We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"ROOM AT THE EXQUISITE EAST WINDS INN".” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Winds Inn

Save Saved
You added East Winds Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Winds Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   La Brellotte Bay | Box 1477, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Gros Islet
USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“"ROOM AT THE EXQUISITE EAST WINDS INN".”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We arrived at East Winds Inn on Christmas Day in the evening & we stayed 10 blissful nights there, departing January 4th . We had been evacuated from another Island because of a sudden fire & were quite literally almost “refugees.” Gareth the GM saved our Christmas & we were most fortunate to find “room at the Inn”. From the moment we stepped onto this property we knew we were somewhere very special & quite unique, it was like stepping into the past. We were greeted with warm smiles, cold towels, rum punches & champagne.

There was a most genuine sense of hospitality & Gareth the GM of over 20 years I believe, was just incredible. We were taken to rooms 24, 25 & 26 on the hillside. Our rooms were beautiful complete with Italian linens, Frette robe. Our cottage was just perfect, we were very happy . Lots of built in closets & ample space for all your belongings . The bathrooms are very well appointed with a sunken indoor /outdoor shower. The “Sea-kelp” bath products were top of the line & a great hair dryer to boot !!!. Our room had a very pretty patio complete with outdoor fridge, complete with tea & coffee making facilities, the fridge was well stocked daily. I just love sparkling water & they happily restocked our fridge daily ! The gardens are very pretty & lush, they are very well maintained & a huge variety of flora & fauna abound.

Everything about this resort is really so elegant & thoughtful. The food.......... Well, it’s just incredible . Gareth even has “real” imported English Stilton , rare delights such as Italian Panettone ...............in the Caribbean .............“yes “really. The daily menu created by Chef Tomislav, was varied, delicious & beautifully paired with a wide selection of wines. Breakfast each morning was made to order by Paula , nothing was too much trouble for Paula & her team: Espresso , Lattes , Cappuccino , pots of steaming English breakfast teas, eggs any way you desire, fresh baked croissants, pancakes & waffles. They even offered daily health drinks for the guests to try with fun names like "kick start"! The fish is delivered fresh off the boat from the beach & the food is quite amazingly all organic & local!

We have travelled extensively in the Caribbean & East Winds Inn is indeed a hidden gem . It is small & intimate yet it has everything you will need & much more. Most of the clientele are return guests & this speaks volumes for the property. With the incredible cuisine we had to do something, so the complimentary classes offered were a Godsend . We took mat Pilates in a beautiful tranquil, almost Balinese inspired open air pavilion, Nikita our beautiful energetic instructor was amazing & made the class so much fun. We also took the excellent “Iyengar” yoga classes which we all enjoyed & we did hike the fitness trail around the property which is great fun & offers just the right degree of a challenge, after all we are on vacation !!!.

On New Year’s Eve the hotel goes all out . They have a stunning fireworks display on the beach which is just quite simply “knockout". It so much fun here on New Year's Eve, it is like one big family party with old friends & new.

Gareth is just an incredible GM, he is so attentive to his guests . He greeted us every day making sure our every need was taken care off. Chef Tomislav & his team constantly asked us if we were happy with our meals. The staff here at East Winds Inn genuinely take a huge pride in their work, they have mostly all been there for years. East Winds Inn is quite simply one of the best properties we have ever had the pleasure of staying at & we have been traveling to the Caribbean for the past twenty plus years.

We can’t wait to return. It is perfection all the way. We had arrived in a somewhat traumatized state but East Winds Inn worked its unique “magic “& we did relax , Christmas was saved .

East Wind Inn is an all inclusive boutique resort, quite simply it is almost impossible to find this high standard of "old world "elegance, hospitality or high standards anywhere in the Caribbean.

