We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mahi Mahi Steak on St lucia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Chef Steak House

Big Chef Steak House
Reduit Drive | Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
758 450 0210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 61 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Edinburgh , Scotland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Best Mahi Mahi Steak on St lucia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a fab meal last night at the big chef steakhouse. My fish of the day was big slab of mahi mahi cooked to perfection. Nice n juicy melt in your mouth stuff. Angie had the garlic n lime shrimp. Only boob with the meal was the waitress kept getting the order wrong. Obviously our Scottish accent is confusing the locals. She asked for a vodka n tonic n got a long island ice tea! She also asked for fries but got rice with the shrimp!! This is the only reason I didn't give it top marks for

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steak House, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We're so happy to hear you enjoyed the fish and seafood at Big Chef, as we work very hard to make sure all our dishes live up to the reputation of our Steak. Thank you for taking time out to post your positive review, and regards your accent - apologies, sometimes Scottish is a tough one for the locals :) Hope you will return again in future. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    142
    51
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great steak!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Awesome food, great service(a rarity in StLucia)! Wonderful atmosphere! Very romantic setting. Very pricey for StLucia but similar to what you would pay in Canada for a good steak dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steak House, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks for your positive review and we are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Big Chef! Hope we'll welcome you back in the near future. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sublime Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

As with everyone else the steak here is just simply the reason to go - no fuss, no frills but absolutely astonishingly good steak - cant agree its too pricey compared to other good steak restaurants - if you are near here and enjoy steak definitely give it a go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steak House, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We appreciate your recommendation, and thanks for taking the time to post this review. As we like to say 'our reputation is at Steak', and your comments certainly emphasise that. Hope you will visit Big Chef again in the neat future. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Pricey but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Had possibly the nicest rib-eye steak (in my life - seriously) at this place, but paid quite a lot of money for it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steak House, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thanks for your short but sweet review, and we are glad you found the rib-eye to be the best you ever had! Our prices reflect the quality of the ingredients, particularly our steak which is top quality imported Certified Angus, but we certainly hope that the Big Chef experience is well worth the cost. Hope to welcome you again to Big Chef in future. Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“THUMBS UP TO THE "NEW" BIG CHEF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

What a difference a few years makes. Visited Big Chef 5 years ago and swore never to return. Saw the reviews this time and thought we NEED to go back - wow, what superb food - the calamari starter was to die for, the BB ribs mmm, the steak - fabulous...but beware, starve yourself before you go because you don't leave hungry. Brilliant restaurant and highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigChefSteakHouse, Owner at Big Chef Steak House, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to review Big Chef, and what glowing praise! We are so happy you came back and had a wonderful dining experience - things certainly have changed since five years ago when we had just taken over the restaurant. After this experience, we hope to welcome you back often! Rosie & Marc Joinville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Chef Steak House also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Big Chef Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Chef Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.