday double checked to make sure it was just how we liked it; and it was. Every time.)
Lunch - They do an amazing grill. A specialty over a large fire pit built into a hut. Great to see and great to taste. This MADE the lunch as far as I'm concerned. It smells beautiful. There was a review putting the grill in a bad light. East Winds doesn't serve yesterdays scraps, they might use the steak they have left in the fridge, that's called being resourceful; You'll find signs in your room about East Winds taking care of the environment. But this is top quality stuff please readers don't even read the previous review. Even with the grill on Lunch has a variety of salads, bean salads, meats, fish, soups, vegetables and all sorts, cake and ice cream too. The amount of choice is incredible and there are so many new and native things to try! You MUST, MUST MUST MUST try the BBQ sauce!!!!

Dinner - Dinner is fine dining, four courses each with three options. The food is a testament to incredible skill. Having been a chef in an award winning establishment I tell you now this is the real deal. Gorgeous food, you wouldn't believe how much you can like a food. To previous reviewer, good luck making those entrees at home. However there is a point I'll raise. Sometimes the food can be very much an acquired taste, especially if you're not used to fine dining. There are options like "Squid Ink Risotto". Make no mistake, there will be SOMETHING you can eat from the menu. There was one particular evening when my wife and I were quite tired and we just wanted a good dinner. The menu was a little too adventurous for us. You know when you're just tired and just want something comfortable to eat? It happens. It wasn't a problem, I know if I'd ask the staff for something else they would have provided something else. My advice to fellow travelers, the menu is often available to check a couple of hours before dinner and copies can be often dotted about the beach bar or you can just ask a member of staff to plan ahead. Might be worth doing, give the staff the chance to whip up a fish and chips. East Winds, would be cool if you put a line like "Options available upon request" at the bottom of the menu or something just to make guests more comfortable with asking (if it was already there I didn't spot it). No-one wants to tell an award winning chef they don't quite fancy what he's cooked. Please allow me to stress however dinner at East Winds Inn is out of this world. I just wanted to point out a small snag that can be avoided for a bit of extra comfort.

The evening entertainment is incredible, doesn't matter how good the food is you will put down your cutlery and clap. Great Jazz bands, great saxophone player and a beautiful Steinway piano within the restaurant which is just heartwarming to listen too. The pianist also takes requests!!! He even sang one night! There was also the national St Lucia champions steel pan players at one of the lunches! Absolutely fantastic entertainment, especially at a cocktail party held in the bamboo lounge which had two guys give a cracking performance with a guitar and rain stick.

- Environment -
East Winds Inn is beautiful. It has incredible gardens tended by a man who I think prefers to remains anonymous and continuously just gives the praises to his team. A truly selfless, gifted and warm individual. I however am a git and believe I should name Sylvanus and tell you reader to go and say hello. You'll love his handiwork and his teams. The environment is always clean and well tended (someone on here said the fitness trail was overgrown. Are you sure you weren't walking on the hillside garden tour? It is quite steep ;) We stayed 4th June - 14th June and we used the fitness trail. It was perfect.) The yoga pavilion is readily available, the ping pong table is through the connecting door and the equipment's in the baskets in the corner (took us a while). If you're as bad as us you can get more ping pong balls at reception. If you're as competitive as my wife its also close to the garden walk where you can make up again. The beach is combed regularly. Yep. Combed. I don't know what it's for but it makes it nice. You will get bitten by sand flies, it hurts like hell if you scratch the bites. Go to boots and get the travel med-kit for under a tenner. It has everything you'll need and a spray bottle of bite coolant which works like magic. Buy an extra bottle if you can its not huge but did us the ten days. In terms of mozzie bites (Mosquitoes) get Full Strength Jungle Formula (Green Can, available almost anywhere in the UK not sure about USA) Don't get anything else. The East Winds Boutique offers a formula but if you're British I tell you now to stick with the formula I mentioned. My wife's doctor had a great reason for it that I can't remember but for us it works a lot better, something to do with our diets I think. Two cans did us ten days. Longer if you spread it by rubbing it in. Travel advice, possibly may be advised by travel doctors to get Hep A jab and Hep B. Not a massive necessity but please research and note the difference between the one time Hep A (One year duration) and the booster (20 years) available through a course. Check with doctors. NHS says you don't need it but research contraction and make an informed decision (£60 - private) I didn't get it. Didn't see a need. But always nice to make your own choices.

