We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal by Rex Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Royal by Rex Resorts
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“May Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

On arrival we were greeted with a rum punch (always a good start). The hotel is immaculate and well located. Our room was well laid out with great views out to the pool & beach. One slight annoyance was the toilet and shower door were shared using a sliding frosted glass door (not very private) & when pulled to the toilet side did not stay shut, the bathroom does not have a door but leads directly into the bedroom.
With regard to the hotel facilities, the spa is definitely worth a visit, we had reflexology & Swedish massage which really helped us relax into our holiday.
As we arrived at the end of season the hotel was particularly quiet, not many holiday makers. It is worth noting though that this hotel is used frequently by the Virgin Atlantic cabin crew, who are particular noticeable around Happy Hour time.
The fine dining in Chic (restaurant) is good for a treat but do check that there are no events happening. The hotel often has conferences, parties and external events happening which may mean you have limited access to some of the bars/restaurants.
The surrounding bars/restaurants in Rodney Bar are worth checking out - Buzz is excellent, especially when Barman Mervyn is there. Delirius is great for late night cocktails. A hidden gem is the steak house by the shopping mall, delicious steaks & cocktails.
I would also recommend hiring a car & driver (we ordered this onsite at the Lucian hotel). A little more expensive than the organized tours but you definitely get to do a lot more & the things you would like to do.
When on the beach or eating at the beach hut, you may be approached by sellers, a polite 'No' is all that is needed and they will leave you alone.
All in all a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday in a picture perfect location!

Room Tip: Seaview or Beachview rooms are well worth the additional cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay.
I note that you found the hotel grounds immaculate and our location right on the Reduit Beach and in the heart of Rodney Bay was to your liking.
Your comments on the bathroom shower door have been noted (this is a design feature) we will however look at possible solutions to this.
Hoping that you may decide to stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes

Richard Michelin

General Manager
Royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    127
    29
    21
    10
See reviews for
66
164
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Spent the day on this particular beach while on the island. Decided to have lunch at this resort's outside restaurant and then to grab a massage on the beach. Food was good. Pleasant enviroment and great service. Clean grounds around the pool.

The massage was simply to die for! Amazing and relaxing in one of the prettiest places on the plant. Exceptional is not a sufficient description.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
We are delighted that you received excellent treatment and enjoyed our beachfront location and facilities during your visit.
We look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future,
Best Wishes

Richard Michelin

General Manager
Royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I went with a group of people for the St Lucia Jazz Festival . The experience in general was excellent as thrre were a number of Jazz concerts nearby and the water taxi over to pigeon island for the main stage Jazz events was only 5 minutes away,
The food was alright and the hotel is positioned right on the beach and only a short way from Rodney Bay with its shops and resteraunts.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay over the Jazz festival.
We look forward to your being with us again next year,

Best wishes,

Richard Michelin
General Manager
Royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

You can not beat Royal by Rex's location right in the middle of Rodney Bay and a convenient beach access. You are literally a few steps from the beach and have access to nice beach chairs and shades. To me that is what was most important and we got what we hoped for. Other pluses of the resort include great selection of fruits at breakfast, themed dinners (we enjoyed a nice Caribbean dinner nigh very much), fully updated rooms with rain shower, and general proximity to all - nice restaurants, Rodney Bay mall, and the island's capital, Castries.

Minuses are a few and we already addressed them to the hotel's staff, but I'll mention them briefly here: if you room rate does not include daily breakfast, ensure you are made aware of breakfast options and costs (continental breakfast and full breakfast are different and cost differently, and your in-room documentation does not specify that). Also, the noise made by the old air conditioning system is rather loud. We turned our AC off and slept with a balcony room open, but if a breeze is not sufficient for you, you may have to learn to fall asleep with a lot of noise around you.

Lastly, the biggest "plus" of the resort is it's friendly and most helpful staff. Ms. Johnny at the reception was absolutely wonderful, and everyone else with whom we interacted was a delight.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Many thanks for posting a review on your stay with us and we are so happy that you enjoyed our beachfront location right in the heart of Rodney Bay as well as our food and our newly upgraded suites.
I have noted your comments on the A/C unit and can assure you that this summer we will be changing our present units to a quieter more efficient model.
Maryanne sends her best regards along with all the staff at the royal,

Best Wishes

Richard Michelin

General Manager
Royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

It´s not a big resort so you have everything close. The beach is wonderfull even sometimes local vendors interrupt your resting to try to sell their stuff. The rooms are ok. it seems they recently have given a upgrade to the bathroom,...hey please also do the same with the rest of the room. The employees are the best of what they have!!! they are so nice, always available to help and to serve! and of course smiling!. The food surprised me, I wasnt expecting an creative and tastefull local cuisine! congratulations. There are some things they have to improve, for example they need to upgrade the Spa and the Gym! and change the lock systems of the rooms, nowadays hotels dont use metal keys, they use electronic keys.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thanks for posting your review with your positive feedback. As you say we are located right on the fabulous Reduit Beach and our rooms have been recently upgraded with new bathroom, rain shower, new furnishings in the bedroom and lounge area and large flat screen .T.V.
We are very proud of our employees and their service as well as our chefs who are ever willing to please even the most discerning palate.

