We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this the same East Winds Inn?!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Winds Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added East Winds Inn to your Saves list
East Winds Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   La Brellotte Bay | Box 1477, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
St Mary Bourne UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Is this the same East Winds Inn?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Reading 'Complacent' and 'A great disappointment' came as a total surprise to us, is this the same East Winds Inn that we have just enjoyed ?
Our week was SO good, we stayed on for another three days!
Why do people want to change anything? The hotel was more than we expected, from the moment of our arrival to the wave of goodbye, we could not have been treated better. Happy staff who were always prepared to go the 'extra mile' for our comfort, wonderful wild garden full of birds, uncrowded beach, more than enough delicious food, varied wines and excellent rum cocktails. All this accompanied by a variety of talented musicians, absence of 'fire-eaters' and 'limbo-dancers' made for a truly relaxing holiday!
Thank you East Winds, please don't change anything as we will definitely be returning along with the other 99.1% !!
Max and Diana

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
THANK YOU FOR NOTICING THE SAME EAST WINDS INN

The positive posting of your recent stay at East Winds Inn is SO appreciated – your presence as wonderful guests will remain a fond memory for our staff and fellow guests until your promised return next year. It was gratifying to see that you recognized so many of the aspects which help make East Winds what it is for most people, and the comment “The hotel was more than we expected, from the moment of our arrival to the wave of goodbye, we could not have been treated better”, underscores the type of guests that you were. We also appreciate the excellent photographs of the hobbie cat and Eric which you posted with your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back and allowing everyone at East Winds to go that “extra mile” for you once again – we promise not to change the small hotel with a big heart.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    50
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
101
411
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

As we are currently staying on the island and have availed ourselves to one of East Winds' greatest amenities, the dining experience, we feel compelled, in light of an extreme minority of recent negative reviews, to post our thoughts. First off, both the ownership and management strive to create the perfect experience for their guests. The fact that perfection is unattainable to all, we believe, is not in their mind set. It is evident that they work hard each and every day to offer the perfect and complete guest experience. The fact that Mr. Reti, the owner, is sensitive to every guest review, judiciously replying to every point made on this board, shows that he and his wife are serious hoteliers, striving for only the best possible and impossible for their guests. Mr. Leach, the General Manager, has always shown interest and availability to us and our guests. It is evident that he runs a professionally tight ship while displaying a caring demeanor. The resort and its guests are blessed to have such a hands-on gentleman at the helm. The East Winds provides an experience. It is not an experience for all. There is no marble, there are no show girls. It is not inexpensive, but for the perceived value involved, we believe it is spot on. We consistently tell people that their are plenty of other establishments on the island that are equally priced and do not offer nearly the attention to detail, quality of food and beverage, service, and entertainment. Comments that were made about staff having egos or not smiling are perplexing to us. In fact, our first night, while sitting at the bar, Mousey made a point to come out of the restaurant to greet and welcome us back to the island with a big smile and outstretched arms. In regard to the comment about the wines poured at dinner, as someone who is fortunate enough to make a living by being in the wine business, we completely disagree. Our guests the other night in fact, commented that their was only one problem with the Champagne; it was too good! We have always found the wines to be well chosen and more than appropriate for the price that we pay. And, as Mr. Reti mentioned, there is a reserve list available if the wines of the evening are not suitable to your palate. We could go on and on about the food and service but it is not necessary as there are so many testimonies to that effect already on this board. Thank You East Winds!
-J.P. and Sarah

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
THANK YOU FOR THE SUPPORTIVE REVIEW

We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to outline your positive experiences at East Winds Inn. Your sweeping, generous comments pertaining to our staff and management are clearly based on a level of satisfaction which you have come to expect at East Winds Inn. We thank you for acknowledging that so eloquently and completely.

It is true that the entire team strives for perfection and pays attention to detail, while at the same time, does not ignore the friendly, personal touch required to keep our guests returning time and time again. You are also correct in stating that East Winds provides an overall “experience” – as we like to say, it is not about doing – it is all about being.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and are grateful for your continued support of East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Oh dear ! We've been going to East Winds for several years and still intend to do so, so lets start with a positive and say that it is a lovely lovely place, super staff and really takes some beating however.............things are not quite as good as they used to be, and it is such a shame to let standards drop, so in writing this review, I hope that George and Marilyn take heed as I'm sure they will, and stop the rot before it gets any worse............ A few moans - In previous years the beaches used to be swept every morning so 'debris' from the day before disappeared, this was either done by the garden staff or the two beach boys, Johnny and Kim, or both. A very perfunctory sweep near the restaurant and beach bar was noted on one or two occasions in a two week period. I don't appreciate having to pick up the fag ends, around where I wish to sit, that the night time security staff who 'rest' on the beach lounges, have dropped during the night. This happened every morning and also glasses and tea cups and empty water bottles were not collected from the tables near the beach lounges. The semi circle of buoys which is a delight to swim out to proved to be a bit of a shock as curtains of seaweed were hanging from it with small crabs inhabiting same, which delighted in a new venue, namely my back - not appreciated. There were several weeks if not months of growth there, not at all nice. This was regularly cleaned and kept clear by the beach staff in other years, what has happened ? On mentioning it to Kim I have to say that by the afternoon it had been sorted (by him) and was then weed free, but I shouldn't have to be doing this. Who is supervising ???