Thank you Gareth & East Winds Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 25 . It is on the hillside with beautiful views of the mountains sweeping down to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
EXQUISITE REVIEW MOST GREATLY APPRECIATED

What a heart wrenching story – to learn of the disappointment that the original hotel you chose for your Christmas and New Year celebration was destroyed by fire – only to be replaced by a holiday at a “near impossible” to replicate boutique resort known as East Winds Inn. Interestingly, this is not the first time such a set of similar circumstances have led people to East Winds, and we now have repeat guests who are fondly known as “the refugees.” Such is life at East Winds Inn, which as you point out, involves more repeat guests than not. In fact, once it is discovered, it seems never forgotten, as the ranks of repeat guests swell regularly year by year. And based on your superlative review, this will also include you in the future. Thank you ever so much for this unsolicited commitment.

This review is truly outstanding in every way. We cannot adequately encourage would be guests who have never stayed at East Winds before, to carefully read and absorb all of the wonderful observations contained within this posting to fully appreciate the nature of the resort. Many of the comments help explain our long standing status as one of the Top Hotels in the entire Caribbean for six consecutive years on this website. The detail within this review, from your initial greeting, meeting our GM, Gareth Leach, the description of the rooms and amenities including the Italian linens and Frette pique cotton bath robes, ample storage space and even the quality of our commercial stainless steel hair dryers, shows us that you understand the finer things in life - without the added fuss and unnecessary bling. We particularly liked your line “Everything about this resort is really so elegant & thoughtful” – what more could a hotelier ask for than this kind of recognition – especially from a well-traveled individual who has been to the Caribbean for the past twenty years? True authenticity in every way possible – this is what we strive for.

Given you devote an entire paragraph to the food and beverage found at the Inn, it is clear you also enjoyed that aspect of the holiday. You go on to mention many of our culinary staff by name, including head chef Tomislav Cukman, who was head of his class at London’s well regarded Cordon Blue Culinary Centre and friendly Paula, who has been serving up custom breakfasts at East Winds Inn for nearly 20 years. So too, did you partake in the free Pilates and yoga classes in the lovely, “almost Balinese inspired open air pavilion”, as well as the fitness trail with some 20 different workout stations.

You were also pleased with the New Year’s festivities as well as our very own “knockout” fireworks display, which is historically one of the most elaborate on the entire island of St. Lucia. Again this year, we were fortunate to host the Prime Minister of St. Lucia and his lovely wife for New Year’s Eve celebrations – a true honour for everyone at the resort. As you so eloquently state, “The staff here at East Winds Inn genuinely take a huge pride in their work, they have mostly all been there for years. East Winds Inn is quite simply one of the best properties we have ever had the pleasure of staying at & we have been traveling to the Caribbean for the past twenty plus years.”

