We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful return visit - now where did i put my waistline!?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Winds Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added East Winds Inn to your Saves list
East Winds Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   La Brellotte Bay | Box 1477, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
England
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
“Wonderful return visit - now where did i put my waistline!?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Where did i leave my waistline?

We spent one amazing week at East Winds. This was our second stay there and even better second time around.

East Winds is a quiet, beautifully maintained place with lovely gardens. The  food is definitely better than last year with great fish, varied lunch buffets and a very good evening menu. Dinner each evening was a real pleasure and it was hard to choose from the choices available.

We invited a french chef and his wife for dinner the day duck was on the menu and he was very impressed with the food.

At the beginning of the holiday we had three days of bad weather but the eclectic mix of guests got together for games, ping pong etc. The guests ranged from young honeymooners to groups of friends, some of whom had been to EW 15 times! What was lovely was that people were really friendly and there was no sign of the snobbiness that some reviews mentioned previously.

Our room was beautifully cleaned. Even with the airconditioning it got hot. I asked for a floor fan and one arrived in minutes. This saved the holiday for me and i slept really well.

The staff are wonderful, "invisible" when you dont need them and magically appearing when ones  glass is empty. They are very professional and there was none of the attitude you sometimes get in other places.

 This time the hobiecats were operating and a big thank you to Kim for his patience in teaching me how to sail in strong wind conditions! We had great fun. The hobiecats were very popular amongst the guests.

The steinway sounded in good condition and I enjoyed all the music played.

Finally, i have to congratulate Gareth Leach on a superbly run resort. He was away until the end of the week and the resort ran like clockwork. This is often not the case when a General Manager is away.

We will definitely be back to celebrate our 25th anniversary next year!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
MANY HAPPY RETURNS – OUR 200TH FIVE STAR REVIEW!

Thank you for posting such a detailed review after your return holiday from last year at East Winds Inn. To hear that your appreciation of our staff, food and beverage topped even last year’s five star performance is indeed gratifying, and we are certain that your waistline will return to normal in no time.

Receiving a glowing posting such as you have shared with would –be guests to East Winds Inn, from an obviously well-travelled and experienced person who knows the Caribbean inside out, is a true motivator for our staff. As our 200th five star reviewer, we wish to recognize you and all of those guests at East Winds Inn, who – like yourself – have allowed a true Caribbean experience to overwhelm them. We strive for simple luxury as well as peace and enjoyment – and with a full 87 percent of our guests who have posted reviews giving us a “perfect” score – what more could we ask?

We sincerely hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    50
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
101
411
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We visited East Winds for our Honeymoon, having chosen it as a result of the excellant reviews on trip adviser. We were not disappointed - the food, the rooms, the pool, the beach all lived up to their reputation. However the best part was the staff in the bars and restaurant - all very professional, friendly and go out of their way to help you. We had the pleasure of sampling Hanna's cocktails and Titus' well informed rum recommendations.
We stayed in the ocean view rooms which were beautiful, very clean and spacious.
We would definately visit again if we go back to St Lucia, this place well deserves the trip adviser awards it has.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
ROYAL TREATMENT YIELDS ROYAL REVIEW

Thank you ever so much for the excellent review of your time at East Winds Inn. Your appreciation of our staff is most rewarding for all, as are your positive comments about the resort itself. To publicly state that the resort is deserving of the accolades bestowed upon it by other guests is the greatest reinforcement we could ever receive. You are most gracious.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We spent a week at the East Winds Inn and loved it. The location on the beach is lovely, and we liked the fact that it's quiet and not too big. We had a really relaxing time chilling out on the beach.

We've stayed at various all inclusive places around the world and the food here is without doubt the best we've had. All meals were up to the standard of a good restaurant. The quality of the drinks (international brands, good wine and real champagne in the evening) was also far better than a typical AI resort. The service we received was outstanding everywhere around the hotel - reception, restaurant, bar, beach and security staff were all really pleasant and helpful.

We don't often go back to the same place twice, but I think this will be one we make an exception for!

Room Tip: Go for one with aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
GLOWING REVIEW MOST ENCOURAGING

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of your first experience at East Winds Inn. As seasoned world travellers who appreciate true relaxation, good service and cuisine, it is most encouraging to read that you are seriously thinking of breaking your pattern and returning to the same place. That would be wonderful for all of the team at East Winds – we would truly love to have you back - and you will not be alone in the ranks of the "repeaters", for over 50% of our guests do the same. Your support and generousity is greatly valued by all.

Warm regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We spent one wonderful week (including our anniversary) at the East Winds Inn in April and we enjoyed everything about it: the well appointed room, the wonderfully cared for grounds, the absolutely great food, and last but not least the very friendly staff. We also took a land and sea day trip offered by Air Canada Vacations and it was definitely worth it.

Many of the reviewers already captured all the great things to say about this resort, but words are not enough: you’ll need to go to the East Winds Inn and experience it first hand. If you are interested in a laid-back, tranquil and relaxing vacation, with no loud and noisy entertainment, in a lush tropical garden setting, and enjoy very well prepared food and premium drinks, than East Winds Inn is for you.

