We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5***** Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal by Rex Resorts

Save Saved
You added Royal by Rex Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal by Rex Resorts
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in Gros Islet
N Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“5***** Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 week holiday at this lovely Hotel. We have been before and each time we go it just gets better and better. The suite that we were allocated this time had a terrace looking directly over the beach. We spent many late afternoons watching the sun setting over the Caribbean sea, and the sunset colours were amazing. From the minute we arrived at the Hotel we were pampered from the welcoming drink and warm towel to the flower bedecked massive bed. The suite had recently been redecorated and it was pure luxury. The large walk in shower was amazing and a real refreshing experience. The a la carte breakfast in L'Epicure was sheer decadence and Maralyn and Marthalina fussed over us and attended to our every need. We will celebrate our 22nd wedding anniversary in September and the staff knew this and on our last night we had a lovely surprise when we found our bath filled up with bubble bath, a large bottle of chilled champage and glasses sitting nearby and a trail of rose petals and tea lights leading from the bathroom to our rose petal bedecked bed with delectable choclates on the pillows. Romantic or what!. The Chic restaurant is one of the best on the island and the food and discreet waiter service is fabulous. The grounds of the Hotel are immaculate and the beach setting is without doubt unrivalled anywhere in St Lucia. It was a fantastic holiday and we thoroughly enjoyed it, coming home refreshed and very spoilt. Thank you Greta and staff for making our holiday one of the best ever. We have treasured memories to keep us a going a lifetime. I cannot recommend this excellent Hotel enough. We cannot wait until next year.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lovely view over the gardens and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    111
    28
    18
    11
See reviews for
60
144
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at the Royal by Rex in Castries, and absolutely loved it! The hotel was exceptional, the location can't be beat, everything was fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from 2 weeks holiday in St Lucia staying in the Royal Hotel. This was our 6th visit to the island and our 2nd staying in the Royal.
Yet again everything lived up to our expectations. This time we were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and my husbands birthday and the staff went out of thier way to make it all very memorable.
Since our last visit the rooms have been updated and were extreemly comfortable.
All the staff were really friendly and helpful and we would especially like to mention Nerrisa. Thankyou again!!
The gardens are always immaculate. The pool extreemly clean and the beach is exceptional.
We always do room only as there are plenty of really good restaurants within walking distance.
As for sight seeing these are 3 outings we would recommend. A visit to the Volcano and Botanical gardens, Rain Forest experience and Pidgeon Island.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Royal Hotel in St.Lucia and I have to say that we have had an exceptional holiday there. We were very pleased with the comforts of the newly renovated modern suite/room that we had, fully airconditioned, very nicecly furnished as well as very spacious. The resort is beautifully maintained with the staff working hard to keep the lovely grounds in immaculate condition.

The staff at hotel were wonderful, they really tried to please and where very willing to provide any assistance we require, superb service overall. I must say a big thank you to Marlyn, Nerissa, Shirley, Troy and Evancia for taking such good care of us during our stay.

In addition to the above, the location of hotel is the best on St Lucia from our exerience, situated within the stunning surroundings of Rodney Bay, which offers a wonderful beach and choice of watersports. A major attractio of this location is the fact that there are many superb restaurants and a large shopping mall all within a 10 minute walking distance. I highly recommend the following restaurants - Buzz, Chef Xavier, Big Chef, La Terrance and The Edge. The hotel also has 2 excellent restaurants in Chic and L'Epicure which we also enjoyed very much.

For the above reasons I highly recommend the Royal Hotel and the Rodney Bay area in general if you are considering a trip to St Lucia - its a fabulous place that everyone should visit at least once!

We certainly plan to come to back to St Lucia and stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Just back to a cold and rainy UK after two weeks in St Lucia, one week of which was spent at The Royal, and wishing we'd stayed on the plane and headed straight back there! The Royal is in a good location, close to the shops, restaurants and on a beautiful beach with lots to keep the us all occupied. It was a bit empty, sadly, as that detracted from the atmosphere a bit but the staff made up for it by making sure we were entertained when we wanted to be and left in peace when we wanted some romantic time. The resort restaurants are not brilliant, good for breakfast, but there's so much to choose from close by that it doesn't really matter. The room was large, very comfortable and clean and the views across the ocean to die for. I'm missing sunset on our balcony sipping a pina colada, or a Piton beer for hubby! All in all, happy with our choice of hotel in Rodney Bay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This was the first time i had gone to St Lucia and i thought it was amazing especially the hotel because unlike other hotels this one is on the far end of the island meaning that instead of being isolated to one part of the island you got to have a look at some villages and beautiful views of the island. Also the trip was not that long either and it was always entertaining. The hotel its self was amazing because instead of going to a swimming pool or a beach swimming with people it was lovely and quiet like you had the whole place to yourself but not too quite where its just freaky. The rooms were lovely and there is so many restaurants to choose from you could go to a different one every night. This hotel is amazing!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The Royal in St.Lucia was the perfect place for a family holiday in the sun.Ideally located inches from beach; our room was first-class- and the staff persistently attentive to all our needs. It was relatively quiet (not crowded) which suited us all.
Giant bed for parents and plenty of room and space for two children ( 16 & 8). Food was very good; breakfast was a feast within itself.
The only tiny criticism I have is that we were there over Easter period and any children club activities seemed to have ben suspended for this duration.
But otherwise, the hotel people and the hgotel facilities were terrific. I would unreservedly recommend the Royal. My family voted- four to nil- that we would definitely be coming back next year. And that's a first.

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the pool. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal by Rex Resorts

Address: Reduit Beach, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal by Rex Resorts 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Royal by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal By Rex Hotel Castries
Royal By Rex Resorts St. Lucia/Gros Islet
Royal St Lucian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal by Rex Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.