We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal by Rex Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Royal by Rex Resorts
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Sale! Save up to 55%
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hard to fault really, The Royal is in a great location. The beach is just beautiful and not cram packed full of sun loungers except on cruise ship days. A moments walk from the supermarket for snacks and in-room drinks, close to two shopping malls for duty free gifts, and right in the heart of the restaurants and nightlife in Rodney Bay. The rooms are very spacious and the resort has a clean, well cared for feel to it. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. I'm not convinced it is truly 5*, but that wouldn't stop us coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    116
    28
    18
    10
See reviews for
62
147
8
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We hosted our wedding at the Royal St. Lucian this year. We stayed at the hotel and had our guests stay there as well and had a wonderful experience. The hotel was quiet and beautiful. Rooms are large and clean. Bathrooms are very modern and spacious. Customer service was good and staff were very friendly. Food was excellent. Highly recommend getting the breakfast option. The breakfast station is amazing! The food at our wedding was fantastic! We had many compliments on what a delicious buffet selection we had thanks to the Canadian chef. Above all, this hotel is located on the most beautiful beach in the Caribbean!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It was indeed our great pleasure to have hosted your wedding ceremony,reception and have your family stay with us for that time.

We are delighted that you found our rooms large and clean,our bathrooms modern and spacious and our staff friendly and customer service good.

The Canadian Chef, Eike and the Food and Beverage Staff are happy that you enjoyed your wedding banquet and the entire team and myself wish you and your husband our "Best Congratulations", and every good wish for the future....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We originally book our vacation stay at the St. Lucian. However we were moved to this hotel since they closed down for renovation. The hotels were next door to each other. The hotel is not what I expected for all inclusive. There is not 24 hours food available, or a lot of activity going on for entertainment. However, the room were very nice and the staff was even better. Prior to arriving at the hotel we had did some research and found out about zumba lesson being offered. When we arrive we were told that it was no longer offered. The Guest Service Manager Nerissa saw we were a little disappointed, and so she set us up to workout with the personal trainer during our stay. The spa was excellent as well, the Spa Manager Yvonne was very personable. Spencer at the spa gives the best massages in the World!! They also have the best bartender in the world Kevin, made our stay so enjoyable and Kurby a.k.a Bob the Builder had us laughing non stop. The dining servers were very friendly, such as Rebecca and Max. The food may not be all day long, but it was yummy. I really enjoyed BBQ night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on your stay with us at the Royal.
We note that you were transferred from the St Lucian due to renovations.The Royal is normaly operated as a non AI property however we do regret that we did not meet your expectations in this regard but were delighted that you liked your newly renovated suite,the staff,the spa,and that your massage was" the best in the world"So glad that you found our food yummy especially barbeque night.
I have passed on your comments to all the staff mentioned and we hope that you might return one day to St Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I recently moved to a new state and I decided to go on vacation and meet one of my best friends in St. Lucia. We we're originally booked at the St. Lucian by Rex Resorts but due to construction we were upgraded to The Royal by Rex Resorts. We were greeted with a beautiful, delicious, and ice cold rum punch along with a cold towel for our faces after a long day of travel. We were then escorted to our room that at first glance seemed great but as soon as we walked into the room we saw a large roach and immediately we asked for a different room. Originally the manager was hesitant to give us a new room which caused huge frustration but eventually we were given a new room. The suite was newly renovated and simply gorgeous the bathroom, bedroom and living room were the perfect accommodations for a week in paradise. The entire staff was great , they were willing to go above and beyond the expectations to meet every need that we had. The spa was one of my favorite places on the resort. I received one of the best massages that I have ever received in any spa, by a masseuse named Spencer. Trust me if you want a great massage please go see Spencer you definitely won't regret it. He made our experience at the spa an event to remember. Another staff member that was delightful the entire week was the bartender Kevin, he mixed great drinks, introduced us to new drinks and also informed us of local events that we might be interested in. The meals were delicious and made to order at designated times of the day. As an all-inclusive guest I would have preferred to have the option to eat buffet style at any time of the day and not at certain times. I wanted the freedom to explore the island whenever I wanted to and not build my excursions around certain meal times. We booked an excursion day with the travel company stationed at the hotel and for $130 US dollars we were able to participate in land and water activities for an entire day. The resort also recommended local attractions that were great places for tourist to explore.The location was ideal for any traveler interested in the night life, cultural activities, and the beach life. Before I booked the trip the reviews were not aligned to the experience that I had. All and all I was presently surprised by the great accommodations the welcoming staff, ice cold drinks, delicious food and the beautiful island of St. Lucia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank You, for posting your reveiew on Trip Advisor on your getaway trip to st Lucia and your stay at the Royal.
I have passed on your comments on the great massage you had from Spencer and the service from Kevin at the bar.
It was good to have you stay and experience our resort first hand and we look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our 14th visit to St Lucia and my husband Brian and I were delighted when we were upgraded to the Royal Hotel due to refurbishment work going on in its sister Hotel the St Lucian next door. The Royal is the jewel in the crown of all the Hotels in this area of St Lucia. The suite that we were allocated was very large, with high quality furnishings and fittings (fantastic walk in shower). We had breathtakingly beautiful views over Reduit Beach and the turquoise waters of the caribbean sea. As the sun set each night at about 6.15pm the sky turned into a marvellous array of colours. Part of this Hotel's attraction as well as its large rooms and immaculately kept gardens is the lovely selection of food. The buffet for breakfast each morning was simply mouthwatering and the kitchen staff love to engage in conversation with you as they prepare your personally made ommelette, fried eggs etc. We spent nearly an hour each morning having an extremely relaxing breakfast in a airy partially open dining room with marvellous views. Hummingbirds darted about outside on the patio sharing the large exotic flowers with colourful butterflies. The staff are the most wonderful bunch of friendly, helpful, warm, attentive and delightful folk anyone could ever hope to meet on holiday. We were truly pampered from our arrival to our sad departure. Some of the staff we knew from our previous visits to the St Lucian and they greeted us warmly as returning members of their Rex family. Greta as Reservations Manager will ensure that your Holiday goes without a hitch and her attention to detail is excellent, five star. She is well assisted by Nerissa from Customer Services who will check in with you regularly that everything is going well. David, Monica and Marilyn from the dining room will ensure that your dining experience is perfect. Other staff we met for the first time such as Ermin whose cheery smile as she went about her waitressing duties was delightful, and the very helpful Kevin and Kurby from the bar whose kept it wellstocked. Gillian and her maid colleagues provided a wonderful housekeeping service and the 'turn down' services each night were very welcome and luxurious with more fresh towels and biscuits. Finally last but not least we have to mention Troy who undoubtably is the best bartender in St Lucia. We were fortunate enough to be in St Lucia on the day Andy Murray won Wimbledon and after watching such an exciting match celebrations were in order. Troy made up his very own Blue and White cocktails in Andy's honour and together with a Scottish couple we toasted Andy and everyone were sleeping beauties that night after all those delicious cocktails!!! Thanks Troy and keep on with the 'Interviews'. There is a new General Manager of the Royal and St Lucian Hotels - Mr Michelin - and it was great to meet him at the Manager's Cocktail Party. He took a personal interest in his guests and always spoke to us enquiring if all was well, if he met us after that. I hope his plans for the future go well and we will certainly fly the flag here in Ireland for the Rex Resorts. The Spa facilities are very good and my husband can personally recomend Spencer's massages. The Royal Hotel is a perfect hotel for those who want a great location, lovely rooms, excellent dining experiences, relaxing atmosphere and attentive staff. We will be back. Many thanks Royal staff for a truly memorable holiday. The McCloys.