We also had the chance to meet the very nice Canadian owners, who happened to be at the resort at the time we were there. They’ve done a wonderful job with the resort and have been fortunate having a knowledgeable and efficient manager surrounded by good staff who keeps the resort to the liking and enjoyment of so many satisfied guests.

While most of the guests are from the UK, it would be great if more Canadians would try out this resort as not only they won’t be disappointed, but they’ll love it, as we absolutely did. We are definitely recommending East Winds Inn to our friends and we’ll try to return when we’ll have the chance next time to take another vacation in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2011
THANKS A LOT FOR THE GREAT POSTING, EH !

It was wonderful to see a Canadian anniversary couple enjoying the pleasures of East Winds Inn. Thank you for the genuine and complimentary comments – especially your encouragement for other Canadians to visit St. Lucia and East Winds. Your appreciation of the staff’s efforts, the quality of the cuisine and the ambiance of the resort are most kind.

We do hope to see you again soon, and many other Canadian guests as well – only 5 hours from Toronto and you are in paradise.

Warm regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

East Winds is the perfect place to go to do nothing except relax. The hotel is superb with its wonderful gardens, comfortable rooms, simply excellent food and drinks, and quiet beach. But it’s the magnificent staff who really make East Winds special – a big thank you to them for combining highly efficient and effective service with a relaxed and friendly manner.

Yes, if you are feeling energetic you can try the sailing, kayaking and snorkelling, or even the trim trail, but our fourth visit in the past ten years was once more predicated on doing nothing more energetic than having the occasional cooling swim and gently sauntering from the cottage to the restaurant, to the beach and to the bar. And whilst doing this, meeting up with a wide variety of like-minded souls who stop to chat over a glass of champagne, a cooling cocktail or afternoon tea and scones.

We are used to meeting people of a similar vintage (middle age plus!) who value the quiet understated charms of East Winds but were delighted to see quite a few younger couples there this year who had all found out just how ideal East Winds is for a restorative week after their nuptials.

Long may East Winds remain an oasis of calm. We shall return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2011
AUTHENTIC REVIEW MOST APPRECIATED

It is always gratifying to receive a review where the guests of East Winds Inn have obviously lived the experience they sought and reinforced the qualities which the resort is so well known for. Pure relaxation and calm – a rare commodity in our modern world. As we like to say, East Winds is not about doing, it is all about being.

Thank you for taking the time to express this atmosphere so clearly for potential guests. We do hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

This resort is zen like. Super quiet and very relaxing. Service throughout the entire resort is flawless. The food is to die for. Lots of variety and everything was cooked to perfection. We especially liked the BBQ on the beach.

The rooms are impeccable. Definitely understated luxury. The rooms are more like cottages decorated in true Caribbean style. The A/C was a treat after being on the beach all day. The resort grounds are just beautiful, be sure to enjoy an early morning walk.

We enjoyed the sunset with a drink every night, just my husband and I. So very romantic.

This is the kind of place that will turn you into jello! Just an fabulous place. Enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2011
THANK YOU FOR YOUR CREATIVE AND HONEST REVIEW

We greatly appreciate the re-cap of all your wonderful experiences at East Winds Inn. It is clear you caught the atmosphere and ambiance of the resort, and the interpretation of your feelings are metaphorically creative and accurately descriptive. Our staff are extremely gratified through your recognition.

Thank you for your interest and support of East Winds Inn - we do hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

East Winds Inn is a gem set in a glorious garden glen fronting onto a splendid quiet beach. Our deluxe room was very satisfactory in size an amenity with an outside terrace and mini bar providing an ideal quiet spot to experience a wide range of bird life including humming birds. From the owners, manager, restaurent and bar staff to the reception, garden, beach front and cleaning staff the level of courtesy and friendliness was exceptional. What really topped the experience for us was the excellent cuisine. Our pre dinner champagne and excellent choice of wines with dinner made for a first class dining experience. We're always very careful about recommending holiday venues to others or, indeed, returning to previously visited holday venues however good, but those rules won't apply in this case.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retonias, Owner at East Winds Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
GRACIOUS AND ENCOURAGING REVIEW GREATLY APPRECIATED

Thank you for taking the time to post such a heartwarming and positive review of your first holiday experience at East Winds Inn. The title “We’ll Be Back” – especially from someone who professes not to visit the same place more than once – is indeed telltale and encouraging for everyone at East Winds Inn who made your stay so obviously pleasant.

We do look forward to your return visit soon, and appreciate your support of East Winds Inn. The staff thoroughly enjoyed having you as our guests.

Warm regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to East Winds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds Inn

Address: La Brellotte Bay | Box 1477, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Winds Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Winds Inn is a truly authentic Caribbean resort, situated on one of St. Lucia's most picturesque sandy bays. Located between the capitol of Castries and the action of Rodney Bay Marina, the resort offers unparalleled ambiance within its 13 acre botanical gardens and 30 cottage style rooms sprinkled throughout the property. Known for its excellent service, fine cuisine and genuine atmosphere, the resort appeals to those who value understated elegance and simple relaxation. Come experience the way the Caribbean once was - before large hotels and crowded beaches. East Winds Inn is a repeat award winner in many categories - over half our guests become repeat visitors to the small resort with a big heart. We are here for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your East Winds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds Inn St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Winds Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.