We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shiny Happy People” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal by Rex Resorts

Save Saved
You added Royal by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal by Rex Resorts
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in Gros Islet
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shiny Happy People”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Our 3rd visit to this hotel but the first under this management team. 5 years ago it felt like the hotel was on a downward spiral but great to see that the new management are doing so much to return it to former glories: all rooms have been renovated and facilities about the hotel being renewed (we hope the tennis courts are next in line!). The beach remains beautiful but above all the hotel staff are the friendliest and most helpful we have met anywhere in the Caribbean. St Lucia has obviously had a tough few years in the global slowdown but is bouncing back - so come on sun lovers - give it another go soon

Room Tip: Ask for a sunset view. Stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
It was great for us to have you back to stay with us after five years for your third visit and that you enjoyed the improvements we are making and also found our staff the friendliest in the Caribbean.

Your comments on the tennis courts have been noted.

We all hope that you will not be away from us as long and that we will see you soon in the not too
distant future.

Best wishes

Richard Michelin

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    116
    29
    20
    11
See reviews for
60
144
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Lucia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

I live in Saint Lucia so if you are someone who believes in, "if local people eat (are present) at local establishments, then the food, (service)
must be good," then you can't go wrong staying at Royal St Lucia. This
resort, in my professional opinion, I am a TV and radio presenter and
magazine editor of international standing, is this; if you want a resort
that makes you feel comfortable, that's near the beach, that provides
excellent service and a tasty and wide selection of food and wines, and also allows you to keep in touch with business - then this is it! My opinion as a woman visiting with a partner for a weekend away from home is...What are you waiting for? It's romantic (get a sea-front suite) and more on the bedroom later...My opinion as a stressed woman wanting a get-away on my own, seeking a resort that provides everything I need including everything previously mentioned above, plus a gym and spa...Book now!
The rooms are spacious and clean. Beds are extremely comfortable and the shower...better than many I've experienced, in fact, at the top end of it.
Polite staff, a relaxing pool and the sandy beach makes this hotel a great choice if you want everything at your fingertips. You can dress casually and enjoy dining on the beachfront at the hotel's L'Epicure restaurant or feel great dressing up at the aptly named Chic Restaurant that provides
first-class entertainment.
Royal St Lucia's location is in Rodney Bay, the popular village for
visitors. Nightlife is near, but far enough away from it if you don't want
to participate in it. Experience Royal St Lucia for yourself, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay at the royal.

It is indeed gratifying that you enjoyed our facilities and services and we hope that you may continue to make us your weekend home away from home here in St Lucia and that in the future we can welcome you back to another of our fine dining events.

Best wishes

Richard Michelin
General Manager
Royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We spent weeks researching hotels & properties in St. Lucia for our getaway, and are so happy we landed at Royal by Rex. Upon request, the hotel sent a driver to the UVF airport. He met us with a smile and commentary of the island along the nearly 2 hour drive to the hotel. The $100US charge was worth it. We arrived at the hotel, were greeted with refreshing rum drinks, and assistance with our bags to a fabulous third floor room. Loved the bathroom with a large soaking tub and separate shower (shower wand + overhead rainfall + 6 adjustable jets on the wall). A separate living room with balcony provided a great view of the pool and beach. Fresh flowers were placed throughout the bedroom, bathroom & living room. The pool was beautiful, and even though part was blocked off for tile repair, we never heard any construction noise during our stay. Very attentive pool/beach attendants kept the area tidy and were happy to provide assistance with drinks/food/etc. We didn't eat at any of the on-site restaurants, primarily because we wanted to explore the local area. The wireless internet was free and we didn't experience any difficulty with connectivity. Overall, a wonderful experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks for posting your very positive review on your recent stay .

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your unofficial tour of our island on your way from the airport …
it certainly makes the drive seem shorter and answers a lot of questions before you arrive at your hotel.
I will certainly pass on your comments to our pool attendants as to how attentive you found them. I am also happy that you were not disturbed by our retiling a section of the pool area.

