We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal by Rex Resorts

Save Saved
You added Royal by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal by Rex Resorts
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in Gros Islet
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We returned the Royal in St Lucia in mid October, for our 4th visit. This time we were staying in a wonderful suite with a big balcony facing the ocean. The friendliness of the staff and the overall ambiance of the hotel is fabulous. The suite had been completely renovated and the bathroom was outstanding with state of the art modern design. The shower was simply wonderful.
Every time we come to St Lucia and stay at the Royal we talk about the friendliness of everyone working there. Whether it be the staff in the lobby, in the restaurants or the maids. We already know some of the staff because of us coming back again and again. This time we always got a little evening treat to our room, which was very nice. We also were really pleased with the breakfast and our favourite was the St Lucian saltifsh and bakes with the local coco tea. It's quite addictive :)
The location right on the beach is superb, beautiful clear water good for swimming, snorkling or/and sunbathing. Outside of the hotel you have Rodney Bay, where there are many things to do.But for relaxing and romancing, the hotel itself is the best place to be. Sitting on the balcony watching the sailboats on the water during the day and then the beautiful sunset at night is an experience I would not want to have missed. It's like being in Paradise. We just came back home and we are already planning my next visit :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thanks for posting a review on your 4th visit to the royal.
Delighted that you enjoyed the newly renovated suites and our rain showers. Great that you experienced some of our local cuisine as well.
If you need any recipes let me know.
We all look forward to seeing you back in the near future for number 5....
All of us send Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    114
    28
    18
    11
See reviews for
62
146
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you looking for a great location in St Lucia and great customer service with friendly staff I really recommend this resort. We stayed for 3 nights and were great. Amazing location by the beach with WiFi also what's it's great , breakfast with delicious omelettes of your own choice and flavoured and delicious pancakes great location also for all the best restaurants, just need to cross the road ! The rooms are large and got lounge too, amazing bathroom nice and tidy with amazing welcome with flowers on the bed , great touch !!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thanks for your comments on our customer service and friendly staff.
Our free WiFi is defiately a plus,see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We returned to the hotel in June this year to celebrate our wedding anniversary ( having got married at the Royal 5 years earlier).... and it was just as amazing! The staff are incredible and welcomed us back. Nerissa who had planned our wedding was so helpful and could not do enough for us. We even had a room upgrade to one of the fabulous suites overlooking the beach. These rooms have been modernised and were extremely spacious with high quality furnishings. The food in the hotel is as excellent as it was previuosly. It was very quiet whilst we were there - however that suited us perfectly! All just perfect and would recommend as an ideal location to celebrate! We will be back for our fourth visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for posting your review .
We were delighted to welcome you both back to the Royal for your 5th wedding Anniversary. Thanks for the comments on our staff giving you such a warm welcome back , the newly renovated suite ,and the food which was excellent.
Looking forward to seeing you back for many more visits in the future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This review is strictly related to the dinner offered by the Royal on New Years eve and not the accommodation.

We were in St. Lucia for New Years eve 2012, and as such, were trying to select a place for dinner. Most restaurants offer a prixe fix dinner for around $120 US per person. Some include alcohol, others do not. We wanted something on the beach, and Royal appeared to be a good fit. They were offering a buffet with a combined price of 568 EC dollars for a couple, including a bottle of wine. Once you are seated, you are brought you wine, and no more than 2 minutes later, asked if you want additional cocktails from the bar. You are asked almost every 5 minutes
if you want to purchase additional drinks. Similarly, when you wine glass is 1/3 full, a waiter will come by and fill you glass almost full. Both of these were not appreciated. The food is sub-par, and honestly worthy of about $15 per person at any other time and location. You had your selection of salads, mac and cheese, a carving station, pasta station and stir fry station. The desserts were also lacking, and were mostly left untouched by the guests. At the end, we were charged an additional 50 EC as a tip and 50 EC for VAT. The total was around 700 EC, which is about $270 for a dinner that was only worth about $25.

Do yourself and favor and stay away from the restaurant and most importantly the buffet at the Royal if the price exceeds $15 per person.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for posting a review concerning last years New Years Eve Dinner.

We are naturally sorry that we did not meet your expectations with our food and service that night.

We fully appreciate that this is an important night for all and will go all out to ensure that this years function will be even better than last.
For this years New Years Eve, our Chefs have created an Epicurean Dinner Fair featuring themed food stations with live cooking, Salad and Antipasto Bar, Chefs Carvery with roast lamb and roast strip loin, Fisherman’s Grill, Brasserie and more. And to finish assorted cheeses and around eight different desserts and Flambee. The night will be rounded up with party favors , fireworks and live music again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hard to fault really, The Royal is in a great location. The beach is just beautiful and not cram packed full of sun loungers except on cruise ship days. A moments walk from the supermarket for snacks and in-room drinks, close to two shopping malls for duty free gifts, and right in the heart of the restaurants and nightlife in Rodney Bay. The rooms are very spacious and the resort has a clean, well cared for feel to it. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. I'm not convinced it is truly 5*, but that wouldn't stop us coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We hosted our wedding at the Royal St. Lucian this year. We stayed at the hotel and had our guests stay there as well and had a wonderful experience. The hotel was quiet and beautiful. Rooms are large and clean. Bathrooms are very modern and spacious. Customer service was good and staff were very friendly. Food was excellent. Highly recommend getting the breakfast option. The breakfast station is amazing! The food at our wedding was fantastic! We had many compliments on what a delicious buffet selection we had thanks to the Canadian chef. Above all, this hotel is located on the most beautiful beach in the Caribbean!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It was indeed our great pleasure to have hosted your wedding ceremony,reception and have your family stay with us for that time.

We are delighted that you found our rooms large and clean,our bathrooms modern and spacious and our staff friendly and customer service good.

The Canadian Chef, Eike and the Food and Beverage Staff are happy that you enjoyed your wedding banquet and the entire team and myself wish you and your husband our "Best Congratulations", and every good wish for the future....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We originally book our vacation stay at the St. Lucian. However we were moved to this hotel since they closed down for renovation. The hotels were next door to each other. The hotel is not what I expected for all inclusive. There is not 24 hours food available, or a lot of activity going on for entertainment. However, the room were very nice and the staff was even better. Prior to arriving at the hotel we had did some research and found out about zumba lesson being offered. When we arrive we were told that it was no longer offered. The Guest Service Manager Nerissa saw we were a little disappointed, and so she set us up to workout with the personal trainer during our stay. The spa was excellent as well, the Spa Manager Yvonne was very personable. Spencer at the spa gives the best massages in the World!! They also have the best bartender in the world Kevin, made our stay so enjoyable and Kurby a.k.a Bob the Builder had us laughing non stop. The dining servers were very friendly, such as Rebecca and Max. The food may not be all day long, but it was yummy. I really enjoyed BBQ night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on your stay with us at the Royal.
We note that you were transferred from the St Lucian due to renovations.The Royal is normaly operated as a non AI property however we do regret that we did not meet your expectations in this regard but were delighted that you liked your newly renovated suite,the staff,the spa,and that your massage was" the best in the world"So glad that you found our food yummy especially barbeque night.
I have passed on your comments to all the staff mentioned and we hope that you might return one day to St Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal by Rex Resorts

Address: Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal by Rex Resorts 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Royal by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal By Rex Hotel Castries
Royal By Rex Resorts St. Lucia/Gros Islet
Royal St Lucian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.