Ending by saying - “We can’t wait to return, it is perfection all the way” truly sums up your heartfelt review, and we thank you for all the effort you took in composing it. We are sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back to the “Small Resort with a Big Heart”, and can’t thank you enough for all your kind remarks and positive input relating to East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    44
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
94
363
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I had read the reviews and had high expectations which were met. However the hotel is in a niche market and some may prefer a more glitzy and in your face place to stay especially if you want to wear your bling. Nevertheless the Inn exudes quality and sophistication. We booked directly with Gareth, the manager, by email and this was efficient and completed very quickly. We had already organised flights for a week's stay starting on 1st January. The taxi picked us up at the airport as arranged by the hotel. The 90 minute journey was accompanied by stops and commentary by our driver which added interest. The countryside is green and beautiful - more so than Barbados - but the journey could become tedious for frequent visits. However I understand that the helicopter transfer still involved taxis as either end and your luggage has to be taken by car. For first trips it would be essential to see the island by car. The hotel is down a quiet road and set in tropical gardens. It is very low key but not low quality. We had bungalow 23 which is near the top of the estate. It was still easy enough to return from the beach if you had forgotten something but there are others just as secluded (11 - 20) and closer to the restaurant and swimming pool. The rooms (superior) were large and the beds very comfortable for a good nights sleep. We did not need the air conditioning as the ceiling fans are good and quiet. The showers were more like a wet room and very effective Although comments have been made that it is possible to see the shower from outside, you would need to be a very determined peeping Tom. The wifi seemed to work well in the rooms and outside although you will not get city speeds.
The estate is peaceful and we saw humming birds and hawks as well having a guided tour by the gardener, Sylanus. This takes about 90 minutes and is organised on an ad hoc basis and well worth doing.
The quality of the meals and ambiance in the restaurant was tremendous. It was the best hotel food we have eaten accepting that it would be impossible to have Michelin starred food every day. There was nothing that was not a pleasure to eat although the spinach smoothie served at breakfast one morning may not be to everyones liking. There was a good variety of wine at every meal with quality similar to a selection, for instance, from the Wine Society. The entertainment at dinner (piano and small groups) suited us but you will be disappointed if you want to dance. Most of the other guests were English and many had made multiple visits with their families. It was easy to engage in conversation especially in the bar before dinner. All the staff equally joined in whilst preparing your drinks and the dinner service was cheerful and entertaining. The manager, Gareth, was around a lot of the time and also at the Monday evening drinks party. We did not see the owners, Marilyn and George Reti, and I suspect they were away. Our room was telephoned on the day after arrival to check that everything was alright but it would have been nicer to have someone from the reception to visit. However we had no complaints at all. The beach is quiet and certainly plenty of sunbeds and shade for everyone. There are no motorised sports at the hotel There is snorkling off shore and plenty of fish to see but it is not up to the standard of well recognised reefs. There is sailing on Hobbiecats and we were taught to sail by the watersports staff. Diving and waterskiing is available at the next hotel (Windjammer Landing) along the coast but obviously you have to pay. It is only a 200yd walk along the beach/rocks. We did visit one evening to look around and although it seemed quite crowded there was a good live reggae band there if you want more action.
Our trip was made just after British school term starts. Over the New Year there had been families with teenagers. Whilst the age range of guests during our stay was from a few months to many years, most seemed to be 45 - 65 years old. Youngsters may find they need the activities at Windjammer Landing which is easily accessible.
We made one trip to Castries by taxi during our stay and this is a genuine caribbean town although there is not much there it is worth visiting. We understand that it takes 10 minutes to walk to the main road where buses are available as taxis are expensive. More information about potential trips held at reception would be useful.
In all one of the best holidays we have had and we will look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The centre of the estate is surrounded by foliage yet close to the beach and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
THANK YOU FOR THE BEAUTIFUL REVIEW

This is a very detailed, well authored review which truly captures the essence of East Winds Inn, and we thank you for that. Pointing out that you had read the reviews on this website which resulted in high expectations that were met is truly rewarding for all the staff, as they are constantly under a great deal of pressure given the significant award history of the hotel. Truly appreciated is how you quickly referred to the natural and relaxed style of the place and how the hotel is in a special niche market. As you so eloquently state – “Yes, some may prefer a more glitzy and in your face place to stay especially if you want to wear your bling. Nevertheless the Inn exudes quality and sophistication.” – this is precisely what we are really trying to achieve.

Readers of this post are encouraged to read it carefully, for it is full of detailed observations relating to East Winds Inn and St. Lucia in general. Some of our favourite remarks include – “It is very low key but not low quality…..although comments have been made that it is possible to see the shower from outside, you would need to be a very determined peeping Tom….. The wifi seemed to work well in the rooms and outside…have a guided tour by the gardener, Sylanus…The quality of the meals and ambiance in the restaurant was tremendous. It was the best hotel food we have eaten accepting that it would be impossible to have Michelin starred food every day. There was nothing that was not a pleasure to eat… a good variety of wine at every meal with quality similar to a selection, for instance, from the Wine Society, and …. The beach is quiet and certainly plenty of sunbeds and shade for everyone.” These are all extremely positive comments which are greatly appreciated by all who made your holiday so obviously enjoyable.

