We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and peaceful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Vega

Save Saved
You added Casa del Vega to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa del Vega
Clarke Avenue, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 hotels in Castries
London, England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I spent nearly 2 weeks here on a business trip and it was a quiet, peaceful place to come back to t the end of a busy working day. Merlyn the owner is very helpful. Snorkelling off the private beach is good, very good on a calm sunny day. Vigie beach is a 15-20 min walk downhill. It's quite a distance from Castries itself but minibuses go past the guest house. There is not much disturbance from the nearby domestic airport, in fact it is good to watch the planes landing, and large cruise ships arriving in the port. Rooms are basic but comfortable, and ensuite was clean and in working order. Internet access is free but intermittent. Balconies on the apartments have great views.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
16
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for only one night -- we were leaving St Lucia for some island hopping and this hostel was close to the Castries airport. We both very much enjoyed it. After arriving in the afternoon, the owner was able to run us into town (about 10 minutes or so), give us a quick tour, and drop us off at the central marketplace, plus she explained how to get back to the hotel via public transport. Overall, this is a nice location that overlooks a cove/small beach. It is quaint and quiet, and I will definitely stay here again if in Castries.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Casa Del Vega was recommended to us by another traveller. My fiance and I decided to try it out for one night and ending up extending our stay for 4 nights. If we had known of this property earlier we would have booked it for our entire stay in St. Lucia.

The location is great. You will probably need to rent a car because the property is on a hill however, we'd recommend renting a car anyway since the cab fares in St. Lucia are atrocious. There is a beach for snorkleing right at the property and Vigie beach is a 1 mintue drive away. This hotel is an ideal location if you want to travel all over the island. It's near the market in Castries, a quick drive to Rodney Bay or Gros Islet and very accessible to all the beautiful beaches between Marigot Bay and Soufriere.

The rooms were clean and nicely air conditioned which is rare to find under 100 USD/night. Our room was very large with a private washroom and large closet. In fact, we were the only ones renting in that area so we had the kitchen, living space and AMAZING patio all to ourselves. The view there was so beautiful that my fiance actually proposed to me on that patio... There was a common kitchen that we used to cook 1 - 2 meals a day which saved us a lot of money. We'd often cook breakfast and/or luch and enjoy it on the patio watching cruise ships come into dock. Luckily for us no one else was in this area so we used the kitchen and living space for ourselves. Evenings we usually went out of dinner. The toilets were a little finicky.

The ladies who worked there were so friendly and very helpful. At other properties we felt the owners were just trying to get as much money as possible out of us, however the Casa Del Vega staff were wonderful and helped make our stay that much better.

To give you some insight as to what kind of travellers we are: I'm 26 and my partner is 35 and we've travelled all around the world. We've outgrown hostels and we've done the all-inclusives many times before. We always felt like we never truly experienced the country and its culture at all all-inclusive. In St. Lucia, we were looking for activities and adventures not a fancy hotel with a medi-ocre buffet that you get bored of after two days. We wanted to meet real locals and fit into the culture there. To entertain ourselves at night we would either go out for dinner at a locale restaurant or just play Yahtzee and drink Rum on the patio - It was really great!

We highly recommend thisproperty to couples, families or singles looking to travel around St. Lucia. It's not an experience to be compared to an all-inclusive but it is perfect for those looking to experience the island and have access to lots of different activities - without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: Get a room with access to the balcony patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canastota, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom with private balcony overlooking the water. The best feature was definitely the fantastic view. The snorkeling was good out back, with some live coral and smaller fish. Water was very calm in June, clarity fair.
The unit is older but clean, and staff is friendly and helpful. Overall a good deal for the price.
Be aware there is a/c in the bedrooms only, living room was uncomfortably hot. I now realize it is common to have a/c in bedrooms only, but was not aware of it at time of booking. The fan is mounted on a floor stand. I think an overhead ceiling fan would help.
Water availability was intermittent while we were there, but I believe this was an area wide issue.
I do not recommend the land and sea tour that the staff arranged for us with boat "Latent Talent". The crew was very nice but boat was overcrowded and hot. We were crammed like sardines into an un-air conditioned van to go to the volcano and waterfall. These attractions were not anything special. The snorkeling and beach break was very hurried, and did not go to Anse Chastanet as promised, but instead went to Ti Kaye. Price of tour was low, but next time I would pay more for better experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Overall, Casa del Vega is an OK place for those on a budget and who want to stay in Castries (or stay in a location that's within a 15 minute walk of nearby SLU airport). The rooms are a bit basic and missing some essentials (adequate lighting and, at least during our stay, hot water). The proprietor is certainly friendly, helpful and honest - she arranged a free ride for us to go to a nearby restaurant. Perhaps the proprietor was just having a bad day, but the early morning coffee and ride to SLU airport promised by her failed to materialise.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We were unfortunate travellers delayed by the recent strike of Liat airlines; we were at Vigie airport in St Lucia and needed an accomodation for the night, not too far and not too expensive. The tourism office suggested this guesthouse located nearby the airport..with an amazing view of cruise ships leaving Castries. The lady of the guesthouse (Merlin) was there in minutes to pick us up (well, our luggage as we had to resolve certain issues at the airport). We got a very clean room, with air conditioning, shower facilities, a very comfortable mattress and shared a kitchen facility and a large living room with deck with another couple (met at the airport). Basically, this was a huge suite for two parties. Meals were served and priced in US dollars - we cannot comment as we did not make us of that service. And yes, the view was amazing! It was a very fun stay despite the circumstances of the strike! We would go back again...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

The rooms have an amazing view of the ocean and are sorrounding by trees and nature,which you can see from the big terrace. Everything was fully equipped and clean. But the best thing of all is the staff, they treated us so warmly and helped us in everything we needed. The private beach is perfect if you like snorkelling, or if you want to have a swim. Good choice if you want to be in Castries, and is also very close to the airport.
Jose Luis Vazquez

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa del Vega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Vega

Address: Clarke Avenue, Castries, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Castries
#5 Spa Hotel in Castries
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa del Vega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Vega Castries
Casa Del Vega St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Vega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.