The gardens were as ever a delight, BUT not receiving the TLC that has always been apparent in previous years. The grass was left to get very long before being cut, in fact in places was up above my knee and made the garden look very unloved to put it kindly. It was very windy while we were there, more so than usual, so a lot of leaves were lying around,more so than usual, again in previous years these would have been swept up straight away, whereas this was not the case and piles of leaves were gathering in mounds under flowering shrubs and noone was doing anything about them. The pool was permanently covered in floating debris, which I have to add was cleared several times by me and other guests ! We just feel that there is no one in charge or generally supervising this aspect of East Winds and if there is they aren't doing their job properly and it is letting the resort down. Small things I know, but lots of little things become big and they are important and make one feel disgruntled, and you don't want that on holiday do you.

Dining - just a small moan you'll be glad to hear. In the lounge before dinner, poor Hannah (and a delightful chap I forget his name) try their best to serve everyone with drinks, in order of their arrival, but oh dear, what a long wait, not their fault, Henry looks on, why doesn't he help or at least get them some help, night after night this happens and we really found it very frustrating to watch. Food as always was very good, but why oh why do they overcook the lobsters, and that is not just me moaning, but several other guests as well, it makes them so tough that they are inedible. This is a suggestion not a moan ! Would it be possible to have a cold alternative to 'stews' at lunch time, something like a quiche, not all of us want a big meal with meat and veg, just something light to have with the lovely salads. Last but not least, Mouse is a lovely fellow but can you get him to smile, it would make the dining room so much happier !! Because of these little moans I feel that things are not quite as they should be for the price we are paying, and on tactfully mentioning this to the Manager it was felt that not much interest was shown and I was made to feel quilty for even mentioning my few moans, so can't give you an 'Excellent' as I would have liked to do - may be next year, heres hoping.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
NO COMPLACENCY AT EAST WINDS INN

Thank you for the review of your recent visit to East Winds Inn, which is more akin to a list of items you might have mentioned to our extensive management team, as opposed to posting them on this web-site. Notwithstanding all our efforts to identify you and the source of your various comments, we have been unable to do so, as no member of our management team can recall a discussion about your specific concerns. To clarify, we keep a log record of any issues or complaints received from any guests to our management team, and there are none recorded relating to any of these items. Nonetheless, all of your comments have been addressed.

Your acknowledgement that the resort is “a lovely, lovely place, super staff and really takes some beating” (the double lovely is noted), as well as the fact you intent to return next year, is extremely gratifying for all of us. While we greatly value all guest comments, as you appear to be a many time repeat guest of East Winds Inn and clearly have an appreciation for all of its positive qualities, we take your comments and suggestions very seriously – especially those of a constructive nature. In fact, many of the items you identified had already been addressed prior to your posting.

It should be highlighted that East Winds Inn is one of the few resorts in St. Lucia which has retained all their staff numbers during these trying economic times. There have been no changes or cutbacks in service of any nature. With a staff of 84 persons for a 30 room hotel, we have now implemented more frequent and overlapping duties associated with the beach area, which has always been a focus for the resort. Similarly, as you point out, “the gardens were as ever a delight”. A great percentage of our guests return on account of our verdant gardens, and many of those who return are also avid gardeners – making them well aware of all the variables that can challenge a gardener – especially in the tropics. Our gardeners are not only maintaining, but also regularly replacing and adding to the gardens from our own nursery and outside sources. This will be highlighted in the soon to be released new Garden Tour Guide Book featuring over 100 plant species, to be found in all guest rooms in the next few weeks.

Our friendly and determined staff look forward to greeting you next year, when you will feel comfortable in giving East Winds Inn the five star rating which you are hoping for, in recognition of our striving for continued excellence.

