We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal by Rex Resorts

Save Saved
You added Royal by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal by Rex Resorts
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in Gros Islet
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Some of the friendliest people I've encountered. Great location on the beach at Rodney Bay. Rooms nicely furnished and staff very attentive. Had welcome cocktail hour with great finger foods......staff at the function appeared to truly care about opinions of the customers.

Room Tip: Balcony suites have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks for your comments that you find our staff some of the friendliest people you have encountered and that you enjoyed the location and our suites.
We look forward to seeing you next year..

Best Wishes

Richard Michelin
General Manager
Royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    111
    28
    18
    11
See reviews for
60
144
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marlette, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the Royal St. Lucian from April 2-8, 2014, with our two kids and my parents.

As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with a fresh glass of rum punch for the adults and regular punch for the kids. This tasted so good after a long day of traveling!

Greta welcomed us to the hotel, we made our reservations through her. She seemed very excited to meet us and walked us to our rooms. On the way to our rooms, she apologized that there was some work being done around the pool. They were putting down new tile around the pool, so there was just a small area that we wouldn't be able to use. No big deal to us, the pool area was large enough that it didn't bother us at all. The new tile looked very nice!

Narissa also welcomed us. She gave us information about the hotel's dining options and checked in on us during our stay to make sure we were doing ok. We also met Richard, the general manager. He also checked in with us regularly about how our vacation was going.

When we got to our rooms (one pool view and the other with a beach view) there was a beautiful plate of fresh fruit waiting for us. Again, wonderful after a long day! Both of our rooms very nice, the beach view was a little larger. There were flower petals arranged all over the room when we arrived. It smelled very fresh and clean!

We had no complaints with the rooms. The shower was amazing. It had three different shower heads. One on the ceiling for the "rain" effect, one regular that could be detached, and six wall heads that could be adjusted to shoot out where you wanted them to. It was really nice, my kids couldn't wait to use it every night! The bed was very comfortable. Between the sound of the waves and a great bed, it was the best rest I've had in a long time. There was also a nice tub in our bathroom, but it didn't get used because we loved the shower! We had a mini fridge, coffee maker and safe in our room. All very handy. We also had a large patio area overlooking the beach and Caribbean Sea. It was beautiful!

We decided to include the breakfast buffet with our room. Great choice! The buffet was great with breads, cereals, juices, fruits, bacon, sausage, pancakes, French toast and an omelette station where a chef would make whatever you wanted. I'm probably leaving something out, but you get the idea. Marilyn welcomed us the first morning that we were there. She was very friendly and really took good care of us. Every morning, she greeted us by name and talked to us about what we had planned. On the last day she let us take a few things from the buffet for our ride to the airport, in case we got hungry! Very sweet and accommodating! I would highly recommend adding the breakfast to your stay, it worked great for us.

The beach is great at this location. We visited other beaches while there and still like this location the best. We were approached by a few locals trying to sell their stuff, but we said "No thank you" and they moved on. We didn't have any problems with them. There was also a security guard on duty who introduced herself to us and let us know if we had any problems, she would be right there. Again, another very nice lady, we liked visiting with her! The water was clear and refreshing! The hotel also has chaise lounge chairs with umbrella huts for shade.

The pool was great with a swim up bar. My husband and I could enjoy a drink and watch the kids as well. Although, our kids seemed to enjoy the service of Kurby and Troy too. They made the kids virgin piña coladas every day. Pool + piña coladas + warm weather= happy kids (and parents!) Both Troy and Kurby were fun to be around...it's 5'oclock somewhere

Housekeeping did a nice job of cleaning the room every day. Another highlight was the treat that they left us each night. Every night they would bring a small plate of cookies and cake, my daughter and I really appreciated this!

We had a very nice vacation here.
We went there as guests and left as family. Narissa, Greta, Marilyn and Lestroy gave us all hugs before we left. We've never had that experience at a hotel before! I would definitely recommend this hotel for the friendly staff, beach, pool, food, and location within walking distance to stores and other restaurants!
Kelly Heussner



Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Many thanks for posting your detailed review on you and your families stay with us at the royal in April.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Your comments that you came here as guests and left as family are much appreciated.
I will definitely share this with all our staff who join me in saying that we look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes
Richard Michelin
General Manager
Royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We are visiting this hotel for the first time and it certainly won't be the last.I'm here With my wife and daughter and wanted a relaxing few days.From the moment we arrived we fell in love with the perfect location and friendly staff.The hotel is situated on the sea front with spectacular views out to sea and most evenings you get a wonderful sun set.All the rooms are suites maintained to a very high standard,the food and service is always delivered with a smile and the staff are always friendly and helpful.For those who like me need Wi-fi I was delighted to have it in the room and is available all over the hotel and is of a good connection speed.This is one of the best holidays I have had and certainly one of the best hotels I have stayed in in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank You for posting a review on your recent stay.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us at the royal for the first time.

Many thanks for your positive comments and we look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes

Richard Michelin
General Manager
Royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Exhausted, stressed, and totally in need of a vacation, we arrived on property to be greeted by the most amazing staff. Everyone including Sylvester, Rochelle, the housekeeping staff, the maintenance staff, everyone, treated us like royalty! If you need to be pampered and in an exotic environment, this is the place to stay-bar none! This is our third trip I will certainly be back

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for posting your review.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us for the third time.
I have passed on your comments on our amazing staff to all those mentioned and we all look forward to your return visit for the fourth time.

Best Wishes

Richard Michelin
General Manager
Royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Travelers should note the following:

1) 1.5hr drive from UVF airport

2) Part of the pool is curerntly under contruction. Everything about the pool setting was perfect...the chairs are super comfy, nice umbrellas, etc...BUT it is pretty hard to relax when you hear power tools and hammering/banging going on basically most of the day from every spot of the pool deck. Would have much appreciated to know the pool was under construction before I booked.