- Side notes -
Not a place to go on holiday with your mates, it's a bit more intimate than that. There was a family with two small children, but the kids were quite young. Any older or if they stayed for longer they might have gotten a bit stir crazy.

On the whole, it was the honeymoon of a lifetime. The whole place looks beautiful, it's nice and quiet most of the time and the tropical weather is diversely beautiful. The manager also likes to walk around, you'll catch him once or twice as he makes sure you're having the best time possible. Watch the Sea Urchins on the Coral far left of the beach. Take the kayak with your travel partner and take a wander. You won't believe how beautiful this place is. Remember you're not at home, pack some common sense next to your sun lotion and you'll love it. Try not to do too many of the available trips, things are a little more tiring in the heat. But if you do, hit the bar. The pool is quite cool if that's just what you need. We've already started the booking process to come back...

Thank you East Winds. I can't wait to see you all again. Miss it greatly!

Room Tip: It can be tempting to book the larger cabin type places, but the huts are quite nice and very close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
PURE REVIEW BLISS OVER THIS INCREDIBLE HONEYMOON POSTING – THANK YOU

Outstanding, detailed, honest, pure, heartfelt, factual, candid, emotional – and most of all, appreciated – these are only a few of the dozens of adjectives which could be applied to your wonderful review of your honeymoon stay at East Winds Inn. Rarely does a guest go to this effort to re-cap and expound on a holiday experience, regardless of where they have travelled and why. But to provide this level of minutia to all the positive aspects of the East Winds experience is truly exceptional, and we thank you wholeheartedly for that and all the effort you have gone to in order to make your point – “look no further than East Winds Inn”.

We can’t begin to specifically analyze your review and point out the elements of your vacation which you clearly enjoyed, for if we did that, our response would be as voluminous as your unprecedented posting. Rather, we would encourage would-be guests to read and re-read this review as many times as it takes to fully appreciate that virtually every aspect of the resort is so accurately covered. And what makes that particularly gratifying, is that this review contains not a single negative comment about anything or anyone, while at the same time, heaping praises upon all those people and all those things which made this guests’ experience at East Winds Inn so memorable.

Please believe me when I tell you that reviews of this caliber are not commonplace – particularly when they are authored by experienced guests who, as admitted by the writer, was a chef at an awarding winning hotel. “Gorgeous food, you won’t believe how much you can like a food” – how many chefs can say that about the place they are vacationing at? Then, to go to a completely different amenity and single out the head gardener as “a person who prefers to remain anonymous and continuously just gives the praises to his team. A truly selfless, gifted and warm individual….. I believe I should name Sylvanus” – these are the comments and discoveries of a guest who has truly taken the time to immerse himself deep within the East Winds experience. Interestingly, this experience is available for every guest of East Winds, and this is why we have such an incredibly high level of repeat business, which continues to grow year after year. Still, as a reader of this board, you will notice that there are always those few who whiz through life and never notice the smaller details or take the time to get to know the people behind them, expecting by some miracle to be bowled over with a fantastic experience they had no part in making. The writer of this review is the antithesis to the superficial guest, taking the time to breathe in the atmosphere to the extent it was so easy for him to recount it with such accuracy and emotion.

There are not enough thank you’s we can provide to recognize the quality of this review and all of the positive light you have shed on this little gem in the Caribbean, which we discovered so long ago and have tried to nurture to its original authentic state. We know the Caribbean and what it has to offer – there is something for everyone. We also know that East Winds is different, as do so many of our ever-expanding East Winds family, and like the author of this posting, we can appreciate the unique feeling that only a small resort with that personal touch that East winds delivers, is for real. Thankfully, you are already booking to come back and experience it again. We simply can’t wait to see you, and may you enjoy a lifetime of happiness together.