Thank you for your ongoing support of East Winds Inn - where “Timeless Seaside Elegance” will always be our passion.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

East Winds has a great reputation and it's web site promises a wonderful experience. We have travelled widely in the Caribbean and the hotel falls very short of it's competitors. We had a 'superior' garden room. In truth it is a garden room, there being nothing below! The room is spacious but garden paths are close by which means shutters must be closed to ensure privacy.No views in or out therefore. It is sold as having a terrace which is technically true..there is a 9ft x 10ft tiled entrance patio with a table and seat incorporated under a heavily thatched canopy. No sunshine space or privacy for sitting out. Food and wine are claimed to be a feature at East Winds. They were a great disappointment. The restaurant is dated, approached through a service area and again dark as a result of overhanging thatched eaves and being several feet beneath beach top level. Food at lunch and breakfast is buffet style and mediocre. A 4 course dinner can vary..plainly chef has a reasonable budget and the inputs in terms of meat and fish are good quality but the outcome is a disappointment. Few diners stay an hour and table clearace and re-laying starts mid meal if you arrive at 8.30pm. As for the wines..quality champagne is served before dinner and alcohol is available throughout the day. Dinner wines are mid priced supermarket (UK cost would be £5-7.50, say $10 US) served by young men who know little or nothing of what they are doing but more obsessed with their ego's.
All in all East Winds seems happy with it's lot ...the manager was not interested in our thoughts. When we were there this February the hotel was 80% full with many quite elderly English couples,many of whom returned regularly. For those the hotel is plainly doing something right but for us and for those who want a little style there are many other options, often at a considerable lower cost. Finally who, arriving at quite an expensive hotel, is offered a small bottle of water to drink from the bottle!

Room Tip: Avoid the superior garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
A TALE OF TWO DISAPPOINTMENTS

Thank you for the review expressing disappointment in the week spent at East Winds Inn – the most critical review we have received in nearly three years. We are very sorry that you have found it necessary to post such negative comments despite all that our staff and management did to try and please you during your unfortunate seven day stay with us. It is realized that we simply cannot please everyone - nor is East Winds Inn or even St. Lucia for everyone – as has been stated by many content reviewers on this website in the past. While it would be easy to leave our remarks at that in this instance, because of the nature of your comments and the manner in which they were directed, we feel obligated to set the record straight. Just as there are many elements associated with successful operation of a good hotel, so too are there aspects of being a good guest at any establishment. In that regard, while you evidently feel that we fell short on almost every possible measure, we too are greatly disappointed in the fact that based on all the available factual and accurate information on East Winds Inn and St. Lucia, you chose to still come and be critical of the core aspects of what our resort and St. Lucia represents. Clearly, the resort was not the right one for your particular expectations – a point you made the night of your arrival.

Interestingly, during 2011 alone, we received a total of 66 reviews, which yielded us an unprecedented 99.1 percent satisfaction rating for a full service hotel – suggesting we are doing something which pleases the vast majority of our guests. Those ratings gave us the honour of being named the #1 All-Inclusive Resort in the Caribbean, and #3 in the World on this website. That trend was established well before your arrival, for the years of 2007 through to 2010, and into the first quarter of 2012 – begging the question, where did we go wrong to receive such a negative review? We have now had an opportunity to complete a thorough investigation with all departments to provide the following comments, which may shed the proper light on the situation.
You checked in on Valentine’s Day, February 14th, arriving from another Caribbean island. Upon your arrival, you were immediately greeted by one of our reception staff as you disembarked from your taxi, with a cool towel to freshen up. Upon entering our reception area, you were offered the choice of a rum or fruit punch, and either still or sparkling bottled water – in a glass or in the bottle. As you wished the entire contents – you opted for the latter. That was your choice.

That same evening, during our Valentine’s Dinner, with a special five course menu and as the Steinway piano was played with lovely melodies, our General Manager approached your table to welcome you and ensure that you were enjoying yourselves. To his surprise, you emphatically stated “No” and went on to say how you found the island of St. Lucia far too developed and busy - even our 30 room East Winds Inn on over 12 acres far too crowded for your liking. At the same time, you stated that being at East Winds Inn was like living in a jungle – a feature we are noted for in terms of our verdant botanical gardens, where a garden tour is one of our feature activities. It was agreed that you would meet with our General Manager the following day to discuss the situation.

On the following morning, as we always do, you received a call from our head receptionist, to see how you found your room and your overall accommodation. You indicated that you found the room “nice” and the bed “good and comfortable”. You also stated that you found the room too dark, and the restaurant too dark as well, primarily on account of the natural thatch on the ceilings and the surrounding foliage for privacy. There was absolutely no mention of any shortcomings relating to cleanliness, yet you chose to give us a 3 star rating under that category, where we score virtually perfectly on all other reviews we have received. Furthermore, as you occupied room number 9, your comments pertaining to the nearby garden paths and lack of privacy have no bearing, as there is only the occasionally used path for the adjacent room 10 that could even begin to be considered close to your room.