3) The AC in our room wasn't working properly so we had to have maintenance fix it. After being told it was fixed, the temp in our room did not really improve much. Sleeping was a bit uncomfortable because of this.

4) Beware of the beach hagglers...literally every 5-10 minutes we had someone coming up and trying to talk to us and sell something. We were there to relax and not be bothered. So, if this sort of thing bothers you be prepared to stay at the pool all day. (We were told by a local that there are no private beaches in St. Lucia so it is likely that this goes on at most locations.)

5) The staff was super nice and friendly. No issues at all they were all great!

6) Great location. With a 5-10 min walk you can get to a great cafe and a few of the highly rated hotels in the area so that was extremely convenient.

Room Tip: beach front rooms will be quieter as they are farther from the lobby and center pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay with us.

It is most unfortunate that we did not entirely meet your expectations.

I am so happy you found our new pool furniture and the setting perfect we do apologize for any disturbance whilst you were by the pool.

To raise our standards higher we are changing the tiles section by section around the pool deck. This is being carried out by hand and not using any power tools and so far most guests have indicated that it does not inconvenience them as the area is cordoned off. I can only think that a power tool was used once to repair a wooden bridge in the area whilst you were here. This was completed quickly last week.
It is regretful that we were unable to meet your temperature requirements regarding the air conditioner in your room despite our maintenances efforts in trying to resolve this, but are happy to report that this is not the norm. As you report all beaches in St Lucia are public however the hotel does have a security guard posted in these areas if any assistance is required regarding this type of incident.
I am delighted that you found our staff to be friendly and the location great and hope that you might return to see us on another occasion.

Best wishes,

Richard Michelin

General Manager

Royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Royal by Rex is an excellent hotel. We stayed for ten nights in March (2014) and had a great time. The rooms are spacious and tidy, the staff are friendly, helpful and polite, and the hotel's location is fantastic: the beach is on the doorstep, Rodney Bay's shops, bars and restaurants are a short walk away, and the Friday night street party at Gros Islet is only ten minutes in a taxi (you have to go to this!).

Although we didn't have dinner at the hotel due to the range of nearby restaurants, the food that we did have was excellent. There was a pretty good selection at breakfast, from cereals and pastries, to saltfish and freshly cooked omelettes. I would, however, have liked to see a bigger selection of fruit, given what part of the world we were in (you get melon, pineapple, grapes and bananas), and then there was the tea (lipton's), which as anyone from the UK will tell you, is about as exciting as a wet Tuesday in Blackpool (in January). An upgrade to English Breakfast wouldn't go amiss.

There is a little bit of noise around the hotel at night from the amphibious residents. It took me a few days to zone out the endless "bleep bleep" that provided the soundtrack from sunset to sunrise, but that was nothing compared to the "squawk squawk" of the Virgin flight crew who spent the day either by the pool or the beach, endlessly talking shop or yelling out their cocktail orders. I should say that my irritation here stems from the fact that I work in the aviation industry too, so when you are trying to get away from it all and are surrounded by reminders of work, it gets on your nerves a little.

But back to the hotel... This is a really great place to stay. Yes, it could do with a lick of paint here and there and there were refurbishments to the pool area taking place when we were there too, but it doesn't detract from what was a great holiday. I think the credit for this goes to the staff. From management to Housekeeping, we were very well looked after. And we genuinely got the impression that they wanted to know what more they could do to improve. At the Manager's weekly cocktail party for example, many of the senior staff spent time chatting to us about our room, our thoughts on the food, and our overall experience, and they even got the drinks in too! Everybody went out of their way to be helpful. For us though, the star of the show was the barman, Troy (I hope you are paying him well, Richard!). As well as being a pretty creative mixologist, he has endless knowledge of the local area and beyond and greeted us every day with a handshake, a smile, and often a Bob Marley song too! He really made the pool bar a great place to sit and enjoy lunch and a cocktail. Top marks.

Overall: positive positive, positive. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: 1st floor or above for a great view of the pool and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for posting your review.

My staff and I are happy that you had a great time during your recent stay with us in March and found the rooms spacious, the staff friendly, the location fantastic and that the food that you had was excellent.

I have noted your comments regarding the selection of fruits which indeed are seasonal here and also am looking for a suitable English breakfast tea.

The “bleep bleep” is in fact the noise of our Caribbean crickets which frequent most gardens here and after a while are not noticeable.

I will certainly pass on your good comments and best wishes to Troy.

We all hope to see you back in the not too distant future.

Many thanks and best wishes

Richard Michelin

General Manager

Royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Our 3rd visit to this hotel but the first under this management team. 5 years ago it felt like the hotel was on a downward spiral but great to see that the new management are doing so much to return it to former glories: all rooms have been renovated and facilities about the hotel being renewed (we hope the tennis courts are next in line!). The beach remains beautiful but above all the hotel staff are the friendliest and most helpful we have met anywhere in the Caribbean. St Lucia has obviously had a tough few years in the global slowdown but is bouncing back - so come on sun lovers - give it another go soon

Room Tip: Ask for a sunset view. Stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
It was great for us to have you back to stay with us after five years for your third visit and that you enjoyed the improvements we are making and also found our staff the friendliest in the Caribbean.

Your comments on the tennis courts have been noted.

We all hope that you will not be away from us as long and that we will see you soon in the not too
distant future.

Best wishes

Richard Michelin

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal by Rex Resorts

Address: Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal by Rex Resorts 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Royal by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal By Rex Hotel Castries
Royal By Rex Resorts St. Lucia/Gros Islet
Royal St Lucian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.