We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly regal experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal by Rex Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Royal by Rex Resorts
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Wetherby
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A truly regal experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My first visit to St Lucia and very pleasantly surprised at the quality and service in the Royal Rex. The staff were fantastic, especially the General Manager who took a personal interest and made my holiday a truly memorable experience.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms have a better view than the ground floor rooms but they do not have direct acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your comments on your first visit to our beautiful Island and The Royal.

We are delighted that you found the quality and staff, fantastic, and that this made your visit a memorable experience and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    136
    31
    21
    10
See reviews for
70
179
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had an outstanding experience from the unexpected and refreshing Rum Punch upon our arrival to the attentive, engaging and delightful staff ensuring our comfort until our departure. Kurby and Troy mixed delicious drinks and suggested fun outings including the Friday Night Jump Up. Within walking distance or a short taxi ride to restaurants (Wingz & Tingz is a must) the Marina, and shops, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip advisor.
We are very pleased that you had a outstanding experience.
I have passed on your comments to Troy and Kirby.
We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel is lovely - great location on reduit beach with lovely breakfast dining room looking out to sea while being in the midst of the bars and restaurants in Rodney bay. The suites are nice - very big, nice balconies, big bathroom, good air con. Maybe not quite ultra -luxe, posh 5 start standard but maybe i'm just spoiled! The service could be better but overall this is one of the better hotels ive stayed in in rodney bay and on't think you'd be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and we are happy that that you enjoyed the facilities and location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Having visited St Lucia many times before, we decided thsi time to stay in a hotel instead of with family. One of the best decisions we've ever made.

I cannot fault the Royal in St Lucia, The staff were always so helpful in giving advice when needed but would also have a general conversation with you when they weren't too busy. This is a good thing about a hotel in my eyes.

The food provided by th hotel was absolutley devine, I am unable to fault the food or the service.

To all the staff I thank you for making our stay enjoyable. But a special thanks to Troy the barman. For keeping the drinks coming all day every day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This 8 day trip to St Lucia was our 25th wedding anniversary and no doubt the best vacation my wife and I have ever had. We were originally booked in their sister resort and up graded to the Royal due to renovations closing the original resort. We were greeted by Richard the General manager and his staff along with a couple of drinks that were well needed after our one and half our trip from the airport. We used this time to soak in the view of this beautiful island, so please enjoy your transfer trip and view it as mini tour. The resort itself was very warm and inviting with an open air lobby and gorgeous beach front room with a private balcony over looking the ocean. We had an all inclusive package and never had a bad meal. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were always just the right amount and dinner was never the same twice(I recommend the Pumpkin soup). The waiters, waitresses and entire staff were very friendly and always available. The highlight of stay was spending time with the bartenders Kurby and Troy, they were very entertaining and a pleasure to talk to. The beach is breathtaking and very clean, we did not run into any cruise ship guests while we were there, but then again it was off season. The shopping area is within a ten minute walk from the resort and a great way to get out and stretch your legs. It was no problem to get a cab or go anywhere, the front desk is very helpful in this area. My wife and I took a walk on the beach one night after dinner and found a sea turtle making it's way out from the water, the Royals beach guard came down to see what we were looking at and we all watched as the turtle(Juliette) my wife named it, made its way to the top of the beach and laid her eggs. We stay with the guard and waited till she was strong enough to make her way back to the ocean. The guard then roped off the area where the eggs were and stayed guarding them till morning. A true miracle to witness. If were ever lucky enough to make it back to St Lucia, there is no doubt we will choose to stay at this resort again. Richard and his staff made our anniversary truly a dream vacation for us. Thank you again.

Room Tip: The Beach front suits have the most beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the Royal for 2 weeks for our honeymoon, having been upgraded from it's sister hotel as it was closed due to refurbishment. We were not disappointed. On arrival we were greeted by the manager and made to feel very welcome, our room had been nicely decorated with flowers, bubbly and fruit and had an excellent room overlooking the pool and sea, we had a deluxe suite. We were all inclusive and the food and drinks were brilliant. All food was made to order and was to a very high standard. There were also BBQ's twice a week which were very nice. All staff made us feel very welcome and the customer service was excellent. Troy, the barman makes the best cocktails and we enjoyed hearing his stories in his search for true love! As we visited during the quieter season we practically had the hotel to ourselves, there were about 8 - 12 others guests who we saw throughout our stay, along with the Virgin cabin crew and pilots who stayed once a week. The hotel is set in a fantastic location on Reduit beach which has crystal clear waters and plenty of water sports available to keep you busy. The cruise ship guests visited the beach once a week on a Thursday, however we didn't really notice any difference apart from a couple more people on the beach. The hotel is also only a 5 minute walk from the nightlife and shops in Rodney Bay. We used the spa while we were there, however it is quite small. We were very lucky to be upgraded to this hotel, would stay again if we were paying the same price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor with a pool/sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on your recent Honeymoon at the Royal.
It was a pleasure meeting you and having both stay with us
I will certainly pass on your best wishes to Troy and the rest of the staff.
We hope that you might return another day for one of your future special anniversaries….
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

It was a nice hotel on nice grounds and the beach was fabulous so I cannot fault that. How ever I expected more from it how it is advertised. I would not call it a five star perhaps a strong 3 border line 4 star. the restaurants where good and served nice food but I expected more for its price tag. dont think I will be going again but if you had a deal to go here I would avise try it out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on your stay last year in July.
We regret that we did not meet your expectations then but in the last 12 months have been making a number of improvements to our accommodations and services and will be upgrading our poolside and dining areas this summer .
We sincerely hope that you might change your mind and come stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.1 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 17 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Lucian by Rex Resorts
St. Lucian by Rex Resorts
#10 of 17 in Gros Islet
3.5 of 5 stars 1,256 reviews
2.6 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
12.4 mi away
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Anse Cochon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal by Rex Resorts

Address: Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal by Rex Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acclaimed as one of the best in St Lucia, the spectacular mile-long Reduit Beach fronts this all-suite hotel while, with a backdrop of rainforest covered hills, atmospheric Rodney Bay is reached within a few moments stroll. Standing in beautifully manicured grounds, the hotel offers an elegant blend of privacy and sophistication. Beneath palm-frond parasols, elegant furnishings allow for lazy days on the sandy beach or relax instead by the large lagoon-style swimming pool shaded by palm trees. The Royal Spa offers an enticing variety of treatments ranging from a reviving jet-lag busting massage to sensual aromatherapy and body care while, for the more energetic, the fully-equipped fitness room is available free to our guests. A delicious full buffet breakfast is included at L'Epicure, an elegant al fresco restaurant next to the beach which also offers tantalising a-la-carte dinner choices. Fine dining experiences can be enjoyed at Chic in the evening while, cooled by gentle sea breezes, the Beach Tent is a perfect venue for lunch. Perhaps enjoy a cocktail at the charming Minstrals Lounge before visiting the elegant Oriental restaurant (seasonal) or Mariners buffet, located at the adjacent St Lucian by rex resorts, or strolling in to town to experience the local ambience. Children are welcomed at the Royal and can enjoy the childrens club available on weekdays at set times at our neighbouring hotel while everyone can benefit from the wide range of activities accessible locally including water sports, horse riding, golf and exhilarating tours to explore the natural beauty of St Lucia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Royal by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal By Rex Hotel Castries
Royal By Rex Resorts St. Lucia/Gros Islet
Royal St Lucian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.