We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All I can say is "WOW"!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Chef Steak House

Big Chef Steak House
Reduit Drive | Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
758 450 0210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 61 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Brush Creek, Tennessee
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“All I can say is "WOW"!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Visited here recently with some friends and all I can say is WOW! The was an absolutely amazing meal! Our group was rather large, and I can say we didn't have a single thing that was bad. The salads were wonderful, the bread was amazing, huge wine list and the variety of drinks were off the charts, but the steaks....oh my, the steaks were so good I would almost swim there from the US just get one again. I had the 22 oz prime rib and it was cooked to perfection. They had an ample dessert menu as well, and they were sooooooo good! Several people that we spoke with regarding the gem said this was one of the best meals they had ever had. Highly recommended!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    142
    52
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
“One of the best steaks we've had in the Caribbean or anywhere! And one of those divine eats that are 'better than sex'!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We were heading to Tapas for an earlyish dinner, only to be informed by the Big Chef staff that they were closed on a Sunday evening for dinner. We have been meaning to visit Big Chef Steakhouse for some time but always felt for something other than steak. This time, we had a browse of their menu and were suitably impressed by the variety on offer, so we decided to stay for dinner.

There are several alcoves / dining areas, all decorated tastefully under a low ceiling which has the feel of a Mexican hacienda.

We were the first patrons for the evening so had the restaurant to ourselves for some time before others started filing in. Despite the restaurant being empty, it did not feel desolate. The acoustics work well so that sound does not echo and you don’t hear your neighbours’ conversations either.

Service was fine with the waitress being very personable. She brought us complimentary Bruschetta since our orders were the first into the kitchen and would take a while to prepare.
This was a generous and thoughtful gesture which we appreciated.

We ordered a 12oz. Peppercorn New York steak and the 8oz Three Mushroom sirloin. The prices were a bit on the higher side for St. Lucia but certainly about what you would expect to pay at a fine-dining speciality steakhouse in North America or elsewhere. It was slightly less than the prices at Prime, the Caribbean’s top steakhouse in Trinidad.

The cost of our two steaks inclusive of sides with an added au poivre sauce, 1 fruit juice and 2 glasses of house red wine came to EC$320 or US$121. It certainly ended up being a splurge for the meal but we felt that it was totally worth it!

The steaks were so scrumptious and perfectly done to our medium-to-well requests. I couldn’t stop going ‘hmmmm’ from the very first bite to the last! It was simply divine!

Excellent steaks and totalling satisfying meal! We would happily return and highly recommend the splurge here for a fantastic steak treat for any occasion!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Steak house in the tropics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We did not expect such a great steak house on St. Lucia. We stuffed ourselves on wonderful food at a reasonable price

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Love, love love the steaks at this place, never dissapointed.A trip to St Lucia must include a trip to big chef

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Simply an amazing place to eat fantastic steak! Visited during honeymoon and it was fabulous. We went twice, and both times was one of the best eating experiences of my life. Steaks were sent from heaven, and they were washed down with wonderful cocktails. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Chef Steak House also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Big Chef Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Chef Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.