We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff at Cap Maison

The Cliff at Cap Maison
Cap Maison | Smugglers Cove Drive, Cap Estate, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
758 457 8681
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 60 restaurants in Gros Islet
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Incredible setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Set on a cliff overlooking the water, it has an amazing view of Matinique and Pidgeon Island. We didn't stay there, but the resort seems beautiful. Very classy place. One of the priciest places we ate, with lunch costing $65US. Def paying for setting, but it is worth it.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    177
    66
    17
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

This venue is a must if visiting the Rodney Bay area. The setting is stunning. We had an amazing dinner. Food was excellent. We are going back before we leave. This time. We will arrive at 6 pm to enjoy the sunset and then dine. I agree with other diners that it is very special and expensive but absolutely worth it!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely superb in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

Superb location with specatular ocean views, waves crashing below, lights of martinique in the distance. Food matched the location, was absolutely top class - the sea bass and lobster risotto as good a meal as I have had. The service was first rate, very friendly and attentive. I did spend a bit though, but for the location and quality I was happy enough with that. A couple of rum punches (have to try those, very tasty and with a kick) and a couple of bottles of wine capped off a great evening. If you are a foodie and going to St Lucia, this has to be top of your list.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pricey, but nice for a special occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Exceptional view to watch the sunset. Visited there on New Year's Day when they had a special (set) tapas menu. Pricey; smaller portions; but very well presented and certainly enough to eat. Service was a bit slow, but we were in no hurry. Had to get our bill corrected as they tacked on someone else's drinks from when we had before dinner drinks on the lower terrace.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good food, accommodating to special needs but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed at Cap Maison for almost a week and had most of our meals at The Cliff. First, it is definitely not cheap. You will not pay less than $50 for lunch (with one drink) and not more than $150 for dinner (with one drink). The food is also not to American proportions i.e. more European, smaller dishes. However, the island seems to be rather pricey as are most islands and though this restaurant was more expensive than other places we ate, the food was also much better. The chef really does an amazing job making the food rather mouth watering. Further, I am a vegetarian and they did everything possible to make food that I could eat and changed things around for me to accommodate my needs. It really made a difference. The staff is friendly and the food and beverage manager is really great. Oh and of course, you can't beat this view. It is just breathtaking. After a week, I didn't get sick of the food or the view!

  • Visited December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cliff at Cap Maison also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to The Cliff at Cap Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff at Cap Maison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.