Warm regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigantine, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

After viewing the deceptive website, and reading all the 5 star reviews, I was so excited to visit this resort! That said, we were so disappointed. There are pluses and minuses, but no where near the 5 star review. Plus-Kerwin, Simeon, Miriam, Mavis, Fina and Windell seemed genuinely happy at their jobs, and interested in us. First and second course at dinner was generally good, and pastry chef very good. Most entrees were fair, and somewhat close to what I might make at home, certainly nothing to rave about. Lunches were disappointing, grill everyday if you must, I don't enjoy seeing the previous days food reinvented, but I understand that this may happen, but not at your price point. Offer an up charge for premium liquor, especially vodka, rye. Stating you have an activity pavilion and yoga room is a joke, if you don't really offer anything. 2 yoga classes a week is not an "activity schedule", and your "fitness trail" was overgrown with grass. The rooms were nicely appointed, but, while I can understand insects outside in a tropical climate, I am not a fan of having my bed covered with some sort of insect every day. Instruct cleaning staff to close doors, I don't want to fog my bed before I go to dinner and come back and sleep on it, yuk!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
NO NEED TO BE SORRY FOR AN HONEST REVIEW

Thank you for the comments pertaining to your five day stay at East Winds Inn. It is unfortunate you had a disappointing experience, and like you, we are sorry for that. However, to state that our website is deceptive goes beyond the criteria of a normal review, and we take offence to that. Not one image, photo or video is taken from anywhere else other than on the actual resort, so how this can be deceptive is most difficult to understand. Furthermore, of the 422 reviews on this board to date, 368 or over 87% were of a five star nature, with an additional 36 being four star, bringing the total to 404 strong reviews, or 96% of all those who take time to post their experiences at East Winds. These numbers have earned us major awards on this website for six consecutive years, including best all-inclusive resort in the Caribbean, and our current status as the #4 Top Resort in the entire Caribbean region. Recognizing that all reviews are subjective and you chose to grant us a three star review despite all the things you clearly liked about the resort is your choice, and from this, it is clear we simply can’t please everyone.

Let’s review the positives you have mentioned first. You liked the staff, including Kerwin, Simeon, Miriam, Mavis, Fina and Windell, who seemed genuinely happy at their jobs, and interested in you. The first and second courses at dinner were good, and the pastry chef was excellent. The rooms were nicely appointed. These are all your comments.

What you didn’t like are subjective aspects of your stay, pertaining to the main course of the evening meal and the lunchtime offerings. Interestingly, these are the very same aspects which the majority of our guests are most pleased with. We do offer premium branded liquors and spirits in our all-inclusive offering, and the nature of our clientele – over 50% of whom are return guests and some of whom have visited East Winds over 30 times – are not the type to drink themselves into oblivion at the expense of those who chose not to drink at all. We do have an amazing open air yoga pavilion – one of the nicest in the Caribbean – and there are a combination of professional yoga classes and Pilates a minimum of four times a week. Of course, many of our guests choose to carry out these activities on their own time as well, and the facility is always available for their use. As for the insects, you correctly point out this is the Caribbean, where a great number of the higher quality resorts are not even enclosed. You can only use your imagination as to the types of insects their guests are exposed to. We do provide insect spray for those who are not comfortable with the thought of any insects whatsoever in their rooms, but please recognize this is not a New York hotel area, and insects are bound to get into rooms once in a while. That is the purpose of providing the spray if one wishes to use it. Most people don’t.

In summary, like you, we too are sorry and disappointed. With no mention of any of these perceived shortcomings during your stay, it would be most difficult to please you. While we don’t expect our guests to raise issues in order to maintain a high standard of service and quality, it would be preferred to at least hear something which we might be able to correct before allowing your holiday experience to deteriorate to the point where you feel compelled to give us a dismal three star rating. But then again, some people just stick to themselves and don’t say much about anything until they get behind closed doors or on their anonymous keyboards, and issue deceptive reviews. Fortunately, the vast majority of our guests are not of that nature. Perhaps you will return one day to give us another chance to prove we are worthy of more.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Winds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds Inn

Address: La Brellotte Bay | Box 1477, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Winds Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Winds Inn is a truly authentic Caribbean resort, situated on one of St. Lucia's most picturesque sandy bays. Located between the capitol of Castries and the action of Rodney Bay Marina, the resort offers unparalleled ambiance within its 13 acre botanical gardens and 30 cottage style rooms sprinkled throughout the property. Known for its excellent service, fine cuisine and genuine atmosphere, the resort appeals to those who value understated elegance and simple relaxation. Come experience the way the Caribbean once was - before large hotels and crowded beaches. East Winds Inn is a repeat award winner in many categories - over half our guests become repeat visitors to the small resort with a big heart. We are here for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your East Winds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds Inn St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Winds Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.