We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calabash Cove Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Calabash Cove Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   Marisule | Bonaire Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Calabash Cove is an intimate (26 rooms) boutique hotel. The grounds are beautifully manicured. Rooms are thoroughly cleaned each day. The staff is friendly and eager to assist. The beach is small, but there are always ample loungers (sometimes you have the beach to yourself) and it is manicured each day. The weather was perfect with highs in the 80's, lows in the 70's, moderate humidity and an occasional (and brief) tropical shower plus a constant breeze! We stayed in a junior suite in the main building.

We did not do the all inclusive because we are not big drinkers and like to go light on lunch. Breakfast is included with all packages and it was very satisfying with a daily special.

For lunch we often had fresh local fruit and vegetables supplemented with food from a grocery store in Rodney Bay.

Room service was always tasty and served quickly.

The open air dining room gives a beautiful vista of the bay and great views of sunset. The evening meal offered several daily specials and featured some well prepared pasta dishes and we enjoyed dorado and chicken entrees.


Would we come back? Yes!

Room Tip: Never rent a car--winding, narrow roads without signs--Calabash Cove will secure a taxi on short not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    48
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
258
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

What a wonderful resort! We stayed here 8 nights in July 2012 for our honeymoon. We had an ocean view suite on the second floor. The room was very nice and spacious. Breakfast was included in our room rate which was delicious (the pain au chocolat is a must!) Some mornings we opted to have it delivered to our room, other days we ate at the open air restaurant which had views of the pool and bay. We also enjoyed dinner several nights at the restaurant. Calabash Cove is not in walking distance to any attractions on the island but the hotel would set us up with a taxi. One thing I found very convenient was the taxis give you a cell phone for you to call them when you were ready to be picked up from the location they dropped you off at. The resort for the most part was quiet, relaxing and laid back. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful. The staff was great, friendly and very helpful with planning our excursions. They also have air conditioning which I found some of the other resorts on the island do not. I would definitely return to Calabash Cove.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Firstly, the staff team at Calabash Cove made us feel like we were family. They regularly thanked us for choosing them, remembered our names and hugs all around when we left. Special mention to Resort Manager Unita, Restaurant Manager Chris, Pool bartenders Jonathan and Lance, front desk's Kenisha and the lovely lady who created awesome towel art in our cottage every day (and Jonathan's bride) Jessica. We stayed in Cottage 5 which was the single dwelling (the other 8 cottages are semis), and having a private plunge pool was heaven on earth. The outdoor shower experience was unique and I never could get comfortable showering out there after dark. The bedroom had an air conditioning unit but the rest of the cottage was screened and could get warm...perhaps the only downside of the cottage. Food was terrific, tried almost everything. There isn't much length to the beach but for the small size of the resort, it works - just not for a walk!
If you are seeking a boutique style private resort, all inclusive, I highly recommend Calabash Cove!

Room Tip: Cottage 5 is the only single dwelling cottage. The rest are private but semi style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Calabash Cove certainly lived up to our hopes of it being the perfect place for a very lazy winter break in the Caribbean sunshine to recharge the batteries. It's intimate yet spacious, set in beautifully manicured gardens with a lovely and very private beach, topped off by excellent staff & service. It's definitely the place for you if you're looking for low-key R&R. Our only real criticism would be aimed at the food, or more specifically at the head chef. The food (lunch/dinner) was perfectly edible, but we fear that the lack of genuine creativity, craft & execution in the kitchen is what will prevent CC achieving a world-class reputation. We will certainly return to CC, but will seek assurances beforehand that this has been addressed.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a wonderful time in this most relaxing, small boutique hotel. No fight for a deck chair, plenty to sit on in many places. Gorgeous views from our suite, beautiful flowers to walk through down to the beach. The kind gardener gave us a guided tour and explained the wonderful flowers trees and fruit. The staff were very friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble. Excellent food and no booking a table. Free water on a fully inclusive basis and more drink than you can handle! Cocktails a speciality. Perfect for forgetting your troubles!

Room Tip: We had 108, that was lovely, handy for restaurant and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have just returned from 10days at this great hotel. Small and special, the staff are friendly
the service is exceptional. You don't have to book a table in the restaurant, the food is particularly good, at a table overlooking the bay, white tablecloths and soothing and not too loud live music in the evenings.
No fighting for sun beds and no piped music, quiet, select and relaxing,what more could we want.
Breakfast cooked to order (only one restaurant) any request we made not on the menu was
not turned down, staff always willing to please.

