We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort at a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal by Rex Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Royal by Rex Resorts
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 40% this Christmas!
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great resort at a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

You can not beat Royal by Rex's location right in the middle of Rodney Bay and a convenient beach access. You are literally a few steps from the beach and have access to nice beach chairs and shades. To me that is what was most important and we got what we hoped for. Other pluses of the resort include great selection of fruits at breakfast, themed dinners (we enjoyed a nice Caribbean dinner nigh very much), fully updated rooms with rain shower, and general proximity to all - nice restaurants, Rodney Bay mall, and the island's capital, Castries.

Minuses are a few and we already addressed them to the hotel's staff, but I'll mention them briefly here: if you room rate does not include daily breakfast, ensure you are made aware of breakfast options and costs (continental breakfast and full breakfast are different and cost differently, and your in-room documentation does not specify that). Also, the noise made by the old air conditioning system is rather loud. We turned our AC off and slept with a balcony room open, but if a breeze is not sufficient for you, you may have to learn to fall asleep with a lot of noise around you.

Lastly, the biggest "plus" of the resort is it's friendly and most helpful staff. Ms. Johnny at the reception was absolutely wonderful, and everyone else with whom we interacted was a delight.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Many thanks for posting a review on your stay with us and we are so happy that you enjoyed our beachfront location right in the heart of Rodney Bay as well as our food and our newly upgraded suites.
I have noted your comments on the A/C unit and can assure you that this summer we will be changing our present units to a quieter more efficient model.
Maryanne sends her best regards along with all the staff at the royal,

Best Wishes

Richard Michelin

General Manager
Royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    119
    28
    18
    10
See reviews for
62
148
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

It´s not a big resort so you have everything close. The beach is wonderfull even sometimes local vendors interrupt your resting to try to sell their stuff. The rooms are ok. it seems they recently have given a upgrade to the bathroom,...hey please also do the same with the rest of the room. The employees are the best of what they have!!! they are so nice, always available to help and to serve! and of course smiling!. The food surprised me, I wasnt expecting an creative and tastefull local cuisine! congratulations. There are some things they have to improve, for example they need to upgrade the Spa and the Gym! and change the lock systems of the rooms, nowadays hotels dont use metal keys, they use electronic keys.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thanks for posting your review with your positive feedback. As you say we are located right on the fabulous Reduit Beach and our rooms have been recently upgraded with new bathroom, rain shower, new furnishings in the bedroom and lounge area and large flat screen .T.V.
We are very proud of our employees and their service as well as our chefs who are ever willing to please even the most discerning palate.

Your comments on the spa , gym and the door locks are well noted.

Best Wishes

Richard Michelin

General Manager
Royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The Royal is in a lovely location on Rodney Bay with the bounds of the hotel right on the beach. I was there on business but my wife came along as a holiday. It has a good pool area which was being retiled whilst we were there with lovely new white marble. The pool bar is great and has twofers every evening around sunset.

The hotel looks after its guests on the beach with security patrols to keep unwanted hawkers away and to ensure that the lovely thatched shade umbrellas are kept for guest use. The bay is well protected but the beach slopes quickly down to a fair depth of water so families with non-swimming kids need to be alert.

The hotel has a large dining area but we preferred the small romantic restaurant that juts out onto the beach. Its great to experience fine dining with the sea only a few yards away. There are plenty of great little restaurants only a short walk from the hotel.

The rooms seem to be all fairly large with open plan bedroom and bathroom areas plus a split level lounge area with a balcony. The nicest views are found in the rooms that are at the end of the two wings which face directly onto the ocean but all the rooms have a pretty view of the garden, pool and beach. Our only complaint was that the rooms tend to be a bit tired looking and the maintenance could be better with frequent requests to have bulbs replaced, broken fittings sorted out, the safe fixed, getting the TV and Aircon working. Perhaps the worse thing were the beds that we found hard and very bouncy but that can be down to personal preference. There are no lifts so the rooms on the 3rd floor were a bit of a struggle with our luggage.

We loved the cheerful staff who appeared genuinely happy to sort out all our minor gripes.

Room Tip: The hotel is shaped like a square U with the balconies on the inside overlooking the pool. The ends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for posting your recent review on Tipadvisor.
It was great to have your Wife and Yourself staying with us.
I am delighted that you enjoyed the location,our friendly staff,the pool bar area which has now been completed and looks fantastic withour new loungers and daybeds.
I have noted your comments on your room mantainence and appologise for any shortfalls and assure you of our continued efforts to resolve these issues .
Looking forward to meeting up with you on your next visit,

Richard Michelin

General Manager
royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband's 60th birthday party was so perfectly executed by their amazing Chef, wonderful caterer and caring service staff. The evening started with welcome rum punches and a guitarist. The photographer took a group photo and candid shots throughout the evening and had them back to us the next day for our 22 guests! The food was superb and beautifully presented on gorgeous table settings. The smashing "Steel Band" was the final highlight of the evening. We will be thinking of the Royal for all of our future special events and cannot thank them enough for all of the care and concern they gave us!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks very much for posting your review.

It was indeed a honor for us to have been chosen as the venue for your husbands special 60th Birthday and that you had a perfect Dinner Dance Party at the Royal…

We look forward to hosting you for all future special events you may have in St Lucia.

Best Wishes

Richard Michelin
General Manager
Royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Salem, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The staff at this resort was very professional. My husband and I had a great stay. We were very impressed with the restaurant at the hotel. Great service and a wonderful waiter by the name of Mark. Five Stars!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors and beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks very much for posting your review.