Ending your review by stating that this was one of the best holidays you have had and you look forward to returning is most gratifying – we look forward to that. We thank you wholeheartedly for your support of East Winds Inn, and the effort you have put into this truly helpful review.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

East Winds is a definite for your list. Gareth and his staff are the most welcoming and friendly people you could meet. The rooms, location and cuisine were top notch. Lots of activities. I understand that the property may be expanded slightly which would allow the resort to have a trail all the way around for joggers/ walking. Nikita the Pilates instructor was helpful and fun. We had to do something to counteract the great food!

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
FANTASTIC REVIEW GREATLY APPRECIATED

Thank you for posting this concise, yet highly informative review relating to your recent stay at East Winds Inn. We are pleased that you recommend East Winds as “a definite” for a potential traveler’s list, as well as commenting on the friendliness and welcoming nature of the staff and our general manager, Gareth Leach – who has held this position for over 21 years. This is likely one of the main reasons we have been fortunate to be consistent award winners on this website for six consecutive years, most recently as #4 in the TOP HOTEL category and a BEST SERVICE award for the entire Caribbean region. You graciously state that the rooms, location and cuisine were “top notch” and that there are” lots of activities” to keep one occupied.

Summarizing with a “we will definitely be back” is all we could hope for, and confirms that you seem to have found a special place so many of our repeat guests already discovered. Thank you for the kind review and your support of East Winds Inn. See you again soon.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We recently stayed seven days in East Winds Inn, St Lucia. This was our fourth time and it didn't disappoint us although we arrived with high expectations. The accommodation is excellent. The bungalow we stayed in was very comfortable, clean, spacious and very well furnished. The food was good overall but we particularly enjoyed the food at breakfast and lunch times and thought the Caribbean lunch and dinner we had were some of the best meals we had. I think it would be really good to see more of the local cuisine. The staff were excellent as usual, having the right balance between friendliness and professionalism. The weather was unpredictable and we had some heavy showers, which the locals call "liquid sunshine" but had plenty of sun and hot weather in which to enjoy the beautiful beach and all the water sports provided by the hotel. I cannot recommend East Winds Inn high enough. Maybe a fifth time? We travelled with Exsus and Alison Hentley's excellent arrangements certainly contributed to our excellent journey and stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: The Inn has three types of accommodation. We've always stayed in the Superior Rooms and we highl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
THANK YOU FOR THE EXCELLENT REVIEW FROM PARADISE

Arriving for your fourth trip to East Winds Inn with high expectations and not being the least bit disappointed is indeed an accomplishment for everyone – both from the staff’s and your perspective. As we like to say, it is also up to the guests to have a good time on a holiday, and we wish to thank you sincerely for being just that – great guests! You clearly liked your accommodations, and as you point out, you actually prefer the Superior Rooms. Many of our repeat guests do – especially now that the majority have the option of air conditioning. Any hotelier would be delighted to be the recipient of your precise description – “very comfortable, clean, spacious and very well furnished”.

Your positive comments about the food are most interesting, and underscore the dilemma which we are often faced with in terms of cuisine style and service. We are constantly trying to keep on top of guest preferences, as more and more people are self-professed “foodies” and become more opinionated about what they expect. For example, a review of recent postings will yield a wide variety of cuisine favourites, from breakfasts to dinners, from local to international, traditional to edgy, full service to buffet, barbeques to formal and so forth. We are listening, and we will always try to please our guests in whatever format they prefer.

In that regard, many guests will recount stories about how staff members went out of their way to bring something special to the resort which a guest really had their heart set on. Shortly after hurricane Tomas, one of our guests desperately wanted some St. Lucian honey to take home as she did every year, but unfortunately, the hurricane had temporarily blown virtually all of the honey bees off the island. Still, our head of housekeeping for the past 30 years, Merle, knew exactly where to find two large bottles of St. Lucian honey, and personally delivered them to our guest the following day. That is service. So when you say “staff were excellent as usual, having the right balance between friendliness and professionalism” – there is a strong basis for that comment.

