We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond special in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff at Cap Maison

The Cliff at Cap Maison
Cap Maison | Smugglers Cove Drive, Cap Estate, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
758 457 8681
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 60 Restaurants in Gros Islet
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beyond special in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

As the name indicates this rich, darkwood and softly lighted gem is perched cliffside. The manager greated us by name and thanked us for joining them. We enjoyed perfectly made sohisticated cocktails watching sunset while the waves crashed below. One of our party is a worldwide Rum collector and was very pleased with the exotic Rum menu-- and enjoyed several. There was a choice of two prefix meals that both were fantastic. Delicious flavors, and some courses came in flights for a wonderful array of things to experience. Our evening included to different sets of backgound musicians. Early on there was local island music, followed by Carl, the smooth jazz guitarist. We found him to resemble a mix of Geroge Benson and Eric Clapton. Our service was attentive, but not intrusive. If you only go out one place, consider the Cliff...and gents, please wear a sportcoat, your ladies and the other clientel will appreciate it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    71
    18
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Stunning location & great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The best meal we had in St Lucia. Dramatic location high over the sea with beautiful views. Helpful keen to please staff. Their several course tasting menu was about £60 ($90 US) per person & was delicious. Worth the prices asked because food was superb & setting was magical. Highly recommended. Loved it. Hope that's helpful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic location over the waves crashing onto the shore below”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Elegant dining with a sophisticated menu and attentive service. Well worth a visit for a special occasion. The location perched on a cliff was spectacular. Good for a romantic couples evening or an impressive first date.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with great views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

While staying at Sandals, we wanted to get off the resort and checkout the local fare as well as take a break from mediocre food. We found The Cliff at Cap Maison and we wish we would have found it earlier in our trip! The restaurant sites on top of a cliff with amazing views of the water, especially at sunset. The food was absolutely amazing! It was one of the few places on the island that we found finer wines as well as food and service that would give any Four-star restaurant in North America a run for their money. Highly recommend you going there at least once. You will likely want to come back before your trip ends!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad and Tobago
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Cliff is located in the North, a few minutes away from our hotel. I rated this so high because I was mesmarised by the atmosphere. there was a two person band with a female singer and a man on a guitar- she has an amazing voice. Her voice and the location made the visit worth it. the service was average, the food was good but not great. Prices were on par with the nicer places we've been to on the island.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cliff at Cap Maison also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to The Cliff at Cap Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff at Cap Maison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.