We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance, warm welcome...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marjorie's

Marjorie's
Cas en Bas, Gros Islet 758, St. Lucia
7585200001
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 69 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Marjories is the real taste of St Lucia, the very best of local food served in a unique location - Cas en Bas beach.We serve locally sourced and in season products and specialize in fish and chicken but we have much more on the menu than that.Come and try out the best kept secret in St Lucia and "lime" the day away watching the activity in and around the bay.
Castries, St. Lucia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, warm welcome...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

If your the indidvidual you dont like the ordinary, and love to see less commercialise parts of the island, Marjories the place to be. Its where the locals hide out on Sundays and Holidays away from the large crowds on the beaches.
Majorie is like a mother to all customers who enter her place, you immeditely feel the warmth and the true St.Lucian hospitality.
The food is sumptuous home cooking, and if your a lover of rum punch this one will certainly give you a buzz. The food and drinks are quiet inexpensive so its worth the little bad road you will be traveling before her safe haven.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARJORIELAMBERT, Owner at Marjorie's, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review

We look forward again to seeing you at Marjories
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    21
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
former NYr
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“By Land, Sea, or Horseback.... However you get here, get here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Marjorie's Cas-en-Bas Beach Bar is the absolute coolest restaurant on earth. Whether you brave a washed out road and blow your shock absorbers, take a boat through choppy waters and slide up on the beach, or ride horseback to get to Marjorie's Place, know that you must go. This place is the epitome of Saint Lucia. The beer and rum flows well, the seafood is wonderfully flavored with local spices, and the view is of a beach and tree lined cove. Absolutely beautiful.
I loved the huts, benches, beach chairs, umbrellas, wooden deck and bar. The sporadic conglomeration makes for a visual masterpiece. Truly. I hope that the pictures convey even a sliver of the feeling that overwhelmed us as we enjoyed our visit. So much so, by the way, that we returned the following day. Thank you Marjorie!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A St. Lucia Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

We went to Marjorie's as part of a horseback riding trip. It is a little shack on a quiet beach area. There were people that did come and go from other areas. There was a british couple hanging out with their two kids that seemed to know the place. The people were friendly and Marjorie was very sweet. We bought some souveniers there which were a little expensive. But the best rum punch I had on the island. And the food was terrific. We were there for a couple of hours and wouldn't have missed it. There seemed to be a very rastafarian atmosphere and they hold full moon parties every month. We were invited like family, but we were a little too chicken to go.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARJORIELAMBERT, Owner at Marjorie's, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review

We look forward again to seeing you at Marjories

You should have come to the party :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach - bring your own lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

The beach is hard to get to, but is very pretty. There were not a lot of people on the beach, but it is a peaceful spot to see. One word of caution....we had lunch at Marjorie's restaurant. While the meal was quite tasty the price was extremely expensive for the simple meal. We were shocked.....lesson learned always ask the price of the meal prior to sitting down. It was not worth the price. Next time we will bring our own lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARJORIELAMBERT, Owner at Marjorie's, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and sorry to have taken so long to reply.

The internet is not our world but is becoming more so - 5 years to reply!

I am sorry that you did not think you had value for money.

Everyone enjoys our food but it is true we provide a service to a small clientele in a remote location which means we are not looking to and cannot compete with more central restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marjorie's also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Marjorie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marjorie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.