The meeting with our General Manager then took place in his office, where it became clear to him that under no circumstances, could you be made content while at East Winds Inn. We offered to relocate you - at no cost to you whatsoever, including the day and night you had already spent at the resort – to any resort of your choosing in St. Lucia. Furthermore, you were driven by cab at our expense to check the suitability of other resorts you had selected, and did not even bother to get out of the taxi to gauge their acceptability for your purposes. Finally, you acquiesced to stay at East Winds Inn for the balance of your holiday – all the time pointing out nothing but negatives in your eyes – even to the point where it was highly noticed by many other guests and it began affecting the enjoyment of their own holiday.

Other remarks that are untrue include the fact that the restaurant is dated. During our tenure of ownership over the past 6 years, the restaurant has been completely refurbished in an authentic Caribbean style, including new flooring, new McGuire furniture, new silver cutlery and table settings, new linens, new lighting, new greenheart wooden railings, new roof thatching, new original Caribbean art by recognized local artists and a new Steinway Concert Grand Piano. In fact, nothing much is original except the charm and character which virtually all of our guests comment so positively on.

Stating that the majority of our guests finish their dinner in an hour is untrue. We do not have double seatings – ever. The dinner entertainment is from 8:00 until 10:00 P.M., and most guests have dinner between 7:30 and 10:30 P.M. – after which many retreat to the lounge for a night cap or two. As you state, the food ingredients are of” good quality”. The men with the egos you refer to are pleasant local St. Lucian servers who do their best to ensure that everyone is aware of the numerous wine choices each evening, and that everyone’s glass is always topped up with the wines they have selected. They are the antithesis of the young wine snobs that are found at many of the artificial restaurants which claim to be what they are not. If, for whatever reason a guest does not find the offered wines acceptable – which is an extremely rare occurrence - we do offer a Manager’s Reserve wine menu at an additional cost. The mention of the origin of guests and their perceived ages is prejudicial, and has no place on a website of this nature. We receive guests of all ages from all around the world. Finally, if a 30 room hotel on 12 acres of gardens, at 80% occupancy, is too busy for a guest – perhaps they should seek a private villa or some other form of low intensity accommodation where they can be totally isolated.

In summary, we are disappointed that East Winds Inn did not live up to your expectations, but on the other hand, it could have been more pleasant if we were even given a chance. Fortunately, there are thousands of couples who have, and they are the ones who keep telling their friends and coming back East Winds Inn for a reason.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This trip to the East Winds was sandwiched into a week with a very busy schedule at either end. We arrived after long days of meetings and were ready for some 'down-time'. We cannot tell you how perfect the East Winds is for getting away from it all. The service is delivered with genuine smiles and concern, the meals are outstanding and the property promotes relaxing and recharging. The staff are amazing and Gareth Leach, the General Manager, is a gem. Everything is clean, safe and designed to make guests relax.

There is lots to do on St. Lucia and the East Winds can make sure you are part of the action but, if you want to slow down, this is the place.

It is nice to spend a week where the little decisions become important. 'Will we read our book at the pool or beside the ocean?' 'Which of the perfectly prepared meals will we have?'

We returned to our busy life with a sense of calm and peace. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
REVIEW OF LIFE EXTENDING EXPERIENCE APPRECIATED

Thank you for the kind, informative and perfect review of your recent stay at East Winds Inn. Now that you appear to have found the equivalent of the fountain of youth – and willingly shared its location with the rest of the world – we could not be more grateful.

The heartfelt references to the wonderful and efficient staff, including the General Manager, are most welcomed, as was your obvious enthusiasm for the cuisine and the relaxation of it all. The best part however, is your conviction to return – and add yet another ten years on to your life.

We will be waiting for you with open arms, and once again, thank you for your support of "the small resort with the big heart" – East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Whoever said East Winds was like a private house party described it perfectly. All I might add is that there is no pressure to join in or mingle with other guests if that is not what you want. The atmosphere is one of acceptance and genteel conviviality, neither trendy nor slick and it suited us perfectly. The resort is certainly not for everyone and it is immediately obvious that that is not its intention. Trying to be all things to all people would entirely destroy the perfect tone they have achieved. A big box resort this is definitely not. If you are looking for lots of activities and entertainment, stay away from East Winds.