We are delighted that you had a Great Vacation and find our Staff very professional especially Mark who looks after our fine dining restaurant Chic

Best Wishes

Richard Michelin
General Manager
Royal By rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Some of the friendliest people I've encountered. Great location on the beach at Rodney Bay. Rooms nicely furnished and staff very attentive. Had welcome cocktail hour with great finger foods......staff at the function appeared to truly care about opinions of the customers.

Room Tip: Balcony suites have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks for your comments that you find our staff some of the friendliest people you have encountered and that you enjoyed the location and our suites.
We look forward to seeing you next year..

Best Wishes

Richard Michelin
General Manager
Royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlette, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the Royal St. Lucian from April 2-8, 2014, with our two kids and my parents.

As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with a fresh glass of rum punch for the adults and regular punch for the kids. This tasted so good after a long day of traveling!

Greta welcomed us to the hotel, we made our reservations through her. She seemed very excited to meet us and walked us to our rooms. On the way to our rooms, she apologized that there was some work being done around the pool. They were putting down new tile around the pool, so there was just a small area that we wouldn't be able to use. No big deal to us, the pool area was large enough that it didn't bother us at all. The new tile looked very nice!

Narissa also welcomed us. She gave us information about the hotel's dining options and checked in on us during our stay to make sure we were doing ok. We also met Richard, the general manager. He also checked in with us regularly about how our vacation was going.

When we got to our rooms (one pool view and the other with a beach view) there was a beautiful plate of fresh fruit waiting for us. Again, wonderful after a long day! Both of our rooms very nice, the beach view was a little larger. There were flower petals arranged all over the room when we arrived. It smelled very fresh and clean!

We had no complaints with the rooms. The shower was amazing. It had three different shower heads. One on the ceiling for the "rain" effect, one regular that could be detached, and six wall heads that could be adjusted to shoot out where you wanted them to. It was really nice, my kids couldn't wait to use it every night! The bed was very comfortable. Between the sound of the waves and a great bed, it was the best rest I've had in a long time. There was also a nice tub in our bathroom, but it didn't get used because we loved the shower! We had a mini fridge, coffee maker and safe in our room. All very handy. We also had a large patio area overlooking the beach and Caribbean Sea. It was beautiful!

We decided to include the breakfast buffet with our room. Great choice! The buffet was great with breads, cereals, juices, fruits, bacon, sausage, pancakes, French toast and an omelette station where a chef would make whatever you wanted. I'm probably leaving something out, but you get the idea. Marilyn welcomed us the first morning that we were there. She was very friendly and really took good care of us. Every morning, she greeted us by name and talked to us about what we had planned. On the last day she let us take a few things from the buffet for our ride to the airport, in case we got hungry! Very sweet and accommodating! I would highly recommend adding the breakfast to your stay, it worked great for us.

The beach is great at this location. We visited other beaches while there and still like this location the best. We were approached by a few locals trying to sell their stuff, but we said "No thank you" and they moved on. We didn't have any problems with them. There was also a security guard on duty who introduced herself to us and let us know if we had any problems, she would be right there. Again, another very nice lady, we liked visiting with her! The water was clear and refreshing! The hotel also has chaise lounge chairs with umbrella huts for shade.

The pool was great with a swim up bar. My husband and I could enjoy a drink and watch the kids as well. Although, our kids seemed to enjoy the service of Kurby and Troy too. They made the kids virgin piña coladas every day. Pool + piña coladas + warm weather= happy kids (and parents!) Both Troy and Kurby were fun to be around...it's 5'oclock somewhere

Housekeeping did a nice job of cleaning the room every day. Another highlight was the treat that they left us each night. Every night they would bring a small plate of cookies and cake, my daughter and I really appreciated this!

We had a very nice vacation here.
We went there as guests and left as family. Narissa, Greta, Marilyn and Lestroy gave us all hugs before we left. We've never had that experience at a hotel before! I would definitely recommend this hotel for the friendly staff, beach, pool, food, and location within walking distance to stores and other restaurants!
Kelly Heussner



Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Many thanks for posting your detailed review on you and your families stay with us at the royal in April.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Your comments that you came here as guests and left as family are much appreciated.
I will definitely share this with all our staff who join me in saying that we look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes
Richard Michelin
General Manager
Royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal by Rex Resorts

Address: Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal by Rex Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acclaimed as one of the best in St Lucia, the spectacular mile-long Reduit Beach fronts this all-suite hotel while, with a backdrop of rainforest covered hills, atmospheric Rodney Bay is reached within a few moments stroll. Standing in beautifully manicured grounds, the hotel offers an elegant blend of privacy and sophistication. Beneath palm-frond parasols, elegant furnishings allow for lazy days on the sandy beach or relax instead by the large lagoon-style swimming pool shaded by palm trees. The Royal Spa offers an enticing variety of treatments ranging from a reviving jet-lag busting massage to sensual aromatherapy and body care while, for the more energetic, the fully-equipped fitness room is available free to our guests. A delicious full buffet breakfast is included at L'Epicure, an elegant al fresco restaurant next to the beach which also offers tantalising a-la-carte dinner choices. Fine dining experiences can be enjoyed at Chic in the evening while, cooled by gentle sea breezes, the Beach Tent is a perfect venue for lunch. Perhaps enjoy a cocktail at the charming Minstrals Lounge before visiting the elegant Oriental restaurant (seasonal) or Mariners buffet, located at the adjacent St Lucian by rex resorts, or strolling in to town to experience the local ambience. Children are welcomed at the Royal and can enjoy the childrens club available on weekdays at set times at our neighbouring hotel while everyone can benefit from the wide range of activities accessible locally including water sports, horse riding, golf and exhilarating tours to explore the natural beauty of St Lucia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, Regatta Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal By Rex Hotel Castries
Royal By Rex Resorts St. Lucia/Gros Islet
Royal St Lucian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.