We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Habitat Terrace

Save Saved
You added Habitat Terrace to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Habitat Terrace
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Corner of Old Military Road & Habitat Drive | Bonne Terre, Gros Islet, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Gros Islet B&B and Inns
Limhamn, Skåne Län, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Genuine hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Habitat terrace is a really nice hotel. Stay here if you want to try something more genuine than the bigger hotels in Rodney Bay. The owner Cheryl is very, kind, helpful and serviceminded. You can walk to the beach, and even to Pigeon Island if you are up for a longer walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
habitatterrace09, Owner at Habitat Terrace, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
I truly appreciate and thank you for your review. I am glad you like the healthy life-style of walking even to Pigeon Island. I sincerely hope that you will return so that we can show you how we have grown and improved our general service.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
24
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Wow what an absolute gem of a hotel! I came on holiday with a large group of family and friends, to visit family on the island and to celebrate my 50th birthday. We were looking for a small hotel with a homey atmosphere, somewhere my mum and all of us could be safe and relax and where I could host the party. Habitat Terrace offered this and was the absolute perfect choice! The owner Cheryl and her fantastic staff make sure your every need is met. Taking us in her mini bus to Castries to see the Festival of Lights and to church in Gros Islet, she ensures her guests are well looked after - First class service!
The apartments are spacious, cleaned daily with fresh linen and towels, extremely comfortable and lovely decorated. Cheryl is creative, and charming and we witnessed two beautiful weddings that she hosted at the hotel during our stay. The apartments worked perfectly for my family with lovely french doors that provided easy access to the beautifully tended garden and plunge pool area and great views of Rodney Bay - which is 5 mins away by car. Our stay and the birthday party was a huge success. This gem of a hotel comes highly recommended!

Room Tip: The apartments on the ground floor gave easy access to pool and garden - great for older guests and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
habitatterrace09, Owner at Habitat Terrace, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Better late than never, but I want to thank you for sharing your experience at Habitat Terrace Hotel. I want to thank you and your family for choosing to stay with us and for being such gracious guests. We the staff often think of you and hope to host your family again soon, so that we can show you how we have improved.

Our best regards to all the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Time of our stay: 7 days in December.

Location/Convenience: This little place is located on a hill, about 30 minutes walk to Rodney Bay Marina where you will find some very nice cafes, restaurants and a small supermarket. The owner Cheryl often offers a lift down whenever she is free, but the walk down is easy, pleasant and offers an very nice view.

Rooms: Our room (106), kind of next to the Jacuzzi pool was very nice, clean and comes with TV (BBC World, CNN, etc), Hair dryer, fridge and ensuite toilet with shower, etc. Cheryl showed us around the rest of the house and there are many different rooms, studio and flats that fit different purposes, some with your own kitchen. It is a brilliant place for couples and families.

Transport: We walked to most of the places nearby, but there is a really good local bus service if you do not fancy walking! One bus about every 5 minutes, that will take you to most places. There is a bus stop right opposite the Rodney Bay Marina, where you can get to Gros Islet (1.5EC), the fishing village, where you can find another amazing beach and if keep walking, you will get to Pigeon Island. We did this walk and it was very nice! you can also get to Castries (the capital of St Lucia,  on the 1A bus, cost 2.5EC).

Rodney Bay Reduit beach: Another 15-20 minutes walk from the Marina (turn right when you walk out the the Marina or 5 minutes on a bus). It is very nice and clean and well looked after. I think the asking price for a deckchair or a beach umbrella (each) is about 10USD (6GBP)... You will see locals selling fresh coconut and fruits on their colourful boats along the beach. Most of the restaurants near the beach are very westernised. Many restaurants are owned by Westerners anyway. If you fancy an expensive 'top-end' place, there is Charhouse, where you can treat yourself with a superbly cooked steak with a nice and cold fruit punch! A meal for two, two mains, two cold drinks plus two teas cost about 300EC (70GBP ish). If you fancy middle range food, there is always pizza places, Dominos is never far away!

Have a lovely trip! St Lucia is a very nice place!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
habitatterrace09, Owner at Habitat Terrace, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
I cannot thank you more, for sharing your experience and helpful hints about St. Lucia and Habitat Terrace Hotel, which I am sure will be useful to others looking for a destination and accommodation for a perfect holiday in the Caribbean.