Your comments on the spa , gym and the door locks are well noted.

Best Wishes

Richard Michelin

General Manager
Royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The Royal is in a lovely location on Rodney Bay with the bounds of the hotel right on the beach. I was there on business but my wife came along as a holiday. It has a good pool area which was being retiled whilst we were there with lovely new white marble. The pool bar is great and has twofers every evening around sunset.

The hotel looks after its guests on the beach with security patrols to keep unwanted hawkers away and to ensure that the lovely thatched shade umbrellas are kept for guest use. The bay is well protected but the beach slopes quickly down to a fair depth of water so families with non-swimming kids need to be alert.

The hotel has a large dining area but we preferred the small romantic restaurant that juts out onto the beach. Its great to experience fine dining with the sea only a few yards away. There are plenty of great little restaurants only a short walk from the hotel.

The rooms seem to be all fairly large with open plan bedroom and bathroom areas plus a split level lounge area with a balcony. The nicest views are found in the rooms that are at the end of the two wings which face directly onto the ocean but all the rooms have a pretty view of the garden, pool and beach. Our only complaint was that the rooms tend to be a bit tired looking and the maintenance could be better with frequent requests to have bulbs replaced, broken fittings sorted out, the safe fixed, getting the TV and Aircon working. Perhaps the worse thing were the beds that we found hard and very bouncy but that can be down to personal preference. There are no lifts so the rooms on the 3rd floor were a bit of a struggle with our luggage.

We loved the cheerful staff who appeared genuinely happy to sort out all our minor gripes.

Room Tip: The hotel is shaped like a square U with the balconies on the inside overlooking the pool. The ends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for posting your recent review on Tipadvisor.
It was great to have your Wife and Yourself staying with us.
I am delighted that you enjoyed the location,our friendly staff,the pool bar area which has now been completed and looks fantastic withour new loungers and daybeds.
I have noted your comments on your room mantainence and appologise for any shortfalls and assure you of our continued efforts to resolve these issues .
Looking forward to meeting up with you on your next visit,

Richard Michelin

General Manager
royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband's 60th birthday party was so perfectly executed by their amazing Chef, wonderful caterer and caring service staff. The evening started with welcome rum punches and a guitarist. The photographer took a group photo and candid shots throughout the evening and had them back to us the next day for our 22 guests! The food was superb and beautifully presented on gorgeous table settings. The smashing "Steel Band" was the final highlight of the evening. We will be thinking of the Royal for all of our future special events and cannot thank them enough for all of the care and concern they gave us!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks very much for posting your review.

It was indeed a honor for us to have been chosen as the venue for your husbands special 60th Birthday and that you had a perfect Dinner Dance Party at the Royal…

We look forward to hosting you for all future special events you may have in St Lucia.

Best Wishes

Richard Michelin
General Manager
Royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal by Rex Resorts

Address: Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal by Rex Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acclaimed as one of the best in St Lucia, the spectacular mile-long Reduit Beach fronts this all-suite hotel while, with a backdrop of rainforest covered hills, atmospheric Rodney Bay is reached within a few moments stroll. Standing in beautifully manicured grounds, the hotel offers an elegant blend of privacy and sophistication. Beneath palm-frond parasols, elegant furnishings allow for lazy days on the sandy beach or relax instead by the large lagoon-style swimming pool shaded by palm trees. The Royal Spa offers an enticing variety of treatments ranging from a reviving jet-lag busting massage to sensual aromatherapy and body care while, for the more energetic, the fully-equipped fitness room is available free to our guests. A delicious full buffet breakfast is included at L'Epicure, an elegant al fresco restaurant next to the beach which also offers tantalising a-la-carte dinner choices. Fine dining experiences can be enjoyed at Chic in the evening while, cooled by gentle sea breezes, the Beach Tent is a perfect venue for lunch. Perhaps enjoy a cocktail at the charming Minstrals Lounge before visiting the elegant Oriental restaurant (seasonal) or Mariners buffet, located at the adjacent St Lucian by rex resorts, or strolling in to town to experience the local ambience. Children are welcomed at the Royal and can enjoy the childrens club available on weekdays at set times at our neighbouring hotel while everyone can benefit from the wide range of activities accessible locally including water sports, horse riding, golf and exhilarating tours to explore the natural beauty of St Lucia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal By Rex Hotel Castries
Royal By Rex Resorts St. Lucia/Gros Islet
Royal St Lucian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.