We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff at Cap Maison

The Cliff at Cap Maison
Cap Maison | Smugglers Cove Drive, Cap Estate, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
758 457 8681
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 61 Restaurants in Gros Islet
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Truly beautiful location for a restaurant with very good service, exceptional beverage selection and wonderful food.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    72
    19
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This restaurant has great food and has great ocean views. We visited for my wife's birthday and the staff was incredibly friendly. They also have live entertainment on certain nights.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

To be honest, we ate very well here but I think the reviews made my expectations too high. My partner and I eat at many Michelin restaurants in London and would probably consider ourselves foodies and so did expect a similar type experience here. If you are a foodie, I don't think you will come across anything new. It misses in a couple of places like not being very accommodating to an egg allergy (substituting a well prepared and nice looking amuse bouche with sliced tomatoes and basil), and a palette freshener that was too strong (a miniature mojito that ended up impacting our pallets with too much lime flavor so that our wine tasted badly afterwards and we had to drink lots of water to get back to neutral before our mains arrived). I can see how others would rate this quite high however, as it is much better than the average food that can be found elsewhere in St. Lucia.

Nonetheless, we did have a wonderful evening. The food was quite good and we did enjoy eating it... it's just not quite Michelin standard as others have suggested. The service is impeccable and of course the surrounding beautiful. I just don't think it should have been so expensive ($200 USD for two starters, two mains and a ["cheap"] bottle of wine-- including service). Like I said, this is not to say we didn't enjoy ourselves and that we wouldn't recommend it, just a note that others may wish to be prepared for.

Another thing I would advise is to go early in the evening to enjoy the view. We arrived at 7:30 and because it was winter time, the sun had already set and there wasn't much a view to enjoy. The atmosphere was still quite nice, however, and romantic-- there was a woman with a beautiful voice accompanied by a man on guitar who entertained us for the evening.

Overall, lovely. Just expensive!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“christmas cheer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Had Christmas dinner here - party of 7 set menu with turkey
etc, obviously menu devised to allow kitchen staff to service as
many customers as possible but they did well. Visited a week later
in the hope of trying the full menu, when we arrived they were
serving a 'tapas'/taster menu which they had not told us about
so yet again given very little choice although they did allow us
to pick larger portions of the taster menu. The food was very
good - such a pity we could not have chosen for ourselves.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a restaurant should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Beautiful setting, fabulous food, professional, attentive and "knowledgeable" staff. Impeccable service.
Truly a "don't miss" experience if in St. Lucia.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cliff at Cap Maison also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to The Cliff at Cap Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff at Cap Maison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.