Ending your excellent review by stating that you "cannot recommend East Winds highly enough" is gratifying for everyone – especially if you do come back for that fifth time! Thank you ever so much for your stellar support of East Winds Inn, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We only booked our holiday to the East Winds Inn at short notice on personal recommendation and also from reading the reviews on Trip Advisor.

The hotel, accommodation and staff were superb but what we felt was most outstanding was the quality of food and the excellent presentation of it.

The music at lunch and evening dovetailed perfectly with the ambience of our surroundings.

There were showers on the beach but one small criticism is that there were no changing rooms and guests had to use the restrooms for this purpose.

A thoroughly enjoyable experience!

Room Tip: Cottages nearer to the beach provide easy access to the lounge, bar and dining areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
WITHOUT A DOUBT, AN EXCELLENT REVIEW – THANK YOU

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your first, impromptu visit to East Winds Inn, and did not hesitate in sharing your positive experience with fellow travelers. Thank you for saying all the wonderful things which you have – “The hotel, accommodation and staff were superb” and “most outstanding was the quality of food and the excellent presentation of it”. Our chefs will be very happy to read that, as being the young and enthusiastic types that they are, this will encourage them even further to create true masterpieces in the kitchen. Your comments about the musicians, ambience and surroundings were also appreciated – it is these very factors which cause so many of our guests to become repeat visitors.

Perhaps you were not aware of the second set of “beach” washrooms right near the shower by the parrot cages, directly behind the gift shop. These are quite infrequently used and many guests do freshen up or even change here prior to a relaxing lunch on the beach in their own private gazebo.

Thank you for stating that you had a “thoroughly enjoyable experience!”, and that we lived up to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to East Winds Inn - the Small Resort with a Big Heart.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Caribbean is good news in most areas, but the easy-going friendliness of most St Lucians is second to none, and the staff of EWI exceed even that! From reception to the dining room, and from gardeners to porters they are unfailingly cheerful, courteous and efficient which gives the impression they would do anything for you. We were very pleased with the size and facilities of our room, with aircon (rarely used) and fan. EWI is situated in a shallow valley leading down to its beach, and the pairs of cottage-like rooms are scattered within 13-odd acres of beautiful gardens that are a pleasure to stroll throuh. One small tip for anyone suffering a bad leg or back: if you find walking up even a gentle slope is a strain it would be best to ask for a room in the flat lower half of the estate behind the beach. (You'll then have the added bonus of watching the little land crabs scuttling into their burrows!) We only ate out when on a trip. Thoughts that we might sample local restaurants were quickly banished by the excellence and variety of the EWI chefs and the quality of the service, and added to by the two adjacent bars, each very different in style. Because EWI is small in its number of rooms, everything adds up to creating a relaxed and friendly country house atmosphere. Just one or two very small suggestions for what might be called internal marketing. Although in each room there is a good guide to the shrubs and trees in the gardens, it might be useful to have a board outside reception (or outside one of the bars) with prominent, well-designed info about other attractions such as, say, (a) the 35 bird species to be seen in and around, with colour picture of each and months when likely to be seen; (b) info on where to find the start of the fitness trail and what it consists of; and (c) a clear statement about the boating opportunities off the beach and who to approach to take the boat out, or be taken out. etc. I know (b) & (c) are briefly mentioned in the notes about hotel facilities in the rooms, but a more prominent reminder would be helpful. Also, what about offering, once weekly, say, a session for ladies to have their nails done? And massage? The yoga and pilates sessions seem to be appreciated, but there was a feeling they would be better in the early eveinings - say at 5.00 - than in the early morning. But this is no detraction from a great holiday. I've only once previously given a 5 star rating, but have no hesitation in awarding the second!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
THANKS FOR THE GREAT, WELL WRITTEN REVIEW

After re-reading the first sentence of your review three times over, it was obvious this was going to be an interesting and excellent posting – which it certainly turned out to be. Thanks for stating, in essence, that the staff at East Winds Inn are more than just friendly St. Lucians, but downright cheerful, courteous, efficient and the type who will basically do anything they can for you. They will be very pleased to read that, because this is the characteristic they strive for each and every day. Perhaps this is also why we received a Best Service award from this website in 2013 – a wonderful achievement for all 84 people who make East Winds Inn what it is.

