We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in St Lucia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Chef Steak House

Big Chef Steak House
Reduit Drive | Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
758 450 0210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 61 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Baytown, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best meal in St Lucia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Being from Houston I know what a good steak is. The Big Chef could hold its own with any fine steak house anywhere. The filet will melt in your mouth. The sides are generous and tasty, and the seafood is as good as any for the non-beef eaters. Be sure to save room for desert.

The entire waitstaff was attentive and knowledgable, but our waitress, Kissie, was warm, welcoming, and on top of her business.

If you are in the Rodney Bay area don't miss the Big Chef.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steak House, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for your great recommendation, and we're very happy your Big Chef experience lived up to your Texan standards. Although we're known for our steak, the team takes great pride in preparing every dish with the same attention to quality and flavor. Hope we'll see you again soon in Rodney Bay. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    142
    51
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parrish, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Ok. But down the street is better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Slow, expensive, and steak was chewy and undercooked for medium. Air conditioned and more American steak house feeling, but would rather go to Fire Grill just a little ways away. Much much better service, food and price.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steak House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for taking time out to post your comments, and although we absolutely believe that every customer has their choice to make, I'd like to point out that the predominantly excellent reviews of our guests have made Big Chef currently number 5 on Tripadvisor with a Certificate of Excellence 2013, while the competitor you mention is ranked 17. Everyone is entitled to their opinion however, and we are glad you gave Big Chef a try. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Steaks, preparation and sides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Big Chef delivers big flavor. After a weeks of mostly fish and island flavors we were ready for a great steak and Big Chef delivered. Nice sort of Argentinian steak house feel. Amazing live music, and a very good wine list. We appreciate Malbecs from Mendoza, and other great south American wines. Great selections here and reasoably priced. Service was bit on the long side, but with the wait.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steak House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Nothing better than a Big Chef steak when you have a hankering! We're delighted that you enjoyed the restaurant and the food, even better that you joined us on a jazz night, as our special guests Boo Hinkson or Jab Duplessis are both great. Marc is the wine connoisseur, and he'll be happy to hear you appreciated his careful picks. Hope we'll welcome you to Big Chef again soon. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montserrat
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

If you are in St Lucia you have to eat here. The food is mouth watering good. The steak is out of this world. The wine list is well balanced. Cant say more, you just have to visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steak House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for your short & sweet review, and we are glad to know everything about Big Chef exceeded your expectations. Hope we'll see you again soon in St Lucia and please make sure to say hi. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Excellent customer service and our steaks were excellent, the cocktails were also very nice and as it was our honeymoon we also go some free bubbly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steak House, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Congratulations and we're so glad you joined us to celebrate your honeymoon Big Chef-style! Hope you'll celebrate many happy anniversaries in St Lucia. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Chef Steak House also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Big Chef Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Chef Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.