We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buzz

Buzz
Opposite Royal St Lucian Hotel | Rodney Bay, St.Lucia., Gros Islet, St. Lucia
1758 458-0450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 60 restaurants in Gros Islet
Price range: $7 - $44
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Vegetarian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Whatever you do, don’t leave Buzz till your last night. Besides their à la carte menu they have nightly specials. Buzz has been operating for 12 years and Pat Bowden and Chef Marie who have worked together for 37 years have been successful in all their restaurants. Pat has created a restaurant and bar with a warm ambience, friendly atmosphere and lots of charm. The restaurant has indoor and outdoor seating and as the name implies, is abuzz with activity. Food is presented on dishes in varying shapes, sizes and colours. Buzz is known for Seafood; Fresh Tuna, Potato Crusted Snapper, Baked Mahi Mahi filled with Avocado and Shrimp, Swordfish and a variety of Shrimp, Scallop & Lobster dishes (in season). House specialities include Homemade Raviolis, Lamb Shanks, West Indian Pepperpot, Rack of Lamb & Black Angus Beef hand trimmed and served with a variety of sauces. Homemade Desserts include a Trio of Crème Brûlée, Warm Apple Crêpes, Chocolate Mousse and Banana Pecan Bread Pudding. Mervin the Bartender will whip up fun cocktails like our “famous” Mango Dacquiri, Buzzing Bee Stinger and Buzz Cooler. Not only does Mervin keep the guests amused with his “chat”, he also keeps the children amused with his “card tricks.”
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I went here one night as I was looking for some authentic food that was reasonably priced, I had the West Indian pepper pot and it was wonderful, I certainly plan on going back before I return home at the end of the week.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    158
    131
    45
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Armonk, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I had the potato-crusted snapper, grilled chicken goat cheese salad, and cheesy garlic bread. Food was decent but way overpriced for what you get ($76 total and we were still hungry). Portions were modest to small. Service was friendly but a bit slow. 10% service charge was added. Not sure why, but i suppose that's their built in tip. Strange. Will probably not return.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castries, St. Lucia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Buzzing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Had a meal here which was fabulous and memorable on a busy evening. The waitresses were approachable and experienced, making us feel comfortable right away. Despite being busy we didn't have to wait long for the food. When is came out everything was wonderfully prepared. I had one of the best starters of my life at Buzz and will definitely go back some time to have it again as the taste and flavours have been dancing in my mind. We sat outdoors and had no complaints about bugs. Prices were in keeping with what you'd pay in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place for a drink and watch the world go by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Enjoyed our little visit here. Had a couple of drinks. A nice place to hang out and watch the world go by.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“How not to run a restaurant!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Buzz was recommended to us so we decided to try it one evening. It was a warm evening so we asked if we could eat outside in the open as there were lots of empty tables. We were told that only the tables inside were available. That should have given us a clue as to what was going to happen.
It was not very busy and we were shown to a table and given menus. Eventually someone came to take out drinks order and then our food order. After 30 minutes, a waitress arrived with some toasted cheese. We assumed that this was a compimentary dish as we didn't order it. After another 20 minutes, the waitress came to ask if we had finished to which I replied that we haven't even started as we were still waiting for our starter! This was a simple tomato and mozarella salad. After a total wait ot 50 minutes, our starter eventually arrived.
After we had finished, the woman in charge, well we assume she was in charge, came over to apologise and then she went back to gossip to another waitress. We noted that she had been doing this all evening and not scanning the dining room as she should have been doing. We also assume that we could not sit outside as it was further for the staff to walk!
Eventually our main courses arrived. We both had fish, but different dishes. These were reasonably tasty, but not fantastic and certainly not worth the price.
We paid and in fairness, the service charge was taken off the bill. However, in the night, my wife was violently sick and in the morning I had very bad diarrhoea. We told the hotel where we had eaten the night before and they were surprised. We were obvioulsy one of the unlucky ones to eat here, but having read the reviews, perhaps we were not. It seems this place is going downhill due to the complacency of the owner and staff. Fair enough - there are plenty of other places to eat in the area. We certainly will net be eating here on our next vsit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buzz also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Buzz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buzz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.