We are happy that you “were very pleased with the size and facilities of our room”, and that you found the “beautiful gardens a pleasure to stroll through”. Also, your recognition of the “excellence and variety of the EWI chefs and the quality of the service” allowed you to stay at the resort for all your culinary needs, and you enjoyed the “relaxed and friendly country house atmosphere.” We appreciate your subtle suggestions with respect to identifying the bird life at East Winds, and have actually already started the process of creating a bird watching guide book very similar to the garden guide book which you reference, that is already found in each guestroom. Other points you make with respect to signage and more readily available information will also be taken into consideration. On that note, we do have a relatively extensive in room property guide, including a site map which identifies the areas you mentioned. We are consciously attempting not to clutter the property with too many signs, as this tends to detract from the natural and authentic aspect of the place. As outlined in the room guide book, there are spa and beauty services available on a daily basis, including manicures, pedicures and massages, which as you point out, do go well with both the free yoga and Pilates classes. These services can be completed in the privacy of your room or any choice of location on the property.

Overall, it seems you had a great holiday, and the fact this is only your second time awarding a full five star rating is taken as a true compliment relating to your enjoyment of East Winds Inn. We do hope to see you again soon, and thank you for all the wonderful comments and support.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wow, what a hotel. The staff were absolutely wonderful and nothing was too much trouble for them. They were so helpful, (always smiling) and made you feel very special. They were happy to arrange any trips you wanted to go on even if it was something out of the ordinary. I am sure the manager must be really proud of them. The rooms were wonderful, airy, spacious and everything you could possibly need and want in the room. Our plane was delayed by 5 hours, but this only made it better because we had that extra time at the hotel (watching the sunset). We were allowed to keep our room we were provided with anything we wanted. Charms (one of the staff) was so wonderful during our delay and made us feel special. Our thanks go to all the staff for making our stay one of the best holidays we have had. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful. We can't wait to go back. Liz and Paul Monks

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George R, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
DREAM REVIEW – THANK YOU

Wow – what a review! Thank you very much for your enthusiastic posting relating to your recent stay at East Winds Inn. Everything you comment on, from the “absolutely wonderful staff” who were always smiling and clearly out to please, the “wonderful, airy and spacious rooms” that had everything you needed, the “beautiful grounds” of the hotel and the flexibility shown in the handling of your delayed flight, are so graciously appreciated by all.

On two separate sections of your lovely posting, you write that you were made to feel so special. That is the aim of all the East Winds team, who view each and every guest as someone special, which facilitates comments such as your stay being "one of the best holidays we have ever had." Stating you can’t wait to go back is our ultimate reward, and we sincerely hope that it will be sooner than later.

Thank you again for your kind support of East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Winds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds Inn

Address: La Brellotte Bay | Box 1477, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Winds Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Winds Inn is a truly authentic Caribbean resort, situated on one of St. Lucia's most picturesque sandy bays. Located between the capitol of Castries and the action of Rodney Bay Marina, the resort offers unparalleled ambiance within its 13 acre botanical gardens and 30 cottage style rooms sprinkled throughout the property. Known for its excellent service, fine cuisine and genuine atmosphere, the resort appeals to those who value understated elegance and simple relaxation. Come experience the way the Caribbean once was - before large hotels and crowded beaches. East Winds Inn is a repeat award winner in many categories - over half our guests become repeat visitors to the small resort with a big heart. We are here for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your East Winds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds Inn St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Winds Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.