We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, location, and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal by Rex Resorts

Save Saved
You added Royal by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal by Rex Resorts
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Gros Islet
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel, location, and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have been to St Lucia 11 times, but this was my first visit to the Royal. All I can say is wow! The suites are amazing and spacious, very contemporary with a large walk in shower, lovely lounge with sofas and flat screen TV, and the petals on the bed were a nice touch! The staff are so friendly and helpful, and as a result I will be recommending this hotel to everyone I know. Reduit Beach is great with lovely views of Pigeon Island, and just down the road is the Baywalk Shopping Mall, Casino, restaurants, and bars (I recommend Delirious). Best hotel location on the island in my opinion. We were on the island for three weeks, and stayed at the Royal for only two days, but I wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRoya, General Manager at Royal by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent review on Trip Adviser.
I am delighted that you found the Royal Staff and our location wonderful and that you enjoyed staying in one of our newly renovated Royal Suites and the experience of our new large walk in showers…
We look forward to your return visit and now that you know us,... a longer visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    114
    28
    18
    10
See reviews for
61
147
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bexley, Kent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

In our opinion, the hotel has two significant advantages over other hotels on the island. The first is location right on, arguably, the best beach in St Lucia and also within walking distance from a range of good quality restaurants and bars in the Rodney Bay area. The second is the staff, who are friendly, polite and competent, making special occasions quite touching. For our anniversary, we returned to our room to find a scent filled path and the room filled with candles and petals, with chocolates left in the bed. A really nice touch, we thought. It is true that some of the communal areas are in need of freshening up but other than that the bedrooms are very spacious and most have a newly refurbished bathroom. We had one of the beach front suites which are very good value and give a tremendous view of the sunsets in the evenings. The hotel is often a little quiet, especially at the time of year we visited, which has positives and negatives. The pool is never busy - which is good but overall the hotel lacks a little 'atmosphere'.

Room Tip: Choose a beach front suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have previously visited in 2007 and 08 and loved it so much we returned this year. The hotel is in an excellent location with an idyllic beach and views of Rodney Bay. All rooms have a sea view and we stayed in one of the newly refurbished suites. The bathroom was superb, with the best shower we've ever experienced, the bedroom area is raised and curtained and the lounge was perfect for reading and relaxing. It was kept immaculately clean throughout our stay and nothing was too much trouble.
It was our wedding anniversary and we received a bottle of prosecco, chocolates, a personalised card and petals strewn over the bed and a trail into the bathroom with candles too! It was beautiful.
The staff are wonderful and made you feel very special.
The location is perfect for fantastic restaurants (we've done some recommendations) and there is a wide choice for most tastes.
On the down side, we felt that some areas of the hotel were a little 'tired' and security on the beach could have been a bit more vigilant, although we didn't have any problems. It was just the beach vendors really who could be quite persistent.
We have mentioned this to the General Manager who assures us areas are being addressed.
All being well, we do intend to return next year too!
Recommendation for a wonderful taxi driver who was very friendly, polite and knowledgeable ~ Vincent can do tours, transfers, sightseeing and shopping trips, anything really! He was always on time and reasonable prices. (758) 717 2973

Room Tip: All rooms are sea view, just make sure you ask for a newly refurbished one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairburn, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed at Royal by Rex In Castries, St. Lucia 5 days and really loved it. I was fortunate to get a newly renovated room that was great. When I entered the room the bed was covered with flowers, the living room had a nice large TV, refrigerator, and balcony facing the pool and beach. The bathroom was the bomb as I had water flowing down from the top and water flowing from the jets on the wall. Really wonderful I thought I was in the spa. The hotel is in a great location right on the beach. In fact, they have the best beach and location on the island. The beach is simply beautiful. In addition, to the beach the pools were also very nice; one pool for adults and one pool for children. Oh, you must go to the restaurant in the evening the food is superb and I guarantee you will return. The restaurant is the day time was also good and had a wide variety of food to choose from for breakfast. The hotel staff is great and eager to help in any way they can. In fact, you will never want for anything. The location is wonderful because you can walk down the street to the Casino and there's a small shopping center in walking distance. You're not far from the clubs either. So, you see you're near all the action.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms. Rooms in the center are nice because you are facing the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We spent 3 weeks in St Lucia and had a fabulous time. Our wedding planner, Nerissa Stephen, was amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. Nerissa was friendly, helpful and so organised. We had the most stress-free time and enjoyed every minute of our time in St Lucia. Our wedding was absolutely beautiful; the location, food, decorations - everything was perfect. We had a fantastic photographer, Peter, provided by the Hotel, who did an excellent job. All of our guests who stayed at the resort had a great time, and agree that we were all treated like VIPs. Overall, the staff at The Royal and The St Lucian Hotels were so friendly and helpful, we can't praise them enough, and really can't wait to return.
Christine (nee Allain) & Ray Williams

Room Tip: The view from our Beachfront suite overlooking Reduit Beach, was amazing, especially at sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 week holiday at this lovely Hotel. We have been before and each time we go it just gets better and better. The suite that we were allocated this time had a terrace looking directly over the beach. We spent many late afternoons watching the sun setting over the Caribbean sea, and the sunset colours were amazing. From the minute we arrived at the Hotel we were pampered from the welcoming drink and warm towel to the flower bedecked massive bed. The suite had recently been redecorated and it was pure luxury. The large walk in shower was amazing and a real refreshing experience. The a la carte breakfast in L'Epicure was sheer decadence and Maralyn and Marthalina fussed over us and attended to our every need. We will celebrate our 22nd wedding anniversary in September and the staff knew this and on our last night we had a lovely surprise when we found our bath filled up with bubble bath, a large bottle of chilled champage and glasses sitting nearby and a trail of rose petals and tea lights leading from the bathroom to our rose petal bedecked bed with delectable choclates on the pillows. Romantic or what!. The Chic restaurant is one of the best on the island and the food and discreet waiter service is fabulous. The grounds of the Hotel are immaculate and the beach setting is without doubt unrivalled anywhere in St Lucia. It was a fantastic holiday and we thoroughly enjoyed it, coming home refreshed and very spoilt. Thank you Greta and staff for making our holiday one of the best ever. We have treasured memories to keep us a going a lifetime. I cannot recommend this excellent Hotel enough. We cannot wait until next year.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lovely view over the gardens and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at the Royal by Rex in Castries, and absolutely loved it! The hotel was exceptional, the location can't be beat, everything was fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal by Rex Resorts

Address: Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Business Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal by Rex Resorts 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Otel, Regatta Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Royal by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal By Rex Hotel Castries
Royal By Rex Resorts St. Lucia/Gros Islet
Royal St Lucian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.