We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently refurbished hotel in the happening spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal by Rex Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Royal by Rex Resorts
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Gros Islet
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Recently refurbished hotel in the happening spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Having been disappointed before by hotels that don't live up to their photos on the web, I can honestly say that this hotel looks even better in person. Some of the design elements don't quite work right (the vessel sinks splash and the waterfall showers flood easily), but the staff is working out the kinks. The pool is beautiful and the beach is white sand perfect for walks and swimming. We were also able to walk to so many restaurants, we didn't get to try them all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    114
    28
    18
    10
See reviews for
61
147
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was our second time in St. Lucia so we knew that we wanted to stay in Rodney Bay where there are lots of restaurants, stores and a supermarket within walking distance. So we chose Royal by Rex Resorts because it was recently refurbished and on the beach. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were attractive and comfortable. The rooms are all furnished with two twin beds that slide apart easily so be sure to request for the beds to be tied together if you'd rather have one bed. There were some problems with the water pressure and temperature of the showers, in addition to flooding the bathroom. These issues were rapidly rectified by the staff. The pool and beach were both beautiful, but some of the recliners were uncomfortable. Service at poolside was spotty and we often had to wait a long time for drinks and snacks. Breakfasts were OK and one dinner we had was excellent. The spa was nice and I had a couple of good massages. Even with the issues I mentioned, I would probably stay there again if we return to St. Lucia.

Room Tip: Be aware that there are three floors so request a first floor if you don't want to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We originally booked all inclusive at a 5 star and decided to move as we wanted to be beachside, less 'formal', and have access to all the local bars and restaurants. This hotel was excellent for all that - the pics speak for themselves. Don't be put off by the outside being a little old fashioned in places - the beach location, refurbed rooms, pool, gardens, staff and restaurant are all definitely 5*. We were so pleased we moved - we got to kick back, relax and sample the local cafes and restaurants. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful (special notice to Marie Anne on reception who bent over backwards for us, but really, all the staff were wonderful), the room was modern and lovely, and the overall atmosphere, well what can we say - it all added up to just the R&R we wanted. Plus because we weren't all inclusive, we got a much better feel for what was on offer locally and enjoyed sampling what the local businesses had to offer, so we felt we had a much richer experience for all that. And we liked the fact that that also meant we shared some of our $$ around the locality. Perfect restful holiday, thank you.

Room Tip: Know what you're getting - ask for refurbed room and beach view if that's what you'd lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just back from a great trip to the Rex Royal. The hotel is in one of the best locations on the island, right on a lovely sandy beach with good swimming and central for many of the better restaurants and bars. The staff were wonderful and the food (although we only had breakfasts) was very tasty and reasonably priced. We had a beach front room that had been modernised (apparently some have not so far) and it was spacious, comfortable and well furnished with all the usual things you would expect from a 4*. As an experienced traveller I would not hesitate in recommending the hotel...enjoy and thanks!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My fiance and I visited in Feb 2012. We booked at the Rex hotel next door and received a complimentary upgrade to the Royal. We were very pleased with this.

The staff are very polite. We were greeted with rum punch upon arrival.

Rooms are spacious but very very dated. Bathrooms were cracked and stained and overall just looked as if they have seen better days. Furniture and carpet are the same. Hotel grounds are also dated but were well maintained.

Location is excellent - on Reduit beach. Beach is lovely. There are many restaurants and night spots in walking distance. This is a good location for exploring the Rodney Bay area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at this resort between 2 - 9 November 2012. I was informed by the locals that the weather in St Lucia is great all year round. October and November are regarded as the rainy season in November, however you wouldn't think it.

I was very impressed with the Royal by Rex and if you are thinking of not going all inclusive then this Resort is the one for you. Firstly, the location of the hotel is perfect, it is situated right in the heart of the Rodney Bay strip. You are a 5 minute walking distance from all the top restaurants, Spice of India, Le Terasse, Wingz n Tingz, Chef Xavier, Delirius, etc. You are also a 5 minute walking distance from the Lucian Centre (where you can book excursions) and also many bars/clubs. The hotel is also approximately a 5 minute drive to the Marina and also about 10 mins drive to the Jump Up street party in Gros Islet. One thing i would advise is that the cabs in St Lucia are not cheap so please be prepared.

The staff at the Royal by Rex are such lovely people and everyone always stops to greet you (not always with a smile though). If you ever need something the staff are willing to help, however remember this is the Caribbean and therefore service is not always speedy. The breakfast is very pleasant in the morning and the staff are attentative. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful and special shout out has to go out to Marie Anne and Lestroy, who were very lovely individuals indeed. Another special shout out has to go out to Troy who was always full of humour and had a smile.

The hotel is along Reduit Beach (which is the only white sand beach in St Lucia) and is regonised as the best beach in St Lucia. One thing i will mention is that the beach is not private and therefore you do get a lot of individuals approaching you however a polite "i'm not interested" usually does the trick.

The reason why this hotel is only a 4 star from me is because i agree that the decor needs some slight improvement to make it a 5 star hotel. There were also a few issues with the TV not working, however we were in St Lucia, and therefore the TV not working was not an issue to us. The bathroom was fantastic with an amazing exotic shower. The pool was great and the spa was awesome and we certainly enjoyed our treatment.

I genuinely believe that this hotel deserves to be higher in the list than it actually is. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone out there and i would certainly return. Many thanks to all the staff at Royal for making our holiday a memorable one!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your review on the Royal St Lucian.
We are happy to hear that you were very impressed with our location and our staff.
Being located on the beautiful Reduit Beach is indeed a plus.
We are constantly striving to make things better for our guests, and our newly renovated suites are the first step towards this.
I will certainly pass on your thanks to all the staff.
Looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were return guests to the Rex this October but this time took our daughter and grand-daughter with us. The resort had been closed for a month and had just opened a week before we arrived. We have never felt so welcome - Chrystel on reception checked us in after a long journey from Edinburgh and even carried my hand luggage to make sure that the rooms allocated were suitable. We had a day of very heavy rain and unfortunately water came in through the roof in the early hours of the morning - no problem for Ronald our night porter who moved us in an instant and even checked on us at breakfast (try that in the UK!!). By the afternoon a bottle of champagne was waiting "as we shouldn't have to be disturbed like that" said Greta in housekeeping. Everyone bent over backwards to look after the family. the service all round was second to none with the Manager taking on board any tips to improve his resort but with staff who could remember you from three years ago what more could you ask for except more of the same. We will certainly be back and so will our daughter and grand-daughter. Thanks to all who make our fortnight fabby. See you soon.

Room Tip: We had booked a garden room but they placed us in poolside rooms so that we could have the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal by Rex Resorts

Address: Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal by Rex Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Regatta Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal By Rex Hotel Castries
Royal By Rex Resorts St. Lucia/Gros Islet
Royal St Lucian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;