Room Tip: None, all the rooms are roomy and have great views whether over the gardens or the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
It was indeed our pleasure to have welcomed you and your husband back to St Lucia for your 14th visit.
We are happy that you enjoyed your return visit and our services .
Your comments regarding our staff have been passed on and are much appreciated,
Looking forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My first visit to St Lucia and very pleasantly surprised at the quality and service in the Royal Rex. The staff were fantastic, especially the General Manager who took a personal interest and made my holiday a truly memorable experience.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms have a better view than the ground floor rooms but they do not have direct acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your comments on your first visit to our beautiful Island and The Royal.

We are delighted that you found the quality and staff, fantastic, and that this made your visit a memorable experience and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We had an outstanding experience from the unexpected and refreshing Rum Punch upon our arrival to the attentive, engaging and delightful staff ensuring our comfort until our departure. Kurby and Troy mixed delicious drinks and suggested fun outings including the Friday Night Jump Up. Within walking distance or a short taxi ride to restaurants (Wingz & Tingz is a must) the Marina, and shops, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip advisor.
We are very pleased that you had a outstanding experience.
I have passed on your comments to Troy and Kirby.
We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal by Rex Resorts

Address: Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal by Rex Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acclaimed as one of the best in St Lucia, the spectacular mile-long Reduit Beach fronts this all-suite hotel while, with a backdrop of rainforest covered hills, atmospheric Rodney Bay is reached within a few moments stroll. Standing in beautifully manicured grounds, the hotel offers an elegant blend of privacy and sophistication. Beneath palm-frond parasols, elegant furnishings allow for lazy days on the sandy beach or relax instead by the large lagoon-style swimming pool shaded by palm trees. The Royal Spa offers an enticing variety of treatments ranging from a reviving jet-lag busting massage to sensual aromatherapy and body care while, for the more energetic, the fully-equipped fitness room is available free to our guests. A delicious full buffet breakfast is included at L'Epicure, an elegant al fresco restaurant next to the beach which also offers tantalising a-la-carte dinner choices. Fine dining experiences can be enjoyed at Chic in the evening while, cooled by gentle sea breezes, the Beach Tent is a perfect venue for lunch. Perhaps enjoy a cocktail at the charming Minstrals Lounge before visiting the elegant Oriental restaurant (seasonal) or Mariners buffet, located at the adjacent St Lucian by rex resorts, or strolling in to town to experience the local ambience. Children are welcomed at the Royal and can enjoy the childrens club available on weekdays at set times at our neighbouring hotel while everyone can benefit from the wide range of activities accessible locally including water sports, horse riding, golf and exhilarating tours to explore the natural beauty of St Lucia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal By Rex Hotel Castries
Royal By Rex Resorts St. Lucia/Gros Islet
Royal St Lucian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.