In addition to the big things, they do the little things well - Perrier (not just still, bottled water) in the frig, little personal baskets of snacks with drinks (cheese puffs, baked coconut, pistachios), attractive clay pots for refuse unobtrusively placed about the lovely gardens. Someone has given East Winds a lot of tender attention.

The marvellous food is what sets this place apart. We are foodies and couldn't have asked for more delicious meals. Each meal, including breakfast, was the highlight of every day, hands down, with the dining room magically transformed at night into a romantic, twinkling fairyland. Given the high quality of the food, however, we were a bit disappointed with the wine selection, particularly the red wines. Knowing nothing about the availability and prices of the wines they have to choose from, this is perhaps an unfair comment but we know wine and fancied we could have made better choices. We ordered from the Manager's List (extra cost) at 4 or the 7 dinners and found those selections better enhanced the truly exceptional food. But, in all fairness, we noticed that very few others did the same so we assume that wine is perhaps just more important to us than to the other guests.

Our deluxe cottage was comfortable, tasteful, ultra quiet and well-appointed.

As others have noted, the staff is well-trained and friendly but never intrusive. Samantha and Chrisanthamus were our personal favourites.

In short, East Winds was just what we were looking for and wondering if we would ever find - a tasteful, small, all-inclusive resort where excellent food is paramount, trendiness and noise (no obnoxious, piped-in elevator music!) absent, accommodations luxurious but never over-the-top.
Well done, East Winds. We're hooked.

Room Tip: The porch on the deluxe cottages is larger and far more comfortable than the superior ones, also fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
THANK YOU FOR THE FOND REVIEW

We greatly appreciate your kind review of the time you recently spent at East Winds Inn. It is clear that you recognized many of the nuances which we have strived to introduce for the pleasure of our guests, and more importantly, the commitment of the staff to ensure that all our visitors experience a very special holiday.

The enthusiastic endorsement of our food quality was most welcomed, and we are also pleased that you discovered our manager’s select wine list, even though the majority of diners find the wines on offer to their liking – especially given the fact that we have daily choices of red, white and rose, as well as champagne and premium brand spirits of virtually every type.

To end your comments by stating that you are “hooked” is extremely gratifying – meaning that we are hoping to see you again soon. We thank you for your support of East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston Rowant, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at East Winds for a fortnight just after new year 2012. We were absolutely delighted with our visit. The cottages are charming, the staff super-friendly and welcoming, and the facilities are more than enough to keep us busy and happy. With only 30 cottages, the atmosphere is more like a house party than an anonymous resort - everyone can socialise or have quiet periods depending on their mood. I would go alone happily, knowing that it is such a friendly place. We spent a day at another resort, visiting friends, and coming back to East Winds was like coming home after being away (we could stop holding our tummies in!). Be warned: this is not a place for the super shiny - it is very much a relaxed, barefoot luxury spot. Dressing up in the evening is certainly a 'nice-to-do', but not essential. The free wi-fi worked, the help-yourself swim up bar was a delight, the little Hobie catamarans were such fun, as were the sea kayaks, endless supply of swim fins, masks and snorkels. Sitting by the sea under a palm tree, with a cocktail in my hand and the sand between my toes, watching the glorious sunset... Oh yes, we will certainly go back. One word of warning: the airport arrival experience tests your patience, but East Winds more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
JOYFUL REVIEW APPRECIATED

Thank you for the kind and informative posting of your recent stay at East Winds Inn. The numerous positive adjectives and superlatives in your review are most sincerely welcomed by the staff and all those who worked so diligently in making this a memorable holiday. Of course, the most satisfying comment of all, is your true endorsement “Oh yes, we will certainly go back”. As more than 50 percent of our guests already do just that, you will be in very good company - like a big house party as you observed.

We eagerly await your return, and will do our utmost to ensure that your next experience is just as favorable as your last. Thank you again for your ongoing support of East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to East Winds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds Inn

Address: La Brellotte Bay | Box 1477, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Winds Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Winds Inn is a truly authentic Caribbean resort, situated on one of St. Lucia's most picturesque sandy bays. Located between the capitol of Castries and the action of Rodney Bay Marina, the resort offers unparalleled ambiance within its 13 acre botanical gardens and 30 cottage style rooms sprinkled throughout the property. Known for its excellent service, fine cuisine and genuine atmosphere, the resort appeals to those who value understated elegance and simple relaxation. Come experience the way the Caribbean once was - before large hotels and crowded beaches. East Winds Inn is a repeat award winner in many categories - over half our guests become repeat visitors to the small resort with a big heart. We are here for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your East Winds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds Inn St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Winds Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.