Looking forward to your return visit,

Best wishes

Richard Michelin

General Manager

Royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

A real gem of a place. Relaxed and understated, they let their service and standards do the talking. Staff are very welcoming, friendly, organised and you can feel that they are working all the time to make sure guests enjoy their stay. From the pool furniture to the breakfast experience, nothing is left to chance and everyone seems keen to push the standards up. We were really impressed. Position, rooms, beach, restaurants are all tip top. Relax into this place, let them look after you & you'll have a great break.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I spend christmas vacation this year at this hotel and in my 9 days here i got to know this hotel and the area quite well. Lets start with the hotel itself. Its located on beautiful garden property very well maintained and best part is its right on the beach side. Beach is very clean, plenty of lounge chairs but almost every day the hotel shares part of the beach with cruise ships and their guests can use all the hotel facilities bathrooms and restaurants so it can get bit crowded and long wait to get your lunch where service is already slow in times where there is nobody....but its ok you are on Caribbean time. All the staff here is very friendly and make your wait time pass by fast making delicious cocktails and giving you recommendations what to do on the island and where to dine. The rooms are large in form of suites big sitting room separate bedroom. We had huge balcony with gorgeous views of the garden and the sea. The housekeeping needs improvement every day it was struggle to replenish our bathroom and most of the time we were catered only for one although there were 2 of us in the room and it became bit pain to ask daily for soap and paper in resort that claims 4 stars and charges that price. We spend both Christmas day dinner and Christmas eve at the hotel which both were wonderful and deliciously prepared with nice caribbean entertainment. We loved dinning at the Tent which is very romantic hut sitting right on the beach and the night we had dinner we were the only ones there so it was wonderful experience. Across the street from the hotel are lots of restaurants and bars, that we tried and thats great about this hotel that you are not limited to resort dinning but you have lots of really good choices and the hotel takes care of your reservations pretty well. Hotel is walking distance to marina as well, where you can take catamaran and sail cruises which are great as well.The gym is pretty poor one running machine that feels like you are going to fell down, but we used it only during raining times we rather opted for water sports and being outside so that was not my big issue. Overall i would stay at this hotel again we had lovely time here. But there is one issue that I have problem with. They have Virgin Atlantic crews staying here and airline people have different agenda and schedule than people on vacation. They like to party and leave hotel at strange times so every day we had parties next to us and slamming doors left and right late at night and early mornings that was pretty annoying for 9 days. I have no problems with the crews staying here, but they should assign them set off rooms on one side of the hotel not mix then with people on holidays...thats usually the practice i know that from my own experience i am a crew member as well.

Room Tip: 2nd floor suites with pool and sea view are best...away from the crews
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Many thanks for your detailed review on your stay with us last Christmas.
I have noted your very positive comments on our facilities and food and beverage as well as your concerns regarding the replenishment of amenities and the gym.
Most important is that you would return on another ocasion and we certainly look forward to this in the not too distant future.
Your sugestion regarding the allocation of rooms has also been noted ,

Best wishes

Richard Michelin
General Manager
Royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

It was my first time in St Lucia And It will definitely won't be the last, I'll been nagged by very good friend of mine Dave Myers Who has been coming to this island for the past 35 years And told me it's probably the best
island in the Caribbean And guess what he was completely right, So he introduced me to all the best places on the island
including The Royal at Rodney Bay. I found all the staff very professional, The food was Amazing especially the
manager's club that happens every month, I found the rooms very clean and certainly not shabby as one tripavisor Stated.
I would totally recommend this hotel to Everybody it was a wonderful experience...so I say thanks to all the staff at the Royal For their warm and
professional service.
Many thanks Matthew

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments.

It is great to know that this was your first introduction to the Royal and that you will definately be returning.Please thank Dave for recommending you to our resort.

I am happy that you enjoyed our special Monthly Supper Club dinner in the Chic restaurant and found the food amazing and our staff very professional

We look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes

Richard Michelin
General Manager
Royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at this excellent hotel for the second time and found it even better than on the first occasion. This must be one of the best hotels in St Lucia for those seeking a quiet holiday in a wonderful location, excellent food, clean suites and extremely friendly and helpful staff and within a few minutes walk of good restaurants.
It is also a truly accessible hotel for wheelchair users and those with walking difficulties with a bed at the correct height for easy transfers, a roomy bathroom and a level access shower with a shower seat and hand rails..
The general manager Richard is very friendly and always about the premises checking that his visitors are happy and that all is well. The chef is excellent providing exceptional food in the Chic restaurant and on the beach if required. Breakfasts are also a relaxing experience served overlooking the beach and craft off shore.
We will return next year if at all possible.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for posting your very positive revue on your recent stay.
It was our pleasure to welcome you back to the Royal by rex resorts.
It is most gratifying for the staff and me to know that you found it even better than last year as we are continuously improving our accommodations, our poolside area with new loungers and day beds, and retiling where necessary to try and give our guests the best vacation experience possible.
I am most happy that we were able to enhance our facilities for wheelchair users and those persons with walking disabilities and thus make your stay more comfortable.
Many thanks for your most valuable input in this regard.
Looking forward to seeing you again next year

Best wishes

Richard Michelin

General Manager
Royal by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal by Rex Resorts

Address: Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal by Rex Resorts 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Royal by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal By Rex Hotel Castries
Royal By Rex Resorts St. Lucia/Gros Islet
Royal St Lucian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.