We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the Garlic Bread!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buzz

Buzz
Opposite Royal St Lucian Hotel | Rodney Bay, St.Lucia., Gros Islet, St. Lucia
1758 458-0450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 61 Restaurants in Gros Islet
Price range: $7 - $44
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Vegetarian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Whatever you do, don’t leave Buzz till your last night. Besides their à la carte menu they have nightly specials. Buzz has been operating for 12 years and Pat Bowden and Chef Marie who have worked together for 37 years have been successful in all their restaurants. Pat has created a restaurant and bar with a warm ambience, friendly atmosphere and lots of charm. The restaurant has indoor and outdoor seating and as the name implies, is abuzz with activity. Food is presented on dishes in varying shapes, sizes and colours. Buzz is known for Seafood; Fresh Tuna, Potato Crusted Snapper, Baked Mahi Mahi filled with Avocado and Shrimp, Swordfish and a variety of Shrimp, Scallop & Lobster dishes (in season). House specialities include Homemade Raviolis, Lamb Shanks, West Indian Pepperpot, Rack of Lamb & Black Angus Beef hand trimmed and served with a variety of sauces. Homemade Desserts include a Trio of Crème Brûlée, Warm Apple Crêpes, Chocolate Mousse and Banana Pecan Bread Pudding. Mervin the Bartender will whip up fun cocktails like our “famous” Mango Dacquiri, Buzzing Bee Stinger and Buzz Cooler. Not only does Mervin keep the guests amused with his “chat”, he also keeps the children amused with his “card tricks.”
Austin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Garlic Bread!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

GREAT! Our server, I wish I could remember her name!!!! was AWESOME! So sweet and friendly. She's Suzy's (the cat) night time mommy. Anyhow, food was amazing! The atmosphere is great, perfect! Seriously, don't miss the garlic bread! Out of this world! I know it sounds simple, but it's to die for

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    137
    47
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We thought we'd head to The Buzz one evening having seen the positive reviews of the restaurant on TripAdvisor. However, my girlfriend and I were completely underwhelmed by both the food and especially the service at The Buzz.

We were offered water and then waited what must have been fifteen minutes for this to arrive at the table in a plastic bottle which we were expected to serve ourselves and which after about ten minutes was the same temperature as the restaurant. Both our starters and our mains were good but not what we were expecting in terms of quality having been advertised as 'the best seafood on the island'. The meals weren't presented well on the plate and at times looked unappealing. There was also a cat casually walking around the restaurant, rubbing up against our and other people's legs whilst we were eating which made us and others in the restaurant at the time clearly uncomfortable.

Overall, our experience at The Buzz wasn't great, the service was poor and inattentive, the seafood definitely isn't 'the best on the island' as advertised and the value for money was terrible. This was the most expensive meal we had in St. Lucia and it was also the worst. There are loads of better and cheaper restaurants close by who want to make sure you have a great and memorable evening with them. I have to agree with previous reviewers who have said that it appears that The Buzz has become complacent, they certainly weren't bothered about being the best the night we were there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great meal for starving travelers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

After a long day of traveling, getting squared away with a rental car, and getting settled into our Villa in St. Lucia, we were starving. We got in the car and drove into Rodney Bay to see what was open for dinner. It was pretty late on Saturday night. We found Buzz, and were so thankful we did. The food was absolutely delicious. Open air dining was one of my favorite things to experience in St. Lucia. Buzz has a great feeling about it, very laid back but elegant as well. My husband had a dish I think it was called pepper pot...not real sure about this one, but he raved about how good it was. I had fish, which was Mahi Mahi, and the sides that came with it were delicious. You have to try the sautéed potatoes, that are crispy fried in butter. Sinful, but delish. Dining at Buzz's got our vacation off to a great start. Great food, great people. Loved it!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lots of buzz with good fare.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Good food generally but some of the seating was a bit incongruous. The wines varied enormously in value and quality; take care choosing to enjoy a good experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance, great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We ate at Buzz last week during our first trip to St Lucia. It is a very charming restaurant. The food was delicious, and don't forget to order the Cheesy Garlic Bread. Service was great, not rushed but not too slow and staff was very pleasant and friendly. A great meal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buzz also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Buzz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buzz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.