Only small things on the negative side: avoid room 201 which is next to a staff door and noisy kitchen, there a lot of steps as the hotel is built on a hillside. The beach and grounds are limited so not a lot of walking available.

Privacy: the bathrooms are unusual as the bath/jacuzzi is out in the room, and sinks the same. Also the lights are such that if you get up in the night, the switch puts on several lights that include the toilet, so in the middle of the night you will have to wake your partner if you go to the loo. Not
a big problem, but mildly irritating.

Golfers: if you book with the hotel it will cost you double, my husband went direct to the golf club
and paid half the price quoted.

Most guests middle aged (like us) or over whilst we were there in January 2013.
We did have a few rain showers which is quite usual.
We had a lovely time and look forward to going back next year. Highly recommend if you want to get away from busy and noisy resorts.

Room Tip: Recommend room 210.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Having spent a week in south being spoilt rotten, we were slightly perturbed when we arrived after the specified check in time and our room wasn't ready. So after lunch at the pool bar, which took an age to arrive, (non-descript food, bad service) we were finally shown to our room. I don't really understand why hotels insist on calling their rooms suites when they obviously aren't, it's a room. But that's for another day... The rooms was functional and the air conditioning was refreshing. A few things would have improved the room: better electrics. There was one light switch for the whole bathroom. Not a massive problem but if nature calls at night, you can't turn the light on (unless you want to wake up your other half). Also slightly treacherous negotiating the steps in the dark.
The service was probably the worst we've ever had. Breakfast on average took 90 minutes. 90 minutes!!!! It was a la carte which is a bad idea, a buffet would have been a lot more practical. Here's a run down of an average breakfast sitting: 9am sit down, 9.10am water poured, 9.15am order tea/coffee & food (croissants, fresh fruit & an omelette, not rocket science), 9.35 tea/coffee arrives, 10am food arrives (but could be longer...) It was astonishing. I know people say that St Lucia operates on "island time", this might be the case but no other restaurant or hotel on the island took this long for a simple meal.
The beach is not all it's cracked up to be - very small but does the job. The pool is nice too but we avoided it as not keen on the other guests who spent the whole day sitting in the pool at the bar.
We didn't eat dinner in the hotel so can't comment on the food there but I would definitely suggest eating out around Rodney Bay. There are some amazing restaurants, namely Buzz, La Terrasse and Spice of India. It was a small hotel so can't comprehend why people would go all inclusive and not sample what the area has to offer.
The hotel is between Rodney Bay and Castries. A taxi to Rodney Bay costs 40ECD, so taxis do add up if you are out every night. We had a great driver called Owen who drove us every day, along with his wife. They did us a deal on the price and were there whenever we needed them. If you'd like his number, please send me a message.
So overall, Calabash Cove was not for us. It felt soulless after the hospitality we experienced in the south.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calabash Cove Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabash Cove Resort and Spa

Address: Marisule | Bonaire Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Calabash Cove Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gently sloping, tropical beachfront on the northwest coast of the island, Calabash Cove is one of just a select few five-star resorts on St. Lucia. Nestled in the sheltered bay of Bonaire Estate, Calabash Cove is perched on a hillside sloping gently towards the Caribbean Sea, where cool ocean breezes provide a wonderful respite and the turquoise sea is offset by the vibrant green of tropical vegetation and views of Walcott Island. A private beach and nearby coral reef provide the perfect place to rest, reflect and dream. The resort has been designed with great care to complement and exist in harmony with the beauty of the natural surroundings. The main buildings of the hotel, such as the lobby, restaurant, bar, sanctuary, and infinity pool with waterfall lie on a slope, with the villas in the midst of lush vegetation perfectly situated to view nightly sunsets. The natural elements of earth, wind, light and water are represented in the exotic wood, stone and natural materials used in the composition of the buildings. The peaceful and tranquil gardens, under the care of one of the finest landscape architects in the Caribbean, have been created to capture and optimize the natural splendor of the area and are filled with vibrant, fragrant flowers set amid groves of trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Calabash Cove Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calabash Cove Hotel Gros Islet
Calabash Cove Resort And Spa St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calabash Cove Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.