Thank you so much for highlighting the amenities and other positive aspects of Habitat Terrace Hotel.

I hope that I and the staff will have the pleasure of service you again, very soon.

With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We looked at numerous places to stay in St. Lucia before deciding on Habitat Terrace. It was everything we had hoped for. Set in a quiet location in the hills above Rodney Bay, we had a great view of Pigeon Island and the Marina. It was quiet at night, but the Village and the Marina were just five minutes by car. One of our most enjoyable experiences was having breakfast each morning in the dining area and talking with the owner, Cheryl. She is very nice and made sure our stay there was enjoyable. Our room was very nice, with a comfortable bed and a balcony where we could sit outside and look down to the water. And the price was more than reasonable. A luxury resort it is not, but if you are looking for a clean, comfortable, quiet place to stay that is not too far from the tourist areas, I would highly recommend Habitat Terrace. I know that's where we will be staying when we go back to St. Lucia. One tip: Be sure to ask Cheryl for her friend's coconut bread. It's the best!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
habitatterrace09, Owner at Habitat Terrace, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
LOL, coconut bread we will have for you when you return; make it soon. Nice of you to recommend and to share with others your wonderful experience at Habitat Terrace Hotel.
The beauty of a Hotel of this size is that you get personalized service and attention from our friendly and courteous staff.

Thank you for taking the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Habitat Terrace is the homey experience for the traveler who wants to feel a warm and human touch. Bright and tropical colours greet you from the garden to your room. The owner and staff are genuinely warm and whatever you need to make things as comfortable as you would like is never too much. Well worth the cost which is reasonable!

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool are obviously a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We searched for a while to find a great spot in St Lucia for my mom's birthday celebration and finally chose Habitat Terrace because of the images, choice of room types and good reviews. We were not disappointed. The owner Cheryl helped us organize a fantastic birthday surprise weeks before the trip. She ensured their stay was comfortable and memorable, organizing transport, a boat ride, sea baths, tours around Gros Islet, and even a special birthday cake! We could not have asked for a warmer welcome and a better week.
i would absolutely recommend this location for relaxation, beauty of the surrounding area, service and warmth.

Room Tip: Ask about the boat tour to Soufriere Pitons. The junior suite opens right out onto the pool and incl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
habitatterrace09, Owner at Habitat Terrace, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We were delighted to have had your parents stay with us at Habitat Terrace Hotel and to have been a part of your mom's birthday celebration.

We are about making our guests comfortable and ensuring a memorable experience while in St. Lucia, and I am happy we were able to do just that for your parents.

Please extend our warmest regards to them. Our best to you and thank you for choosing Habitat Terrace Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

If you have a large family or group going to St. Lucia, this is the place to stay. From the owner (Cheryl) to the entire staff met and exceeded our group's expectation. The rooms were clean and Shirley did an excellent job daily in making sure that we had fresh linen and towels. Cheryl was a fabulous host and made sure our stay was enjoyable. It's a little off the beaten path but truly worth the price and quality of service.

Will definitely stay there again when I return to the island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Habitat Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitat Terrace

Address: Corner of Old Military Road & Habitat Drive | Bonne Terre, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gros Islet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Habitat Terrace 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habitat Terrace Hotel is only a 15-minute drive from the GFL Charles Airport & the Capital, Castries, and a 5-minute drive to Rodney Bay and the popular beaches. We are also within close proximity to the Beausejour Cricket Stadium. Made up of Superior rooms with king bed, Deluxe room with two double beds, Self Catering Studio with kitchenette, one and two bedroom suites will full kitchen, living and dining and balcony. Three Bedroom Family Suite with full kitchen and dining on the ground floor near the pool and garden.With its cool, tranquil and peaceful surroundings where nature's splendor is visible in the many species of birds and butterflies; Habitat Terrace Hotel is indeed the place to unwind after a business day, to romance or simply relax on the deck of our intimate outdoor pool.Our amenities and services would not be complete without the courteous and friendly assistance of the staff and management team at Habitat Terrace Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Habitat Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitat Terrace Hotel Gros Islet
Habitat Terrace St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Habitat Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;